We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
85
35
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
35
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small illy coffee espresso martini degustation menu drop offs bar snacks ski fields great bar ski hotel chinese new year ski trip fantastic hotel local knowledge ski lessons the bus great hosts stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

I didn’t stay here. I only went to the restaurant.
I had one of THE BEST meals of my life in the restaurant. I had heard it was good.....it was AMAZING! We asked the chef to select share plates for us- great plan. Hard to pick a favourite dish. Serving staff friendly and efficient. Good selection of wines. I truly don’t know how it could be improved. 12/10!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Bernadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

The staff made our stay memorable and they were the absolute highlight of our weeks stay. Unfortunately we had kids running around unsupervised and making the restaurant less pleasant than it should have been. There were 2 Onsens which could be booked for private use for the first few days of our stay but the owners changed that to public use mid way through the week which was disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBHMark, Owner at Double Black Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear Tim,

We are delighted that our staff (whom we are very proud of) helped make your stay enjoyable. We are sorry that the kids were disturbing to you. However, it was school holidays in Australia and there were many families with young children in Hakuba at that time. With regards to the onsen, our web site clearly states “The in-house onsen style baths can be booked for families and couples desiring extra privacy and indulgence (except for peak use times)”. It is unfortunate that this policy was not adhered to prior to our arrival and, after discussions with various guests, we believed it important that we do provide the service that we advertise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a week. Leo and his team were fantastic. Their local knowledge and ability to arrange pickups and drop offs to ski fields, to restaurants, and anywhere else you want to go in Hakuba was done without question.
The ability to book out the hotel Onsen for private use was great.
The bar had a great atmosphere every night after skiing. Breakfast provided was adequate to get you going for a big day on the slopes. Most importantly the staff were all willing and able to help. A mix of Australian, New Zealand, European and Japanese all young and fun assisted in creating a great environment. Bedrooms and bathrooms were adequate for a stay in the snow.
I will certainly be back to Hakuba and the double black hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank rwmott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBHMark, Owner at Double Black Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are delighted that our staff (whom we are very proud of) helped make your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Double Black Hotel when you next visit Hakuba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We were staying next to Double black and would go over ever evening after skiing for great happy hour deals as well as amazing cocktails. Jake the bar manager was brilliant, he was infectious and inviting and brought down some Japanese traditional nibbles for the table.
What we loved about this place was the fact that Jake remembered all of us the minute we came in the door as well as our drink orders and secondly the whole set up of the bar, it was really chilled and classy. If we’re back in Hakuba we’ll definitely be back.
Thanks for your hospitality from 6 happy Irish customers.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank lisak2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBHMark, Owner at Double Black Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thank you for your review of our bar. We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the service and that the cocktails were a great culmination to a fantastic day on the slopes at Hakuba.

We look forward to welcoming you back if you do visit Hakuba again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Double Black (“DB”) for 7 nights with some friends over New Years. Upon arrival, we were picked up by Will from the bus station in Happo, who took us to the lodge. He helped us with our bags inside. We were then greeted by Leo the manager of DB and Nico another staff member.

My partner wasn’t feeling well so Nico wrote down medication that he needed in Japanese for my partner to then be taken back to the pharmacy by Will.

Leo helped us with our dinner and snowboard rental plans for that night.

Each morning, the staff made us a free cooked breakfast, gave us tips on where to ski that day and shuttled us to each resort. Nothing was an issue for the staff at DB.

The accommodation itself is fairly basic however affordable. When in Hakuba you are rarely in the rooms. What made our stay was the simple fact the staff at DB and in particular Will, Leo and Nico went above and beyond for us.

On our last night, Leo again offered to drop us off to dinner. We mentioned that we were sad we had to leave the next day and told him our plans. He mentioned that we should get our Shinkansen tickets tonight as it’s a busy time of year. Not only did Leo drive us to the train terminal, he got out of the car and spoke Japanese to the ticket office. This was awesome as the trains were all sold out for the next day and he managed to get the four of us on one early the next morning.

As our train was leaving so early, Will and Nico and another staff member began their shift at 5am (instead of 7) to ensure that we had breaky AND a lift to the bus station to make our train.

We got to the bus station, had no cash left and were planning on using the ATM at the bus stop. Hot tip: the ATMs don’t work until 8am. Will then drove us to the petrol station to attempt to use that ATM. Again, not working until 8am. Nico then shouted 4 bus tickets for us.

We can’t get over the level of service the staff provided at DB. We will not hesitate to recommend this place to our family and friends visiting Hakuba.

Thank you so much.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBHMark, Owner at Double Black Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear Jess

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff (whom we are very proud of) were able to get you through the difficulties one can experience when visiting foreign countries.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews