We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
12
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat atmospherecommon roomshuttle busother guestsapartmentecholandmountainslodge
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

The powder temple was a lovely place to stay! Decent size rooms, some with ensuite, otherwise public man and womens showers. The lounge area was lovely and open, same with the dining area. Booking came with breakfast which was a simple yet delicious arrange of cereals, toasts and spreads, yoghurts and drinks. Staff were all really friendly and easy to approach. Bus stop right out the front that takes you to the mountain or to town. Staff also offered lifts to the mountains or town :). Overall fantastic experience.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Having booked this hotel based on price we were not really expecting much, man were we surprised, sure it was an older style Japanese building but it was warm and inviting with comfortable western style beds( not tatami mats like most of them in the same price range) The shuttle bus had a stop out front and the friendly staff were there for any questions we had and suggested some great restaurants for us. The bar and lounge was huge and could fit some great gatherings where all the guests hung out and chatted about their adventures, the place was a huge win for us and we’ve already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We spent a week here during the season and the young energetic staff were always eager to help send you in the right direction, they picked us up and provided free transfers ( with prior bookings) and made a mean gin and Tonic. The place was cheap and cheerful and you couldn't really ask for much more for the price, the free morning breakfast was great with good coffee and house baked bread being a highlight, you could upgrade to bacon and eggs for 500 yen which was a great idea. The beds were comfy western style and the whole hotel was toasty warm, the free resort shuttle stopped at the front door as well. Definitely the best place I've stayed at in Hakuba in the last 6 years. I will without a doubt be back there on my next visit to Hakuba and will recomend this lodge to all my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Took a gamble on a new hotel and it paid off, the crew at the Powder Temple went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one, the hotel was an older place but it had nice beds and good heating. The bar and common area was a perfect spot to hang out after a big day on the slopes with views out to the snow covered trees from the couches, a great atmosphere! They made some nice cheap drinks, the cheapest we saw anyways and had a great range. They also cooked nice home style meals at night and for lunch like burgers, hot dogs, nachos, curry, lasagne and every night there was themed meal on special for 1000 yen. The place was in a great location near Echo Land with the bus stop right out front. Our complimentary breakfast was good even though it was continental and the staff would cook up great bacon and eggs if we requested for a small charge, they also put few specialties out along with their house baked bread there was croissants one day and fruit toast another. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The powder temple is originally a japanese hotel that has been bought by aussies, its their first season of being open. What you pay for is what you get, the accommodation is basic and the rooms fairly small. But the linen is clean, the heating works and there is a great communal chill area with a bar.
The breakfast is basic, white bread toast and spreads, yoghurt and cereal with fruit juice, tea and coffee. We were there at the same time as the owners and the dinners were delicious and well priced, although I think the food is more basic when the owners arent around.
There is a bus stop right outside that has free busses that go to happo-one, 47 and goryu and the night bus stops there too.
There is a 7/11 5 minutes walk down the road and echoland (which has many restaurants and more bus stops for resorts like tsugaike) is a 15 minute walk away.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank clare s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews