We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hakuba Summertime Adventure in stylish luxury”
Large, bright living room (first floor)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large, bright living room (first floor)
1970's classic Japanese chalet architecture, with a Scandinavian feel Living room leads out onto elevated deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Large, bright living room (first floor)
1970's classic Japanese chalet architecture, with a Scandinavian feel
Living room leads out onto elevated deck
Original features maintained
Open plan living, kitchen, dining area
Raised deck off lounge
Dining room
Modern, fully-equipped kitchen
Window seat
Master bedroom (bedroom 1), first floor
Master bedroom's ensuite bathroom
Large walk-in shower
Stairs to second floor
Vaulted ceiling showing exposed structure of house
Bedroom 2, queen bed or 2 singles
Bedroom 3, queen bed or 2 singles
Bedroom 4: bunk beds sleeping 6. Ensuite shower room.
Bedroom 4: with TV. Ideal space for kids.
Stairs from ground floor to 1st floor
Large open entrance hall (ground floor).
Main bathroom (ground floor). With deep bath.
Main bathroom (ground floor). Walk-in shower.
Second bathroom (ground floor).
Second bathroom (ground floor). Walk-in shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun, Nagano Prefecture, Koshinetsu, Chubu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Storm G
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hakuba Summertime Adventure in stylish luxury”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Lush and green, Hakuba in the summer time is so much more beautiful than we had expected. We are keen hikers and there are many walks to explore in the alpine region, June/July is the perfect time to see the many different species of wildflowers that are in bloom - Hakuba Huset was the perfect base to experience a unique part of Japan. The house itself has such a lovely welcoming, traditional feel with modern appliances (including a bluetooth sound system), and a superb kitchen with everything you could possibly need. We loved starting the day before a big hike with our filter coffee on the balcony & after a day in the mountains we couldn’t wait to get back to the house to relax. The house itself is surrounded by forests but still close to Echo Land where the local restaurants are so good & an easy walk or drive away. If you like your art, design & cooking then there’s plenty of books to keep you entertained before you even look up from the large, coffee table. The apple tv is a bonus & it's easy to log into your own apple account for movies and tv shows. This is a stylish, very comfortable & extremely relaxing holiday house that we would book again in a heartbeat.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan T
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb home in quiet, beautiful wooded area close to restaurants”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is a recently renovated, high ceiling home finished to a high standard on a wide street that affords wonderful morning sunlight. It is cozy, comfortable and easy to spend time in. Kid friendly and with a great kitchen that comes with coffee, filters, spices, etc etc so you don't need to buy a hundred items you'll throw away five days later. Excellent and responsive Japanese speaking western management. The location is perfect in that the kids can play in the street and ride bikes without a car coming by for nearly an hour at times yet we could walk ten minutes into Echoland, the main street with all the restaurants. Small cafes and lodges pepper this heavily wooded neighborhood. We rented in July and would have rented it for the ski season but understand it filled up in June - which makes total sense. I toured quite a few homes in the area and there are very few of this size and quality. If you have four or more people in your group you would regret staying in a local hotel/lodge after seeing this home.

Wifi speeds ... 160 mb/s.. all fiber optic. Apple TV allowed the kids to watch movies using our own Apple ID.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impeccable design and build quality.
Liked least: We didn't stay long enough..
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter O
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome experience”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It was our first time skiing in Japan and we did not know what to expect staying in a chalet. But we were taken away by the fantastic atmosphere, with a lot of Scandinavia mixed in with a bit of Japan, and all the modern and very functional facilities. It made our first trip a very memorable one and we are looking forward to return one day. By the way, our wonderful and most helpful host Neil doesn't speak English as noted in an earlier review, he speaks Scottish (and Japanese).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the atmosphere
Liked least: the brand new dishwasher needed som finetuning
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenny s
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“We loved it”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at Hakuba Huset and loved it. Not like the usual small Japanese houses that we have rented in the past. Lots of roomand very comfortable for our two families. All the bathrooms made getting out the door so much easier.
the shuttle bus ,Echo land and an Onsen are all within walking distance which meant everyone could do their own thing. Neil was an excellent host and a real life saver with ski hire, supermarket shopping and transfers.Having a Japanese speaking host with local knowledge is fantastic. Can't wait to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikael c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hakuba Huset is the best.”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Being the first guests in this newly renovated mountain lodge was truly an experience.This uniquely Japanese designed wooden structure with its enormous beams and columns exposed mixed with its new stylish interior gives you a sense of Japan mixed with Scandinavia. A place you definitely want to come back to. Being a group of 7 we had plenty of room to spare. Neil our host would have to be the best in Hakuba, always there to help. Being in Echoland there is only a short walk to shuttle bus, restaurants and onsen (300m!). We will be back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and sense comfort
Liked least: Digging the car out every morning
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing