We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise with a personal touch.”
Review of Casa Susegad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Susegad
Ranked #1 of 2 Loutolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise with a personal touch.”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Casa Susegad is one of those rare finds. A place that seems to blend all the luxuries that you find at a 5 star resort, with the intimacy of a local village experience. Add to this the fact that beautiful beaches are a short drive away, and you have it all. Run by Norman and Carole, two of the most beautiful people you will meet. We spent six days at Casa Susegad as a family (myself, my wife, 16 year old son and 13 year old daughter) and everyone had a ball. My daughter particularly enjoyed spending time with the animals there. The nearby village is untouched by the tourism frenzy that seems to inhabit the bulk of Goa. Casa Susegad is truly intimate perfection. A real gem!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garryskiclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
103
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We met up with our son and his family here and stayed together with them for for 6 days. They have been in India since early September, first in the mountains of Utterarkand and recenty in Goa, so we hadn't seen our 7 & 9 year old grandchildren for months. What a wonderful place Susegad was to relax with the family, in and around the pool, doing yoga, going off to wash the elephant and just catching up with them and their experiences in India. Norman , Carole and all the staff made us all feel so much at home, nothing is too much trouble for them. They even allowed our 9 year old granddaugher (with a little help) cook lunch for us and all the other guests one day. This is just a super place to relax and be yourself in the company of others of like mind. We would happily return if given the chance.

Room Tip: If you need A/c check that out in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This place by far is one of the most amazing places we have ever stayed. It's an old Portugese colonial mansion in a local Goan village with only 4 guest rooms (5 if you include the host's suite which is sometimes available) set in a tropical garden with pool.

On arrival to Goa, we were picked up from the airport which is about a 45 min drive away and taken to Casa Susegad where we were met by the wonderful owners and hosts, Carole and Norman (and their 6 gorgeous dogs!). They showed us to our room and then around the property. We were then introduced to the other guests and staff. Each room is accessed from the garden and has it's own little terrace area with table and chairs overlooking the garden/pool. You also have your own poolside lounge-beds.

In terms of food, the breakfast selection is fantastic. They also do lunch and a 3 course dinner everyday but of course there is no obligation and they will help you make any other lunch or dinner arrangements anywhere else you like. If you do stay in for dinner then you can choose to take your meal in the dining room with other guests or in private on your terrace. Overall, the food is some of the best we've had anywhere. Additionally, if you have a specific food request (as I did on one of the days I was feeling a little under the weather as you do in India) they can usually accommodate it.

The location of the property is great. Set about 15-20 mins driving from the beach and about 45 mins from the great little towns of Panaji and Margao. They have yoga classes 3 times a week and can organise trips with great local, safe drivers anywhere you wish. They also provide maps and it's easy and really lovely to just take a walk to and around the local village.

To get the most out of the area, we recommend an early breakfast and then spending the morning doing cultural activities and having lunch out before heading back for an afternoon by the pool and then dinner under the stars...or in our case on one of the nights, if there is a nice bunch of guests (I can't imagine a time that there wouldn't be) and everyone is feeling social then dinner in the dining room is fun.

This place is an absolute gem and we can't wait to go back and be elegantly idle all over again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but I think if you are a honeymooning couple, the sunshine room offers a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lurve2travelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Lonsdale, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2012

A well seasoned traveller l recently had the real pleasure and priviledge of staying at Casa Susegad in South Goa for 1 week from Dec 3 to Dec 10 in 2011.
l was given a very hearty and friendly welcome on arrival from Carole and Norman, who in that week l have to say made me feel like part of their family,(including their staff, and friendly and entertaining dogs and cats too!)
The food was wonderful,the lovely pool was also a relief from the heat, and my Rose Quartz room catered for all my needs and l miss it all already!
Also a special mention to their onsite massage and beauty therapist who gave me a great relaxing massage and facial.Can highly recommend!
Yoga was also an added bonus to have, being enjoyable and challenging in an environment with a difference! Also a special thank you to Ajay (Yoga teacher and Ayurvedic Dr.)
The hosts and staff are very flexible and attentive to all your requirements.
Quiet village life in Loutilum is also just another part of this unique experience at this excellent B&B.
A wonderful achievement, and a venture to be very proud of.
So well done Carole and Norman and to all the staff and colourful menagerie of Casa Susegad!
My stay at Casa Susegad will always remain a memorable highlight for me in a very special way to end my RTW trip. A great way to finish what was a fantastic trip.
Am already planning my next visit to Casa Susegad!
Safe and happy travels!
Merren-Australia

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merren456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This place is just a little paradise.
Last weekend 13-01-2012 we spended the weekend here after some tiering weeks of working in Mumbai and I can say, it's all i needed to calm down, and get some fresh energy into my system.
First of all our host and owner Norman and Caole are just wonderfull people. With there open attitude, wich they also casted upon there local employes, you feel straight away what there filosofie is: MAKE YOU FEEL AT HOME. There is no stress involved in anything, if you want your breakfast at 7 am or at noon, just what you want.
Also they have good knowledge about the surrounding area and can give you great trip advice. They have some realy friendly taxi drivers at there exposal, who are willing to drive you any for more then a fair price. This makes it also not such a big deal that the Casa is 20 min driving away from the beach (if that is your goal).
The room's are very clean and have a true authentic collonial feeling to it, the bathroom are up to western standard.
So if you like a totaly relaxt stay have breakfast with tropic births and monkeys surounding you, a great dinner in the big collonial living room with all the other guest, or just chill at the pool or at the beach, this is definitely the place to be!

Room Tip: They just have 4 rooms and for what i've seen they all look very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loutolim
24.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
31.3 km away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
364 reviews
19.8 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
17.9 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
7.8 km away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 38 in Salcette
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Susegad? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Susegad

Property: Casa Susegad
Address: Salcete, Loutolim 403718, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Loutolim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Loutolim
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,296 - ₹ 10,810
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Susegad 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imaginatively restored colonial mansion house only 20 minutes drive from beaches, with all of the friendliness and charm of a rural village setting. Set in one and a half acres of beautiful grounds we are surrounded by forest and jungle in what is often described as Goa's most beautiful village. Enjoy being pampered, well fed and thoroughly spoiled and find your own meaning for Susegad. Car and driver arranged on request; spa therapies, snooker, home theatre, local walking maps, wi-fi and yoga available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Susegad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Susegad Hotel Loutolim
Casa Susegad Goa/Loutolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing