We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kiyosato Kogen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels / Ryokan in Hokuto
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We checked in on a quiet, misty night, so there was no stargazing session (available nightly at observation deck upstairs). Check-in was tricky as the reception staff spoke little English. After 15 minutes, another lady, whom we assume to be a manager, stepped in to assist and she spoke decent English. Wondered why they didn't enlist her help from the start. Room was spacious and overlooked a pond. Thankfully, by the next morning the mist had cleared and we could see a bit of Mt Fuji without its trademark snow cap from our room. An even more impressive sight awaited us when we got down to the pond! Blue skies and mountain views made for great postcard shots. When we checked out, a senior staff member even helped us with our bags to the shuttle bus.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lotuspocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

Go to this hotel of you are in the area, it is fantastic! Went with a mate who also loves Japan and this hotel with its onsens, location, great staff and food meet the mark! It takes two trains from Tokyo and when at Kiyosato station a phone call ensures a pick up five mins later. Will be back a number of times based on this experience.

Stayed: May 2015
2  Thank C0astieb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

A great hotel with spectacular location with snow covered alps all around. Staff very friendly and helpful. Highlights were the Onsen with outside bath and inside one also. The set course Japanese dinner in the restaurant was superb and excellent value for money. Room size very large, if you get Japanese style room. With great views over the carp lake and Mt Fuji distantly looming. Definitely keen to come back in the Autumn.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Renrev99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

We stayed one night with our 2 children. The room was spacious (we got mixed western/japanese room so 2 futons were laid out for the children at night). The onsen was very nice - quite large and spacious as well but shame that there is no view (from the ladies at least) just a view of a fence. Given the beautiful location I think they could have made an effort to find some better view!

The hotel grounds are great - quite large and there's a pond full of hungry fish that you can feed which the kids found most enjoyable. You can also walk or drive to many lovely areas nearby so the hotel is well located.

The food was delicious - we ate in the french restaurant and found the standard to be very good. It would be helpful if they could offer some simple a la carte for children rather than a variation of the adult fancy dinner as my kids didn't like some of the courses which was such a waste given the quality and it would be much better if we could have ordered stuff they would like. Breakfast was equally delicious but it took Japanese size portions to a new level! They put a little bowl of cereal on each table - it was about half the portion a single child would eat! They do some cooked food but again fairly small portions (which I didn't mind so much) but when we asked for bread we got 1 half slice of toast. I had to ask for more ! Even the drinks were tiny - my son had finished the glass of milk he got before the waitress had left the table. Given the cost I would have expected it to be more plentiful - especially as milk, bread etc are cheap ingredients so honestly why not let people fill themselves up!?

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevynevster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Chose this hotel as I read from some reviews that you can see Mt Fuji from the hotel. Missed it in winter morning light, but I found the observatory at the hotel truly wonderful. As a guest, you can enjoy free stargazing (and looking at the moon too!) from telescope with professional guide. Very nice experience for family and kids.

Hotel is also close by Moeginomura where there's a nice music organ museum, and a beautiful merry-go-round. Great photo opportunities there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ada C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokuto hotels
5.6 km away
Yatsugatake Royal Hotel
11.5 km away
Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Yatsugatake
0 km away
Old Age
Old Age
#20 of 34 in Hokuto
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Hotel  Hut Walden
Hotel Hut Walden
#14 of 34 in Hokuto
7 reviews
11.4 km away
Yatsugatake Hotel Fuka
Yatsugatake Hotel Fuka
#4 of 34 in Hokuto
79 reviews
7.6 km away
Neo Oriental Resort Yatsugatake Kogen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiyosato Kogen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiyosato Kogen Hotel

Address: 3545 Takanecho Kiyosato, Hokuto 407-0301, Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Hokuto
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels / Ryokan in Hokuto
Price Range: ₹ 9,107 - ₹ 39,659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiyosato Kogen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kiyosato Kogen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiyosato Kogen Hotel Japan/Hokuto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing