We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2017

This whole village is beautiful and worth the effort to get there. We rented a car and driving here was not too difficult. Make sure you have the correct phone # to use in your GPS. Or ask your rental agency to save the entry for you as the GPS talks to you in English but the user interface is all in Japanese. This village is remote but all beautiful with many hot springs. This onsen is small and has both public shared bath and private ones that you can ask to use after certain hours. The staff were friendly and the place is quiet and very clean. We spent two weeks in Japan and this was our favorite place. About an hour from this village in a city called Onta there is a tiny village that makes beautiful ceramics and it is a cool place to visit too. In addition, there are many hiking and beautiful scenery to see on the drive.

Room Tip: ask for a room by the riverside and one with a private hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2016

This was our 2nd Onsen in the trip, to this town thats nothing about onsen. Apparently, people come here to do onset-hopping, quite literally,
There is a small 'town center' with an information center.

Opposite this information center is what I was told a very good tou-fu place, but unfortunately, our things there, twice, did not favor us to sample the supposedly good tou-fu ratings. There are restaurants around this place.

But back to this Onsen, beware, their rooms while quite nice, does not have shower facilities! - Which was a shock and surprise to us - reason being that you're meant to onsen yourself through the day, morning, noon and night, so your bath and shower, in morning and evening will be at the onsen rooms, private or public. That was the logic.

Food, is the usual onset-provided breakfast and dinner. Dinner was slightly better than breakfast.

Its actually not bad a place, different onsen rooms, and concepts on the premises.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the roaring stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy_C_MH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We were checked into the new annex wing with western beds which was very nice after sleeping on the Japanese beds for a few nights.

Our room came with an outdoor bath and onsen area with a view of the river. However, there is no indoor shower. The room was huge with separate living and sleeping area. It was beautiful.

Dinner was kiseki style served in our room. Tanaka-san served us, he was a good guy, cheerful and helpful and spoke some English. Dinner was good but we felt breakfast could have been better.

The outdoor public onsens were out of this world. Fantastic views of the river. They also had 3 family baths. Only issue was that they did not allow booking of the family baths, we had to keep checking back and did not manage to book he river view family bath.

The price was not cheap but we thought it was worthwhile. It was the best Ryokan we stayed during the entire trip in Kyushu.

The Kurokawa town was also very beautiful, a short walk away. Overall a fantastic experience.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank aussieblues2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Huge number of indoor and outdoor pools available. Choice of tatami or normal western beds, do book correctly !
Fantastic fresh produce, breakfast is good!

Tip: We found it easier to navigate to the hotel using GPS as Google Maps wasn't spot on, it was about 100m short.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ClemZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

This is a really charming ryokan in a very wonderful setting. When we stayed here we were the only guests on the first night. There were a couple more on the second night. The manager told us that lots of foreign guests had cancelled because of the Kumamoto earthquake. It is a shame since there was no impact at all on our stay and we felt no tremors at all!
We are in Kumamoto station at present and the only sign is the odd blue tarpaulin covering roofs.
The ryokan is really wonderful and we would love to go back one day. We stayed in a room in the new annex which had beds rather than futons and a private Onsen bath on the balcony outside. The view from the room is of a lovely forest and you can hear the river running below. We were made very welcome and the staff spoke reasonable English. The food was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. We were given a choice of dishes on our second night.
The highlight of the ryokan are its various baths. In addition to the main baths which are single sex, there are a range of wonderful outdoor pools that are mixed sex for certain hours and some private baths you can reserve for an hour. So it means couples can bathe together. We sampled most of them and became quick converts to Onsen bathing.
We drove and they parked our car safely for us. But they will also pick you up from the local express bus.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank RoamingJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minamioguni-machi hotels
Kurokawa Onsen
Oyado Noshiyu
Oyado Noshiyu
#3 of 53 in Minamioguni-machi
113 reviews
Ryokan Wakaba
#5 of 53 in Minamioguni-machi
114 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Yamabiko Ryokan
Yamabiko Ryokan
#13 of 53 in Minamioguni-machi
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kurokawa Onsen
Ryokan Sanga
Ryokan Sanga
#2 of 53 in Minamioguni-machi
289 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Yamamizuki
Yamamizuki
#4 of 53 in Minamioguni-machi
227 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Senomotokan Yumerindo
Senomotokan Yumerindo
#29 of 53 in Minamioguni-machi
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu

Address: 6567 Manganji Kurogawa, Minamioguni-machi, Aso-gun 869-2402, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso-gun > Minamioguni-machi > Kurokawa Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels / Ryokan in Minamioguni-machi
Price Range: ₹ 10,464 - ₹ 32,425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu Japan/Minamioguni-Machi, Kumamoto Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing