We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to enjoy your Hakuba skiing experience”
Review of Aqua Alpine Hakuba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aqua Alpine Hakuba
Ranked #13 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Wow, these guys could not be more attentive to all of your needs. From the moment we were collected from the bus stop upon arrival to the time of check-out, we were made feel most welcome and no request was too much.

As first timers to Hakuba, Aqua Alpine would be our recommendation for a family stay. We loved the cottage we were in, its close proximity to the main hotel building and the snow wonderland that surrounded us. The hotel facilities were warm and welcoming and we greatly enjoyed our after skiing drinks each day in the bar. The dinner menu was not extensive but the food was well prepared and filling. We especially enjoyed the Japanese hot pot night.

The staff were all friendly and loved a chat. They were also knowledgeable about the area, restaurants, places to go etc. Special thanks to Dean and the F&B team as well as to all the front office and driving staff.

We are already planning our next trip to Hakuba and Aqua Alpine will be the first choice in accommodation.

Room Tip: Stay in a cottage if you want your own personal ski lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2016

The Aqua Alpine was amazing. It is in a superb location, 300m to the bottom of the ski lifts, and within 5 minutes walk of quite a few restaurants and bars. The staff here are incredible. The manager Josh is so helpful, and will do whatever it takes to make sure your stay is great. He is obviously very careful about the staff he chooses, as every single one of them was amazing - helpful and friendly. The rooms are really spacious too. The breakfast here is also very good. The bar and restaurant are great if you dont want to go to one of the nearby restaurants. The burgers and steaks are a highlight. All-in-all, I could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Stayed there based on a friends recommendation and we were not let down. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were the only people staying at the lodge. Yes the place was busy and we mingled with other guests at the bar and restaurant, but service wise the staff went out of their way to make it feel like we were their only focus.

Proactive advice on where to go to ski (eg, a place with a child minding facilty for our 5 y/o who had enough on the skis) and shipping us around when and where we wanted. Very organised on moving us around to get our kit ready. Activities each night and a movie each night for the kids.

The only improvement.... maybe some more "local" menu choices although they did have a sushi making night.

Overall we loved it and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016

Fantastic hotel with spacious rooms, great communal lounge with fireplace, fabulous restaurant for dinner and breakfast. By far though, the best feature is the amazing service - nothing is too hard - from transfers to and from any ski slopes or shops or station to advice on where best to ski. We left some clothes in the dryer and they were only too happy to package them up for us and send them to our home address in Australia. We would definitely stay there if we re visit Hakuba and do not hesitate to recommend this great little hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Served good steak, but the group dinner one night was mmiserable and expansive - tiny portions at the center of each large plate. Friendly service suddenly turned frigid when we shortened our stay and asked for transport assistance to a better value hotel very close by.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank BN68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshuaCharles, Owner at Aqua Alpine Hakuba, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2016

I am sorry i would like to investigate your issues, i reviewed all our bookings and i cannot see any guests that stayed with us that moved to an near by hotel, no customers shortened their stay as well. If you stayed with us can you please let me know your booking details so i can investigate. I have lodged a review with Trip Advisor. I take feedback seriously and i will respond. If you didnt stay with us and you would like to review the restaurant , please review on the appropriate page. you can contact me on josh@japanpowder.com , Regards Josh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#7 of 121 in Hakuba-mura
158 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#9 of 121 in Hakuba-mura
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#12 of 121 in Hakuba-mura
149 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
#2 of 121 in Hakuba-mura
142 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#8 of 121 in Hakuba-mura
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Alpine Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Alpine Hakuba

Address: 22203-151 Kamishiro, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9211, Nagano Prefecture (Formerly Aqua Alpine Hotel)
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: ₹ 13,371 - ₹ 25,285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Alpine Hakuba 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aqua Alpine Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing