We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
73
186
69
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
186
69
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mixed gender buffet dinner and breakfast hot springs front desk karuizawa station snow rental skiing sulphur pools onsen winter
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 night. Expecting to visit nearby town, however, who would have thought to have a whole day of Snow in the month of April. Needless to say, we were snowed in for the day.
It turn out to be one of best days we spent in Japan.
We had Onsen in the morning, Onsen in the afternoon and lastly, Onsen in the evening. Just what the lady receptionist suggested.
I would like to thank the staff of this hotel in making our Family Trip to be one of the most memorable for the Family.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank John_6084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Visited this place in Dec 2016 in the midst of winter and there was snow all around. We were picked up by the hotel shuttle bus from Karuizawa JR station and it took around 90 mins from there to get to the hotel.

The room was spacious by Japanese standards but looked quite datedv judging by the walls, lights and toilet. We were provided yukatas to wear in the premises and to go to the outdoor Onsen. The room window faced the ski resort and it was a great view.

Manza Onsen is known for its milky white water which is rich in sulphur content. The outdoor Onsen were great and water temperature was not scalding hot. There was a mixed Onsen as well where both men and women were allowed. The size of the Onsen pools was small though and not as huge as we imagined. The great thing about the Onsen was that it was open 24 hours for staying guests.

Dinner was not included in the package that we opted for so we had to buy it there. The buffet was reasonably okay but a tad overpriced at 5000 yen per person. Preferring to eat vegetarian a lot of options were not suitable for us but still, we did not go hungry.

We did not have time to try out the ski area next to the hotel, maybe next time on a longer trip. Overall satisfied with our visit to this resort with the Onsen being the highlight.

Cons-

No chance of taking any photos of the outdoor Onsen as there were always people there. Would have loved bigger sized pools.
Dinner buffet a bit overpriced.
Dated rooms.

Pros -

Reasonably priced rooms
Scenic outdoor Onsen including a pool for both men and women so couples and families can enjoy together.
Ski resort right next to the hotel.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Raunak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

very nice onsen and ski resort, we had took shinkansen from Tokyo to Karuizawa station then took the resort shuttle bus about 1.30 hrs.(for bus reservation by phone call only, **recommend can make a reservation by e-mail instead)

outdoor onsen with white mineral water(sulfer), especially, mixed gender for outdoor onsen for all family paticipant!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank BoyAnurak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Just spend a night in April with my parents and sibling .
We got twin room on east wing which not have best view.
The floor plan and building is pretty complicated.
spa is nice .
We dont have any meal there since price is pretty high. I think room should include breakfast.
Free shuttle bus from/to Karuizawa station is great but need reservation in advance.
Guest Service is kind.
A little disappoint to hear that we need to pay every additional thing ex ski lift even there just want to go down for taking photo no ski.
- room and building is old but seem renovated but toilet smelley.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LamerDeJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

no regret to choose this onsen hotel, quality onsen water, helpful staff, you can spend time in onsen or ski while ski resort is attached to the hotel. you can find thick and fresh snow everyday. Hotel is aged but overall it is clean and well maintained. Experience the Tatami room if you are a foreigner, it is interesting. Remember to make a reservation for shuttle bus with hotel staff during reservation to avoid disappointment.

Room tip: tatami room for traditional experience
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_Chong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews