We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and friendly little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Bodø, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and friendly little hotel”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A nice, recently refurnished, little hotel -peacefully located centrally in Santa Ana- in a quiet street away from the traffic. Nice and friendly staff, clean rooms with fridge and air condition, very nice garden in the backyard with a little bubble bath pool (new in 2011).
It is almost like coming home! The staff is helpful and serviceminded.
It takes only 20-25 minutes to the airport with a taxi, it is therefore a nice alternative to stay and sleep at this hotel if you plan to travel around, instead of an expensive hotel in the crowded and more noisy big town, San Jose. Bus transport is also no problem from Santa Ana to the surroundings. Staying at Casa Alegre is quite cheap, too!
I have a daughter who attends the international school, United World Colleges, nearby the hotel - and thats one of the reasons I have stayed at the hotel twice during 2011. And I have already booked a new stay at the hotel in May 2012. I am very satisfied with Casa Alegre/Posada Nena where I feel like home.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenBod_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    37
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
79
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Very nice hotel and excellent service by the agency: Gustavo and Volker who work the tour company are really outstanding. They helped organize our entire tour including trips to Tortuguero and Bananito, and we stayed at the Posada in-between and after our tour - it’s a fantastic place to relax after the tours. They even drove us to the airport! They made us feel very welcome; the garden was lovely, food delicious and a nice hot Whirlpool. Hotel offers also free internet, Wi-Fi and free calls to USA. Thanks for a lovely stay. Michael and family

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelDC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is located outside of San Jose, in a nice quiet town, so very good if you are avoiding the city, and still be close. Very good to stay if you are arriving from abroad and need a place to hang and relax the first night. Rooms are very clean. It doen't include breakfast, and I don't think it's worth it buying it there, for the price they are giving it, unless you really don't want to care of walking around a bit. So, if you like, I recommend walking to the town center park and find a small eating place.
This place used to have a nice pool. Now it has a small jacuzzi. Depending on your preferences. I preferd the bigger pool. I guess it happend when it changed administration.
Have a nice stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the back or in the secund level, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costaricantraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The Casa Alegre is one of the best value for your money when visiting San Jose. Completely modern and up-to-date, it is a locally owned hotel that is comfortable and well maintained. You have wifi which helps when it comes to staying in touch or looking at and booking things to do in San Jose. I highly recommend it. Located in Santa Ana, you will discover they are in the same area as the larger chain hotels, so the location is good. The hotel could benefit from additional signage as they are hard to locate, even for taxi drivers, so walk the area and pick out landmarks because you may have to give directions to get back. Conveniently located for local transportation which I relied on heavily. ps. reading the other reviews, this a locally owned and operated hotel not a 5 star hotel, so luxury standards are unfair.

Room Tip: Room was spacious, modern and clean with Double beds; very comfortable. My room (#1) sliding window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villach, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed in the „Posada Nena“ at the beginning of our roundtrip for 2 nights and at the end for one more night. At the first stay we`ve got a big nice room on the first floor and for the second time we`ve got a brand new garden room with a hammock on the terrace, I think we were the first guests.

The location of the hotel is very good, it`s close to the airport and the perfect place if you plan several more day trips. You can leave your big baggage there and only take a small bag with the basic needs.

A shopping center is close by and some good and cheap restaurants/pubs are reachable by foot.

All the rooms are very clean, tasteful and well appointed. They have A/C, cable TV and fridge. The breakfast is very rich. Volker, the owner, is very mindful and has a solution for every problem. We booked our hole roundtrip with his tourist office alautentico, (www.alautentico.com) which we found in the web. From the first contact on we were impressed about his service, know how, expertise and friendliness. The prices are really fair, we would even say they are a bargain. All in all we were very excited and for sure it was not our last trip to costa rica.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
990 reviews
0.7 km away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
567 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
4.3 km away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
334 reviews
2.9 km away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena

Property: Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Address: Av. 7, between calle 2 and 3 | del Pali de Santa Ana 100 norte y 150 oeste, Santa Ana 6510, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,423 - ₹ 5,384
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Nena/ Casa Alegre is a charming Boutique Hotel conveniently located just outside of San Jose, Costa Rica in the town of Santa Ana. Posada Nena offers first class accommodations at a very reasonable price. Our rooms are fully equipped with AC and ceiling fans, cable TV, fridge, Phone (free national calls and free calls to USA and Canada) hot water showers, and wireless internet service. They are comfortable and tastefully decorated in a classic style. The bathrooms are spacious and airy. A free and tasty breakfast is available all the morning, lunch and dinner are served on request. At our little, cosy bar we offer fresh tropical cocktails and ice-cold beer. Just relax in our tropical gardens with the hot water Whirlpool. We offer a lot of activities and tours, leaving directly from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena Costa Rica/Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing