We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
131
163
58
26
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
163
58
26
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews calligraphy class outdoor onsen tofu one night vegetarian food massage chair outdoor hot spring enjoyable experience wifi area small closet temple lodging impressive temple gardens are lovely serene surroundings japanese futon no meat zen garden
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

A very interesting experience for temple stay in the holy Koyasan. Beautiful gardens (designed by a famous landscape architect Shigemori), though the interior design seems overcrowded at places (somehow there is a corner concentrated with random souvenir-looking items that took away some of the expected elegance...) and they could really use a better calligraphy for the name of the temple at the entrance. Fukuchiin has the only natural onsen in the whole of Koyasan, so make use of it! After a 6am morning prayer in the cold, it was very pleasant to jump into the onsen once more before the delicious breakfast (vegetarian of course, with house-made fresh tofu and soy milk). The lunch is also worthwhile for a better sampling of shojin ryori. As expected, the bathroom and shower facilities are shared, but clean everywhere, we even spotted beers in a vending machine. The only small downside is that the walls are paper thin so you will hear your neighbours snore and people running up and down the hallway when 6am prayers come so you might as well get up and go :P

Room Tip: One night stay was enough for us, do check out the morning prayers and onsen
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Temple? Theme hotel? Probably a little of both. Its a working temple with a lean to tourists.

The environment is calm and relaxing, a great antidote to travelling the big cities.

The rooms are deliberately basic in a traditional style, it was set out with cushions and a table to sit around which was then cleared while we ate and setup with floor bedding. There no external locks so your room is open while you're away. There is a small safe though for valuables.

The staff where very helpful. Our host gave us a tour and explained the rules (the gates shut strictly at 9 PM so not one for those looking to stay out late). The green tea waiting for us in the room was a nice touch.

Onsen was superb. Open all night, its great for relaxing and destressing. There's a strict separation between sexes though and no swimming costumes allowed if you're not keen on going full frontal (no issues with tattoos either).

The food was great, it does take some open mindedness though. Its an all veggie meal but nothing like I've had before. One of our party just couldn't handle the food at all. The rest of us loved it. Dinner and breakfast where served in a traditional dining room, sitting on the floor. We got a little explanation of each dish and the order to eat everything in.

Its no doubt a working temple but also a working hotel. I'm sure there are more traditional temples to stay but for one night it was a great experience. Somewhat pricey but was very different to everything else we experienced in Japan.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Pros:
Beautiful view of gardens from our room(49). All the gardens are beautiful and well kept.
Vegetarian food, both breakfast and dinner very well presented and prepared. As we found it difficult to eat sitting on the floor, they were happy to provide small chairs and heightened tables.
Most of the staff friendly/helpful. Our food waiter was perhaps rushed off her feet & had limited English, so no descriptions of what we were eating was offered - no food intolerances “accepted”
Cons:
I expected a more intimate environment. This hotel had about 60 rooms.
The room was fashioned in traditional Japanese style, eg futon bedding on tatami mats, however- No clothes storage except 4 coat hangers in small closet. No shelving of any description anywhere- but an electrical massage chair! There was no outside door lock but the safe was miniscule. I tiny table & 2 chairs were a lifesaver. We had a private toilet & basin. On the second day we returned home to uncleaned glassware, full rubbish bin, full ice bucket (now melted). New towels/kimono provided however. Extra charges - 350yen for ice. 350yen for morning coffee. Rules were strict: locked front door at 9. No sitting in wifi area after 9. Meals strictly on time or even pushed to eat earlier. No individual showers but strict Onsen(bath) times (understandably there had to be cleaning times, but 6 hours?) I did enjoy soaking in a hot bath after a long day.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JanelleandGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

An impressive temple lodgings with excellent standard of service. Ousen hot baths and incredible traditional Japanese food served in your room. Very tranquil and respectful. Would say not suitable for young children, but our older teenagers loved it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

After visiting big cities in Japan like Tokyo or Kyoto I really enjoyed to spend a night in a Shokudo. It's supposed to be a Buddhist monastery but it's more like a relaxed hostel. The rooms are typical Japanese with tatami and futon, the toilets are shared and there is a small onsen. The main door is closed at 9:00 pm, there are nice dry gardens to contemplate and relax and the possibility to attend a buddhist prayer at 6:00 am. Dinner and breakfast are included, both meals are vegan, dinner is based on vegetables and breakfast is about different sorts of tofu.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews