We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautifully presented but Very Regimented Hotel”
Review of Fukuchiin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fukuchiin
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Pros:
Beautiful view of gardens from our room(49). All the gardens are beautiful and well kept.
Vegetarian food, both breakfast and dinner very well presented and prepared. As we found it difficult to eat sitting on the floor, they were happy to provide small chairs and heightened tables.
Most of the staff friendly/helpful. Our food waiter was perhaps rushed off her feet & had limited English, so no descriptions of what we were eating was offered - no food intolerances “accepted”
Cons:
I expected a more intimate environment. This hotel had about 60 rooms.
The room was fashioned in traditional Japanese style, eg futon bedding on tatami mats, however- No clothes storage except 4 coat hangers in small closet. No shelving of any description anywhere- but an electrical massage chair! There was no outside door lock but the safe was miniscule. I tiny table & 2 chairs were a lifesaver. We had a private toilet & basin. On the second day we returned home to uncleaned glassware, full rubbish bin, full ice bucket (now melted). New towels/kimono provided however. Extra charges - 350yen for ice. 350yen for morning coffee. Rules were strict: locked front door at 9. No sitting in wifi area after 9. Meals strictly on time or even pushed to eat earlier. No individual showers but strict Onsen(bath) times (understandably there had to be cleaning times, but 6 hours?) I did enjoy soaking in a hot bath after a long day.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JanelleandGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

An impressive temple lodgings with excellent standard of service. Ousen hot baths and incredible traditional Japanese food served in your room. Very tranquil and respectful. Would say not suitable for young children, but our older teenagers loved it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

After visiting big cities in Japan like Tokyo or Kyoto I really enjoyed to spend a night in a Shokudo. It's supposed to be a Buddhist monastery but it's more like a relaxed hostel. The rooms are typical Japanese with tatami and futon, the toilets are shared and there is a small onsen. The main door is closed at 9:00 pm, there are nice dry gardens to contemplate and relax and the possibility to attend a buddhist prayer at 6:00 am. Dinner and breakfast are included, both meals are vegan, dinner is based on vegetables and breakfast is about different sorts of tofu.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

This monastery had 64 guests the night we stayed which was busy. Very authentic with beautifully gardens and furnishings.

Male and female onsen are kept fully separate and have both indoor and outdoor onsen.

The room is traditional with matter floors and futons to sleep on. Some rooms have private bathrooms but we had to walk to the end of the corridor for shared sinks and toilets.

Breakfast and dinner are served in your room at low tables so prepare to eat on the floor. The food is fully vegan and contains a lot of tofu/bean curd. We regularly eat vegan/vegetarian food and found this a little challenging - nothing negative about the food or preparation as this was excellent but if you prefer meat or fish you could dine out in the town 5 minutes walk away.

It's a pricey stay but worth the experience. We got a local map when we arrived which indicated 40+ lodges where you can stay which we hadn't found online - may be worth a shop around although we liked it here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

A great place to stay if you want to have the Japanese Experience. Great staff who will give you a guided tour at check in time. Close to the centre of Koyasan and easy access to the bus route which is essential to get around. Recommend the prayer service at 6:00am as a perfect way to start your day.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koya-cho
11.0 km away
Hotel Route Inn Hashimoto
Hotel Route Inn Hashimoto
#1 of 2 in Hashimoto
42 reviews
0.5 km away
Saizen-in
Saizen-in
#6 of 46 in Koya-cho
68 reviews
0.9 km away
Sekishoin
Sekishoin
#40 of 46 in Koya-cho
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sojiin
Sojiin
#12 of 46 in Koya-cho
55 reviews
0.7 km away
Henjoko-in
Henjoko-in
#15 of 46 in Koya-cho
53 reviews
0.9 km away
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
#1 of 46 in Koya-cho
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fukuchiin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fukuchiin

Address: 657 Koyasan, Koya-cho, Ito-gun 648-0211, Wakayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Ito-gun > Koya-cho
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Speciality lodging in Koya-cho
Price Range: ₹ 11,651 - ₹ 30,617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fukuchiin 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fukuchiin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyasan Onsen Fukuchi-In Hotel Koya-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing