We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
60
99
18
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
99
18
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs ski fields views of the mountains onsen experience breakfast and dinner stayed nights ski resort fireplace guests station yukata alps skiing hakuba vending japan happo
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2016

This hotel is located in the more traditional part of Hakuba. Guests were mainly Japanese so for our Aussie family, this was a great way of experiencing a bit of the culture on our ski trip. Onsen was fabulous, even the teenagers couldn't wait to soak in the onsen after a day of skiing. The Hotel is a bit tired and rooms average. Our beds were very hard and not very comfortable.

The morning buffet breakfast had good variety with plenty of opportunity to sample Japanese cuisine. For those wanting a break from Japanese food, you could choose from breakfast cereals eggs, pastries etc as alternatives. We love our coffee and the coffee available was surprisingly OK. The buffet dinner was also very good on 1 or 2 occasions maximum.

The staff were very polite speaking limited English but it was enough to get most information needed. If we needed more, the information desk at the bus terminal was very good. We quickly learned to check the bus every morning as there seemed to be many exceptions/changes to the published timetable. The drivers of the hotel shuttle service in the morning to the ski fields were very accomodating. As the hotel is located on the outskirts of Hakuba village, getting back from skiing or restaurants at night was tricky. If you skiied all day and planned on catching the bus shuttle from the ski field to the bus terminal, the only possible bus connection we ever made to get back to the Hotel was 5pm. This often meant we were hanging around at the bus terminal for at least 1/2 hour unless we jumped in a taxi. Returning back to the hotel after dinner at a restaurant was also usually by taxi. If you had the time and didn't need to carry ski gear, it is a very easy walk from the hotel into Hakuba Village. We spent one day walking everywhere including to Hakuba Village, Echoland and to and from the hotel. Overall, it was a great family holiday.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Very Japanese hotel outside of town. Unbelievable onsen (even the teens 12.13 and 15) got clothes off every night and got in.....great experience
staff very friendly but not much English spoken. Its out of town so you will need taxis sometimes. But they do run an "on demand" shuttle in the morning to go to the slopes, just ask the night before and they take you to where you want to go. similar with evening shuttle to town. Getting back after skiing is a bit of an issue as only limited buses and times. Rooms a bit old and small, and food gets a bit tired after 2 or 3 breakfasts. Evening dinner is a buffet ok for 1 or max 2 visits in a week as again is bit limited but good enough for tired skiers. Small lift can be a bottle neck. But if you want a Japanese experience highly recommended..

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Swoodsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Did not stay at this hotel, but was recommended their onsen by our hotel manger. It did not disappoint. A great experience, Onsen in open sky or inside, sauna, amenities available, (shampoo, after shampoo, soap, cream, hair dryer). Bring a towel and face wash. Do not expect a lot if sign in English, it is very Japanese,(we are in Japan after all). I really enjoy this experience, I would highly recommend it

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelartbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

The hotel is old but they renovated the room. Stayed in a mountain view room with daily buffet breakfast and dinner and love it. Paid 17,000 JPY per night for 2 guests. If you didn't buy meals when you book, they sold it at 600 JPY for breakfast and 1,500 JPY for dinner per person which is very low for in house guests. Outside guests must pay 2,500 JPY for dinner per person.

They have yukata for you daily so you don't have to pack your own in house clothes. You are welcomed to wear it when you are in the hotel, in the restaurant and use their onsen. They have one indoor and one outdoor pools. The heater worked very well. They had a short stainless steel frame in room. I used it to hang my wet socks and undergarments in front of the heater and they became dry very fast.

They speak English . I arrived at the Hakuba train station, was lost as I didn't know which way to walk to the hotel. Then I saw their shuttle van picking up another guests, so we just got on the van. They sent us for free to Happo One Station to visit the mountain and to the train station after we checked out.

Very happy I chose this hotel. It's like a four star old large resort. Have seen better days but still ok when other hotels having onsen charged too much. Very good service. Nothing to complain except it's an old hotel. But the room I stayed was newly renovated and was large with a long sofa.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wsea3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with the family. Good location for sightseeing around Hakuba during summer. Rooms and interior nice, clean, recently renovated. Buffet has a range of Japanese and Western foods. Staff are friendly. Free WiFi.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews