We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Class Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O Bontemps - CLOSED

O Bontemps
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Top Class Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I save this for special occasions because it is such an experience going there a different way of dining, they ask you if there is anything you don't like eating then the chef works the whole menu around what your favourite food is. Book early in the summer months or you won't get in.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pea1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    32
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

This is a truly exceptional restaurant that I am loathed to recommend as booking a table is already difficult enough.

The cooking is top notch and is delivered by a very professional and friendly team. The room is modern and comfortable. The ingredients are first rate and the food is presented with passion.

The five course menu (which with other freebies) is really ten dishes provides incredible value at only 47 euro’s.

A great evening that I hope to repeat many more times.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pipcosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
185 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

The food is excellent, the staff is enthusiastic. We had a great evening. Make a reservation upfront, because it's a very big restaurant and very popular.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Arnold1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Michelin standards - without the stars (yet)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

"Midi Libre", the Languedoc paper in a supplement of 10th October 2011 identified Olivier Bontemps as a chef of to-day and a star of to-morrow. This accolade was awarded to four outstanding chefs from all the 101 departments of France. A visit to his restaurant in Magalas is a gastronomic experience and a a show which is unsurpassable.

The exterior is unprepossing but is contrasted by a warm and welcoming owner, his wife and team and a tasteful and relaxing interior. O 'k, forget the architecture. We've got the welcome and, (surprise, surprise) been remembered from previous visits!. Now, the essentials. The food. It is sourced locally, if possible (you will be told). It is exquisitely cooked and sensationally presented in detail and in manner (the show part).

If, like us, you choose (and you ought to) one of the "Surprise Menus!" you are in for a delightful evening with not just an amuse bouche, but several extra treats served between courses.

Go, but book early. You will not regret it.

By the way, I was flattered that Olivier Bontemps himself recognised me as a former diner.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Marvellous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

What can I say that probably hasn't already been said about this marvellous restaurant. Not just great food but the 'show' put on by the wonderful Olivier Bontemps ( what a smile!) and his team is a feast for the eyes as the delicious tasting food is brought out with all the pomp and circumstance it deserves.

I wont spoil it by going in to detail, but do as we did, we trusted the chef and we all loved what was presented to us....

Manifique!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mermaid774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Bontemps also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing