We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
106
65
13
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
65
13
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast and dinner great hotel kabuki theater fresh fruit main shrine cherry blossoms stayed one night udon roses specialties pools steps westerners umbrellas sticks japan spa
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Here you can have as little or a much of traditional Japan as you like; hot springs for public bathing, kimonos for dinner. Food is the local tradition with local flavor. The staff was very accommodating; if in Kotohira I highly recommend this property to get the full effect.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Warner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hananoyu, 広報担当マネージャー at Kotohira Grand Hotel Sakuranosho, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Thank you for your kindly comment! We also dedicated to improving our service to every customer. If you come to Kotohira again, please have a tea or take a rest in our hotel. Thank you again for choosing our hotel during your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

My girlfriend and stayed here for one night before doing the 1368 steps to the Konpira-san shrine. Conveniently located off the 22nd step and next door to the famous Kabuki theater (also worth a visit)! Nice, very attentive service. Upon entering we were seated at a nice table in the entry way, provided a tasty hot matcha tea and small food by servers in kimono, as they checked us in while we relaxed. Very welcoming. Nice gift shop in the lobby with good selection of reasonably priced Japanese treats.
Wonderful dinner with amazing food. Multicourse meal, starting with 1/2 dozen small dishes, then with incredible array of specialties, complimentary small citrous wine (other alcohol not free). Entree (option of meat or fish), udon ( choice of 6 types), fish stew, sashimi, tempura, delicious daichi soup, and finished with ice cream from fresh fruit. Almost no English spoken or printed at hotel. Breakfast buffet had quite large selection, including some of the best hamachi, tai and sake sashimi I'd had in Japan; very fresh. Tamago wasn't the best , but sufficient. Had small Western breakfast (yogurt, pancake, french toast, crossaint, rolls, and I think some dry cereals).
Room (#513) was slightly small (not by Japan standards!) with two double beds with just about 1 ft between them, tatami mat, small low table. We appreciated having separate toilet from bathing room. Onsen was simple with two temperature indoor pools and two outdoor pools, and steam room. Onsen open ~ 0500-2400, sauna closed at 2200h. Massage was inexpensive, ~65 Y per hour; not amazing but still relaxing.

Room tip: Recommend facing towards downtown for view and higher than 5th floor although, Konpira-san shrine will provide much better views anyway!
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdgwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hananoyu, 広報担当マネージャー at Kotohira Grand Hotel Sakuranosho, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for your comment. We are so glad that you like our public
hot spring and dinner. And we are working on training our English staffs lately.

We hope to give you our best food and service next time, of course,
by English converstation.
Thank you for your comment again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Stayed one night at this hotel with a tour group. While our dinner and entertainment could not be faulted it was all wonderful. I think the hotel does not cater for western tourists. Very hard to find anyone who could understand English, and as this is an expensive hotel I was offended at having to pay for the coffee and biscuits in my room. Not everyone drinks green tea I don't drink any type of tea. Wanted to have an after dinner drink in the bar and it was closed the reception people couldn't understand English and what we did figure out was that we could only buy wine by the bottle when I just wanted a glass. It is very close to the access steps for the shrine which I think is its main attraction.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeorgyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hananoyu, 営業ディレクター at Kotohira Grand Hotel Sakuranosho, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank you for your comment. We are so sorry about giving you such a bad accommodation experience. We hope we could give you our best service again next time. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

I am looking at some of the photos posted by other travelers who stayed at this hotel. Some ring a bell and others do not. I am wondering if I was located in a different area of the hotel as my bathroom wasn't done in the modern style I see in some of the photos.

I loved my two overnights at Sakura no Sho Kotohira. My accommodation was very comfortable with the futon on the floor. The little evening snack provided, along with the kettle and tea bags were much appreciated.

The room was very clean....although the bathroom was a tad outdated.

When the housekeeping team arrived to make up my bed for the evening, it was like poetry in motion watching these girls go through their manoeuvres. Not one ounce of energy is wasted in any part of this evening ritual. Especially when it came time to make the bed. It was like watching ballet!!

Fresh ice water is delivered in a jug in the evening. There is an assortment of 'yukatas' and 'obis' in the room for guests to wear when out in the public areas or in the restaurants.

The swimming pool was cooling after the heat and exertion of the day.The onsen were beautifully appointed with fresh lemons, rose flowers and another fragrant, which I can't remember now.

Our daily schedule was vigorous, however it still allowed us time to enjoy the relaxation elements of this delightful hotel.

Breakfast was amazing....with Japanese food on one side of the restaurant and Western style food on the other. It served the best assortment of fresh fruit I had seen in almost one week of travelling thro' Japan.

The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. There were umbrellas, towels, sun hats and walking sticks for guests' use at the front door.

The day we arrived, a fruit juice was served with a chilled cloth before we made our way to our rooms. Such detail to attention makes you feel happy to be there.

By the time it was time to leave for our next destination....I was just beginning to settle into this very comfortable hotel.

I would highly recommend it, if your travels take you through Kotohira.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank QueenofCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hananoyu, 営業ディレクター at Kotohira Grand Hotel Sakuranosho, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank you for your comment. We are so happy that we could give you the best memories when you stayed in our hotel. We hope we could give you our best service again next time. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Staff is wonderful. Excellent service. Hotel staff 林樣(台灣Taiwanese) and?樣(日本Japanese,I am sorry that I forgot his name) help us to find our passport which I left at a udon restaurant. I feel grateful for their help.
Room is very nice with great view. I like that they service cold tea and snack while waiting for check in. Dinner is fine. Breakfast is great, but there is too many people during breakfast time.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CeciliaY157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hananoyu, 営業ディレクター at Kotohira Grand Hotel Sakuranosho, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017
Google Translation

感謝您的留言!!我是櫻之抄的林先生~能夠幫您找回護照實在是一件令人高興的事!希望下次能夠再為您提供最高品質的服務哦!也期望能在您的旅程中留下美好的回憶!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews