We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Find”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Silhouette Cottage

Idyllic cottage in a perfect location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Idyllic cottage in a perfect location
View of the cottage from the garden The lawn with picnic table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Idyllic cottage in a perfect location
View of the cottage from the garden
The lawn with picnic table
Sun Trap
Master bedroom with king size bed and dual aspect windows for lovely airy feeling
Well equipped modern kitchen
View from the kitchen
Conservatory leads out onto patio area
The sunny conservatory
conservatory/dining room
The  lounge
Cozy lounge with wood burning fire
Relax infront of a roaring fire
The pond
Bluebells in the local woods
Symond's Yat Rock
Mallards Pike
The Forest of Dean
Monmouth
View across garden and field beyond
Back garden / wooded area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Staunton, Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs Anne...
1 review
“Amazing Find”
Reviewed 17 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

First class accommodation, fabulously equipped and spotlessly clean. All FoD attractions within minutes' drive. A 'home from home'. White Horse pub 30 seconds away and food so good we ate there twice! Slept like logs every night but cycling on the Cannop trails probably had something to do with that. Enjoyed our morning coffee on the patio. An absolute dream of a holiday, thank you Michelle!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2018
Thank you Anne, I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I would be delighted if you decide to visit us again. Best wishes Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa B
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 12 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We’ve just spent a fantastic week here in this lovely cottage. It is tastefully decorated & has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Towels & bedding were included & there was a delicious cake waiting for us on our arrival. We were very fortunate with the weather which meant we could take full advantage of the gorgeous garden & we enjoyed several meals on the ‘top terrace’ using the table & chairs up there. We even had several evening visits from the local sheep in the garden which we could see while sitting in the conservatory!
The cottage is a great base for exploring the local area & we never had to travel more than 30 minutes to take in the magnificent views or do an activity. We visited Go Ape where the kids did the high wires & had a go on the Segways, we, also, visited the Butterfly Zoo & maze, went pony trekking, had several walks around Symonds Yat Rock & took in the amazing views there, we canoed on the river Wye & had a fantastic Sunday roast at the White Horse Inn which is literally next door to the cottage!
Take plenty of change though as most places charge for parking.
The only thing I would say about the cottage is that it states it is ‘Pet friendly’ but unfortunately the garden isn’t secure. It could maybe benefit from a gate on the driveway & more secure fencing around the garden but apart from that it’s a fantastic place to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon a
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Need a relaxing break from a busy life ... well a perfect spot for this... lots of walks close by a very comfortable cottage to stay in and a fab pub (white horse) a few doors down for the most delicious and well cook food. Staff very helpful and friendly.
Michele the cottage owner was very helpful and accommodated ours needs and even left a wonderful cake waiting for us on our arrival .. many thanks michele.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ineedabre...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely perfect break, couldn't have asked for more xx”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Wow , what can I say. We absolutely adored this cottage, it is in a perfect location, every small thing thought of.First time we have taken a trip away with our dog Cooper and must admit I was apprehensive, but he loved the great outdoors, so many different walks close by , a fantastic pub a stone's throw from our jewel of a cottage.
Spotlessly clean, a real home from home, we didn't want to leave! Plenty of snow on our last day here, just sorry it didn't arrive sooner, our dog was in his element.
Large spacious bedrooms, huge lounge, gorgeous log burner, and an amazing garden with two gorgeous ponies over the fence who my daughter delighted in feeding. We will definitely be back!! And thankyou so much for our cake which was demolished on our arrival!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Mar 2018
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay & would be delighted if you choose to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing