We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing ”
Review of Principe di Scilla

Principe di Scilla
Ranked #12 of 58 Restaurants in Scilla
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 34 - US$ 40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Le sale del Ristorante, con i numerosi affacci panoramici e la pedana sul mare, sono un luogo affascinante dove gustare le specialita gastronomiche della cucina.La caratteristica pedana costruita sul mare nel periodo estivo offre un'incantevole panoramica del Castello e del borgo di Chianalea, un'occasione unica per gustare le prelibatezze della nostra cucina a stretto contatto con il mare e la natura.La sala principale del palazzo, intitolata alla Principessa Ruffo di Scilla, e quanto di meglio si possa immaginare per ospitare eventi, cerimonie, banchetti, riunioni, convegni e meeting. Un ambiente di classe situato nel cuore del borgo di Chianalea.
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for dinner last week with our teenage boys. The location and position over the water is fabulous but that's the only positive thing I can say (and the only reason it was rated 'poor' and not 'terrible'). It is very expensive. We paid €120 for a main each, 3 bottles of water and 2 sides. The side of 'salata verde' was €4 and was about 20% of an iceberg lettuce cut up with ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ELSE. It was a disgrace. The side of french fries were limp and very below standard. Three of us had the swordfish which was dry and tough. In summary it was overpriced and extremely poor quality food. This restaurant's only advantage is its view. The word has obviously got around because on a busy Sunday night it had few patrons (at least while we were there) when other restaurants appeaed full. Most disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank FamilynFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2016

Very nice lunch outside above the sea. Wine, 2 antipasta, and one primi plate was 57 Euros. The food was excellent, the service average. There are lots of nice choices in Scilla for a luxury meal over the sea. This is one of them. Believe we were told the chef has one Michelin star.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank davesU930TI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Il principe di Scilla proposes an incredible menu, full of delicacies and also traditional food. Enzo, the owner, is very kind and helpful. Ready to accommodate all of your requests.
The view will add amazement to the tasteful lunch.
Highly recommended

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

I came here with my friends and we really enjoyed the view and the food. We took raw seafood and fish. Everything was really tasty. Tartar of Pesce spada was perfect. Service was great too.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank A555S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Principe di Scilla is a superior choice for not only spectacular views, but for superb cuisine. I had read mixed reviews about the food, but my meals were absolutely fantastic starting with the calamari, crab and shrimp salad, and entrees of seared ahi and swordfish. Portions were exceptionally large, elegantly prepared, and perfectly executed.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BIG_VINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Principe di Scilla also viewed

Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
 
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
 
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
Scilla, Province of Reggio Calabria
 

Been to Principe di Scilla? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing