We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
151
26
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
26
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice bar and restaurant floor to ceiling glass log fire mountain view room king singles ski package highly recommend this hotel short walk ski slopes family holiday the bus a great place to stay local restaurants ensuite bathroom his team hotel shuttle friendly atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

It was our first time in Hakuba and we had a great time. The team at Aqua took care of everything including ski lift passes, ski hire and lessons. They picked us up from the bus and drove us to the ski lifts every morning.

We had a lovely buffet breakfast each morning and ate in the restaurant at night many times. We loved sitting by the roaring fire and having a Shiga Kogen Pale Ale.

Aqua is in a great location, which is walking distance to escal plaza and several restaurants and the bus stop.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, answering my many questions via email before we arrived and more questions while we were there.

The room was large and clean and had a nice window.

We will definitely be back to Aqua Alpine.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Wow, these guys could not be more attentive to all of your needs. From the moment we were collected from the bus stop upon arrival to the time of check-out, we were made feel most welcome and no request was too much.

As first timers to Hakuba, Aqua Alpine would be our recommendation for a family stay. We loved the cottage we were in, its close proximity to the main hotel building and the snow wonderland that surrounded us. The hotel facilities were warm and welcoming and we greatly enjoyed our after skiing drinks each day in the bar. The dinner menu was not extensive but the food was well prepared and filling. We especially enjoyed the Japanese hot pot night.

The staff were all friendly and loved a chat. They were also knowledgeable about the area, restaurants, places to go etc. Special thanks to Dean and the F&B team as well as to all the front office and driving staff.

We are already planning our next trip to Hakuba and Aqua Alpine will be the first choice in accommodation.

Room tip: Stay in a cottage if you want your own personal ski lodge.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The Aqua Alpine was amazing. It is in a superb location, 300m to the bottom of the ski lifts, and within 5 minutes walk of quite a few restaurants and bars. The staff here are incredible. The manager Josh is so helpful, and will do whatever it takes to make sure your stay is great. He is obviously very careful about the staff he chooses, as every single one of them was amazing - helpful and friendly. The rooms are really spacious too. The breakfast here is also very good. The bar and restaurant are great if you dont want to go to one of the nearby restaurants. The burgers and steaks are a highlight. All-in-all, I could not recommend it more highly.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Stayed there based on a friends recommendation and we were not let down. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were the only people staying at the lodge. Yes the place was busy and we mingled with other guests at the bar and restaurant, but service wise the staff went out of their way to make it feel like we were their only focus.

Proactive advice on where to go to ski (eg, a place with a child minding facilty for our 5 y/o who had enough on the skis) and shipping us around when and where we wanted. Very organised on moving us around to get our kit ready. Activities each night and a movie each night for the kids.

The only improvement.... maybe some more "local" menu choices although they did have a sushi making night.

Overall we loved it and hope to go back soon.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kevin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Fantastic hotel with spacious rooms, great communal lounge with fireplace, fabulous restaurant for dinner and breakfast. By far though, the best feature is the amazing service - nothing is too hard - from transfers to and from any ski slopes or shops or station to advice on where best to ski. We left some clothes in the dryer and they were only too happy to package them up for us and send them to our home address in Australia. We would definitely stay there if we re visit Hakuba and do not hesitate to recommend this great little hotel.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews