We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
133
166
61
27
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
166
61
27
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews calligraphy class outdoor onsen tofu one night vegetarian food massage chair outdoor hot spring thin walls wifi area small closet the bus temple lodging impressive temple gardens are lovely serene surroundings japanese futon zen garden
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

An impressive temple lodgings with excellent standard of service. Ousen hot baths and incredible traditional Japanese food served in your room. Very tranquil and respectful. Would say not suitable for young children, but our older teenagers loved it.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 540JaneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

After visiting big cities in Japan like Tokyo or Kyoto I really enjoyed to spend a night in a Shokudo. It's supposed to be a Buddhist monastery but it's more like a relaxed hostel. The rooms are typical Japanese with tatami and futon, the toilets are shared and there is a small onsen. The main door is closed at 9:00 pm, there are nice dry gardens to contemplate and relax and the possibility to attend a buddhist prayer at 6:00 am. Dinner and breakfast are included, both meals are vegan, dinner is based on vegetables and breakfast is about different sorts of tofu.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

This monastery had 64 guests the night we stayed which was busy. Very authentic with beautifully gardens and furnishings.

Male and female onsen are kept fully separate and have both indoor and outdoor onsen.

The room is traditional with matter floors and futons to sleep on. Some rooms have private bathrooms but we had to walk to the end of the corridor for shared sinks and toilets.

Breakfast and dinner are served in your room at low tables so prepare to eat on the floor. The food is fully vegan and contains a lot of tofu/bean curd. We regularly eat vegan/vegetarian food and found this a little challenging - nothing negative about the food or preparation as this was excellent but if you prefer meat or fish you could dine out in the town 5 minutes walk away.

It's a pricey stay but worth the experience. We got a local map when we arrived which indicated 40+ lodges where you can stay which we hadn't found online - may be worth a shop around although we liked it here.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

A great place to stay if you want to have the Japanese Experience. Great staff who will give you a guided tour at check in time. Close to the centre of Koyasan and easy access to the bus route which is essential to get around. Recommend the prayer service at 6:00am as a perfect way to start your day.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

How you will rate this place is purely linked to your expectations. It is a basic style lodging with vegetarian Japanese food, meaning lots of tofu. The only Buddhist elements are the vegetarian cooking and the prayers at 6.
Since we did not like the idea of sharing toilets, we opted for the special room which turned out to be a brand new suite of two rooms, and toiled and private onsen.
We choose for the mid priced diner, which was brought to the room and consisted of 9 different dishes and rice, very nicely presented but a few not to my taste. To our surprise they served a selection of alcoholic drinks, not only beer and sake, but also wine.
Breakfast was a smaller version of diner, a bit too much tofu to my liking.
Sleeping can be a challenge, since the bedding is extremely firm.
Staff was friendly and attentive, the ones we encountered could explain everything in English.
Staying in a place like this is an experience one should have when going to Japan, but I would say one night is enough.
Some folks comment about the price, what I have seen is that the moment a place has an onsen, this is the price level you have to pay, temple or not.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marjo1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews