We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
Hotel Stelle Belle(Hakuba-mura)
US$ 183
US$ 178
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hakuba Mominoki Hotel(Hakuba-mura)(Great Value!)
US$ 248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
US$ 184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel(Hakuba-mura)
US$ 325
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 285
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penke Panke Lodge(Hakuba-mura)
US$ 367
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allure(Hakuba-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aile De Vert Hakuba(Hakuba-mura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Albergo Miyataso(Hakuba-mura)
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Alm no Mori(Hakuba-mura)
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
85
35
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
35
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallilly coffeeespresso martinischeduled pickupshuttle servicea hard day's skiinggreat hotel to staydegustation menuspoke japaneseevery morningwinter wonderlanddrop offsdinner drinksmain ski liftski fieldsbar snackspick up and drop
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

The wonderful breakfasts and very helpful staff who willingly shuttled us to bus stops and ski slopes (but not back, sadly) and then to the train station at the end of our stay, were the highlights of our stay in this comfortable hotel set in the woods.
The place reminded me of an upmarket chalet in the Alps – the staff are young and enthusiastic, and probably in Hakuba to enjoy the slopes rather than anything else, and that probably explains why the bathroom was not entirely spotless.
We ate dinner in the restaurant on one night, and while the food was delicious we spent more on that meal than on any other during our two weeks in Japan. We only had a main dish each and shared a side dish, the portions were on the small side and despite being told that one dish came with rice or mashed potato, it did not and there were no carbs to order either.
We would stay again and would recommend the Double Black.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaPyrenees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Nice clean rooms , great friendly staff, good breakfast to start the day off and a good bar to have a few beers at the end of the day

They offer a shuttle service that will drop you off ( unfortunately they don't come and pick you up )most places within a reasonable distance, gondola, pub, etc and transfer to and from train/ bus

Free onsen in the hotel which is great to jump into after a day on the slopes which can also be booked for private use after 6 pm

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevinq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

If you are looking for a night out in Hakuba Mura an evening at Double Black Hotel will not disappoint. A truly sensational meal. Chefs from Sydney have bought an incredible dining experience to Hakuba and if you are not staying at Double Black Hotel make sure you come here for dinner and drinks, inside tip - they also serve the best espresso martini's! Loved the entire experience of enjoying a fabulous meal with friends in one of the Worlds best ski destinations.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Rooms are small. Staff are all really lovely except for the manager who made everything seem like a big ask and seemed to enjoy saying no rather than yes. The hotel provides transport to restaurants and morning and afternoon transport to ski lifts. Cabs back from restaurants are 1100 yen up. Won't be a return customer unfortunately.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeiJapaw, マネージャー at Double Black Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Hi There,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you felt that way.

I helped you book a restaurant but you didn’t go, and the restaurant was very upset with us. If that happens a couple of times they’ll stop taking bookings for our guests. So I tried to confirm your other bookings with you each time so I could tell other restaurants if you wanted to cancel before the time. I’m sorry to make you feel like I wanted to say no - I didn’t mean to make you feel that.

While you stayed we helped you to see a doctor. I hope you're both well and wish you all the best for the birt!

Nevertheless, I hope you enjoyed your stay in this village Hakuba and will return in the future.

All the best for 2017!

Kei
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We just finished a 6 night stay. What a place! Located in the forest with beautiful views of the snow. Great onsen after skiing. The staff are so helpful and friendly and they made the stay all the more better. The rooms are cozy, breakfast is AWESOME...we really looked forward to it every morning. Kai, Rose, Ben, the guy from Scotland and all the others, thank you so much for everything!

Room Tip: We had room 107 on the ground floor which is close to the onsen.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews