We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Henjoko-in(Koya-cho)
US$ 253
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Hongakuin(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
US$ 253
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Saizen-in(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
US$ 360
US$ 162
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Fumonin(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
    US$ 298
    US$ 231
    JAPANiCAN.com
    View Deal
    Jimyo-in(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
    US$ 234
    JAPANiCAN.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
      Daienin(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
      US$ 211
      Agoda.com
      View Deal
      US$ 253
      US$ 245
      Expedia.com
      View Deal
      Koyasan Guest House Kokuu(Koya-cho)(Great Value!)
      US$ 90
      Booking.com
      View Deal
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Bar/Lounge
      Booking.com
      View Deal
      Reviews (397)
      Filter reviews
      398 results
      Traveller rating
      128
      161
      57
      25
      27
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      128
      161
      57
      25
      27
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewscalligraphy classoutdoor onsentofuone nightvegetarian foodmassage chairoutdoor hot springenjoyable experiencewifi areasmall closetjapanese visitorstemple lodgingimpressive templegardens are lovelyserene surroundingsjapanese futonno meat
      Filter
      Updating list...
      20 - 25 of 398 reviews
      Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

      An impressive temple lodgings with excellent standard of service. Ousen hot baths and incredible traditional Japanese food served in your room. Very tranquil and respectful. Would say not suitable for young children, but our older teenagers loved it.

      Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
      Thank Jane B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 15 August 2017

      After visiting big cities in Japan like Tokyo or Kyoto I really enjoyed to spend a night in a Shokudo. It's supposed to be a Buddhist monastery but it's more like a relaxed hostel. The rooms are typical Japanese with tatami and futon, the toilets are shared and there is a small onsen. The main door is closed at 9:00 pm, there are nice dry gardens to contemplate and relax and the possibility to attend a buddhist prayer at 6:00 am. Dinner and breakfast are included, both meals are vegan, dinner is based on vegetables and breakfast is about different sorts of tofu.

      • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Sleep Quality
        • Service
      Thank Anna A
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

      This monastery had 64 guests the night we stayed which was busy. Very authentic with beautifully gardens and furnishings.

      Male and female onsen are kept fully separate and have both indoor and outdoor onsen.

      The room is traditional with matter floors and futons to sleep on. Some rooms have private bathrooms but we had to walk to the end of the corridor for shared sinks and toilets.

      Breakfast and dinner are served in your room at low tables so prepare to eat on the floor. The food is fully vegan and contains a lot of tofu/bean curd. We regularly eat vegan/vegetarian food and found this a little challenging - nothing negative about the food or preparation as this was excellent but if you prefer meat or fish you could dine out in the town 5 minutes walk away.

      It's a pricey stay but worth the experience. We got a local map when we arrived which indicated 40+ lodges where you can stay which we hadn't found online - may be worth a shop around although we liked it here.

      Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
      1  Thank Rick W
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

      A great place to stay if you want to have the Japanese Experience. Great staff who will give you a guided tour at check in time. Close to the centre of Koyasan and easy access to the bus route which is essential to get around. Recommend the prayer service at 6:00am as a perfect way to start your day.

      Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
      Thank Tom H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

      How you will rate this place is purely linked to your expectations. It is a basic style lodging with vegetarian Japanese food, meaning lots of tofu. The only Buddhist elements are the vegetarian cooking and the prayers at 6.
      Since we did not like the idea of sharing toilets, we opted for the special room which turned out to be a brand new suite of two rooms, and toiled and private onsen.
      We choose for the mid priced diner, which was brought to the room and consisted of 9 different dishes and rice, very nicely presented but a few not to my taste. To our surprise they served a selection of alcoholic drinks, not only beer and sake, but also wine.
      Breakfast was a smaller version of diner, a bit too much tofu to my liking.
      Sleeping can be a challenge, since the bedding is extremely firm.
      Staff was friendly and attentive, the ones we encountered could explain everything in English.
      Staying in a place like this is an experience one should have when going to Japan, but I would say one night is enough.
      Some folks comment about the price, what I have seen is that the moment a place has an onsen, this is the price level you have to pay, temple or not.

      Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
      1  Thank Marjo1187
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews