We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Senomotokan Yumerindo(Minamioguni-machi)(Great Value!)
US$ 194
US$ 188
Expedia.com
View Deal
    Savings alert! 19% below average rates

    The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 232/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Ryokan 
    Ryokan Ichinoi(Minamioguni-machi)(Great Value!)
    US$ 254
    US$ 147
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Ryokan 
    Yumerindo Hanadomari(Minamioguni-machi)(Great Value!)
    US$ 209
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Ryokan 
    Ryokan Hanagokoro(Minamioguni-machi)
    US$ 131
    US$ 112
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
      Savings alert! 23% below average rates

      The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 146/night.

      We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

      San-ai Kogen Hotel(Minamioguni-machi)(Great Value!)
      US$ 268
      Agoda.com
      View Deal
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Ryokan 
      Fujiya(Minamioguni-machi)
      US$ 352
      Booking.com
      View Deal
      Ryokan 
      Hozantei(Minamioguni-machi)
      US$ 458
      US$ 393
      Agoda.com
      View Deal
      • Free Parking
      • Restaurant
      Ryokan 
      Ayanosho(Minamioguni-machi)
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Ryokan 
      Fumoto Ryokan(Minamioguni-machi)
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Reviews (123)
      Filter reviews
      123 results
      Traveller rating
      61
      47
      3
      4
      8
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      61
      47
      3
      4
      8
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsfamily bathsoutdoor bathhot springskurokawa onsenwaterfallvillagestreamkumamotofutongpsjapanbusmealstoiletriverdinner
      Filter
      Updating list...
      15 - 20 of 123 reviews
      Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

      Stayed a couple nights early in early Nov. Taking into account what we paid, this was the experience, in summary:
      1) Zombie reception. No greetings on arrival. Didn't speak a word of English (which is fine by me) BUT made no effort to help when we asked about how to get around the area. Bordered on rude when we asked if there was a second entrance to the resort as the main one was via a very very narrow treacherous road. Insisted we hand them our car keys without bothering to tell us why even we asked. Apparently part of the check in process includes shoving a tablet at guests and letting them go figure.
      2) Bad smell in guest toilet. The room was next to what seemed like the kitchen vents cos there was a constant array of bad oil smells permeating the air in our bedroom every time we opened the windows. Didn't really see the point of their futon beds as they were thin as paper - bad sleepless nights galore.
      3) Only saving grace were the girls in the restaurant and pretty decent fresh food that was served.

      Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
      3  Thank Sandra B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 12 November 2015

      After a few false starts we found the hotel, up a little lane next to a river - isolated and beautiful but only 5 mins from the village. We were met outside reception by the staff - someone parked our car for us, someone else showed us to our room. We were on the first floor of the main block - a traditional room, huge and calm, with traditional furniture, a balcony looking out to trees and the river, all in quite lovely wood - cedar I think. There was green tea ready, a sweet snack, yukatas to change into, and whenever we left the room it was tidied and prepared for our return. Both nights' dinners were a real experience; menus tailored to my vegetarianism and my partner's avoidance of beef with lots of exquisitely presented small dishes and with the waitresses explaining what things were and how to tackle them. Breakfasts were just as enjoyable. The hot baths were duly explored by my partner who really enjoyed them - indoors and out apparently. The whole thing couldn't have been better. We would return tomorrow if we could. A big thank you to all the staff who made us so welcome.

      Room Tip: I think main block first floor was great - couldn't have been improved.
      • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank crookhamcommon
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 28 October 2015

      I researched many hotels before finally settling with this choice. It was not a bad choice. But for my family, we preferred something else. The hotel was very traditional, and the nice onsens were "mixed gender". I could not get myself to be brave enough to do that. So I didn't get to experience the beautiful riverside onsens and the special cave onsen. We booked the nicest room. It was the Japanese house with private outdoor onsen. Very nice but we didn't like the outdoor onsen. It was too dark and gloomy. There were many bugs and weird insects flying around. One was a HUGE Moth/butterfly looking thing that was the size of my palm. It was flying around the outdoor onsen room and wouldn't leave. We had to get the maintenance man to come in and he killed it, among cleaning other bugs and sorts before we dared to use it. The flashlight in the room was out of battery. Luckily he came and helped us. He was a very old and kind man.

      We were very comfortable in the house, three children on the futons and my husband and I had nice western style twin bed each. Flat screen TV, and very spacious. Clean.

      The hotel has many facilities considering it's a traditional style onsen hotel. Many onsen to choose from, and we had a good time trying the stone sauna where you lie on the ground and the slab of stone is very hot. Felt very nice. There is an indoor swimming pool too. No one used it. There is a hot spring for cooking eggs too. We didn't like the food very much though. In all the years of staying in luxurious onsen hotels around Japan, this one was quite a disappointment actually. Not terrible, but not as refined and not very very good as I would have expected.

      The staff at reception were not rude, just very cool. It was very expensive in my opinion. The location of the hotel in the region isn't as nice. It's near the entrance of the onsen area, on the right. But the main street where all the quaint shops are a bit further in on the left. Once the sun goes down, there really was no way we could walk out there and in the morning, check out was at 10am, it's kind of hard to spend any time walking there.

      Our "house" was the furthest one from the main reception building, and had to walk in our yukatas and the slippers they provided for us were very slippery and hard to walk around in the uneven road. We ended up wearing back our own runners. In the morning and night, the temperature was quite cool. We had to put on our coats to stay warm.

      Overall, it was nice, but overpriced for what we got and in comparison to all the onsen hotels we have stayed in the past. We always stayed in very nice onsen hotels around Japan, and this one was one that made us feel a little disappointed. Nevertheless, we had a nice time and it's nice for a one night stay.

      Stayed: October 2015
      4  Thank Katetam
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 3 October 2015

      I stayed here for 2 nights with my family. The service was really nice and touched our heart. The staffs are very sincere and take their job very professionally. Whenever we came back to our room after spa, we could feel that they read the mind of customers and take care of us.

      There are several hot spring places in its compound: 3 private baths, 3 open air baths, 2 baths only for women and 1 bath only for men. From 20:00-22:00, the open air bath is only for women. All of them are well sounded by nature and we felt we were very secluded place in the middle of nature.

      It's located 10 minutes walking distance from the centre of the town. But we found it was good decision. Because it is located at the very end of the town and in the middle of nature, we could have very relaxed feelings and release all stress.

      We had 2 breakfasts, and it was gorgeous and delicious. They remembered what we had on the first day and served different menu on the second day. It's pity that we did not reserve dinner there. Given how they serve breakfast, dinner must be also very great.

      The staffs provided very useful tour information and recommended good hot spring places in the town. We bought 3-hot-spring-tour package at the hotel and visited the places where the hotel recommended. We realised that he recommended the best and unique spots, which made our short trip very productive and fulfilled.

      I see some people are complaining that rooms don't have shower facility. But we didn't have any problem. It's spa place and you take bath at the spa facility. And after you enjoy the hot springs, you shouldn't take shower. Our family didn't have any problem.

      While staying there, we got a lot of help and tips from Mr. Okamoto [--] (Many thanks, Mr. Okamoto!) My family and I could have really nice, very relaxing and fulfilling holiday especially thanks to him.

      We will definitely find this place again if we become to find this town again, and recommend other people also.

      Room Tip: rooms facing court yard or river
      • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      1  Thank Boram K
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      黒川温泉奥の湯, フロント at Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2015
      Google Translation

      Boram K 様
      この度は大切なご家族様とのご旅行にて、数ある旅館の中より奥の湯をお選びいただき誠に有難うございました。また貴重なご意見をご投稿いただきましたこと、お礼申し上げます。
      2日間に渡り、当館をお楽しみいただけたご様子にホッと胸を撫で下ろします。入湯手形での湯めぐりも
      楽しんでいただけたご様子。また当館のお風呂と違った他旅館の露天風呂や洞窟風呂など喜んで頂き嬉しく思います。今回は夕食無しのプランでのご宿泊でございましたが、次回のご来館の際には、是非夕食付にてお越しくださいませ。女将がこだわる地産地消の会席にてご用意させていただいております。
      Boram K様の楽しいご旅行のお手伝いをさせて頂きましたが、お褒めのコメントを頂き恐縮でございます。お客様の笑顔を拝見できるよ日々業務に邁進しております。次回ご来館の際にはまた、お声掛けいただければ幸いでございます。この度は誠に有難うございました。

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 2 October 2015

      This is a lovely traditional ryokan.However, we were disappointed that one person was not designated to serve us. The quality of the sheets and towels especially was very poor. Our own outdoor bath was a treat. Breakfast in a crowded dining room was not fun. Coffee was undrinkable. Staff was very kind and well meaning.The dinners were first rate and served in our room. I had to prepare the delicious sukiyaki myself after some instruction from the server. I give it a "very good" since they tried hard, the location was beautiful and because the food was good. We have mixed feelings about this place.

      Room Tip: Get the best room available:-quiet and with your own ofuro.If you want a western breakfast, let them know at the beginning.
      • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      3  Thank mflickermd
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews