We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
22
17
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
17
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Tsuwano was such a good experience thanks to the hospitality of the amazing staff in this Ryokan. Rooms are nice although there is no view from some of them. A traditional Japanese room and beautiful public spaces.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

One of the favorite places that we stopped at and stayed.Only 10 minutes walk from the railway station.
We booked one of the slightly larger rooms that had an extension by the window, this gave a balcony effect and with chairs and a little table, an area where we could sit without squatting. It also served as storage for the baggage and rucksacks. The rooms were traditional Japanese tatami style. When you went to your dinner, you arrived back and the futons were laid out. When you came back from breakfast they were gone and the room was clear.

The food was terrific, the only small issue was the eating area felt more like a large canteen that a traditional ryokan.

The staff were great with special mention to Yuka and her daughter Rika.They helped us with information about the area and showed great patience when our Japanese wasn't what it should have been.

It was Yuka and Rika that told us about the festival that happened to be on during the second day we were there. It coincided with the opening of a new steam train line, There was a family run, local food, a 24 hour rendition of a local Kabuki show etc.

On the day we left, we were halfway to the station when I realized I had forgotten my large, and heavy rucksack. I jogged back, only to see little Rika running towards me with the rucksack..

Overall a great experience for our first ryoken and I wish we had booked a longer stay.

Room Tip: Try to et one of the larger rooms if you are touring.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mrdeeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2015

We have just arrived and check in this hotel 28 Nov 2015. It is in the center of the town and shopping street. Free parking space for the one who drive by themselves. You can book the room with half board which mean included dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: They have wifi in the lobby.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhang Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

Great location in the middle of the historical district only 15 min walk from the train station. The staff were very nice and professional. The modern ryokan has all the amenities, even free massage chairs. The breakfast was Japanese with beautiful dishes of healthy foods.
The room was pretty spacious and clean. Nice view of the mountains.
The town is quaint and beautiful. A couple days stay would be good to relax and enjoy everything. Visit the shrine up in the mountain and take the Yamaguchigo Steam Engine to ShinYamaguchi if you get a chance. Also a great antiques store across the bridge with great clocks and light fixtures at great prices.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2014

A colleague and I ended up in the west of Japan on a Friday, and took a stab in the guidebook as to where we should visit before returning to Tokyo. Tsuwano came up trumps. And the Yoshinoya seemed the place to stay.

And it was awesome. Arriving in the evening, the Yoshinoya staff were extremely welcoming, despite their scant English. Shoes off at the door, we were led through the extensive ryokan complex to a largeish futon room, with personal bathroom and toilet off the antechamber.

The hotel offered facilities galore, including male and female baths, library, massage chairs, pretty much all the mod-cons you'd expect a proper Japanese ryokan to have. Dinner was served in the dining rooms on the first floor - a feast of course after course of Japanese delicacies, including, I think, fugu fish (!) for one of the courses. You certainly won't go hungry.

After a refreshing sleep on the tatami mats, a breakfast feast was served in the dining room. Again course after course of magnificent Japanese food.

The town of Tsuwano is not really a place many gaijin go, and so the experience is catered almost wholly to the Japanese traveller. Making it among the most authentic Japanese experiences you'll come across.

A word of warning - if you decide to rent a bike from opposite the station, the Hori House and Garden is a solid hour+ out of town, uphill most of the way. I'd recommend taking the bus if you want to go that far, but the archery course and shrine on the outskirts of town in the same direction are pretty neat. Or they were that warm autumn day.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sk4nder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews