We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tranquil Tranquebar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tharangambadi
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquil Tranquebar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Despite the reviews that we had been reading on the net, nothing prepared us for the tranquil setting of the Bungalow on the Beach. It was our first visit to a Neemrana Hotels property and we were quite impressed with the work done on the renovation of the property. The rooms were very well done up and did transport to ages gone by. The location was fantastic with a great view during sunrise and sunset. Given that Tranquebar does not attract too many tourists given the lack of other hotels, it was a serene break from the bustling city life. However, during our stay the swimming pool was under renovation. Also, on the negative side, given the small setup, they did not have much variety of food, especially for the vegetarians and lack of other options to eat in the vicinity was a damp squib. Also, the service was quite limited. I must admit that if you are looking for a hotel stay, this would not be the right place. However, if you are on the lookout for a homestay kind of experience, this would fit the bill.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AswinPalanivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    103
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
75
76
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

My wife & myself had stayed at the Bungalow on the beach, a property owned by Neemrana Group of non-hotel hotels at Tranquebar (Tharangambadi) during April 27-29, 2011...we had booked our room (Princess Louise) at the first floor of the hotel a few weeks ago through the website of Neemrana Group. On reaching the hotel on April 27 evening, we were allotted a different room, Countess Moltke although for the same tariff (Rs.5000/- + tax @12.5%) and also on the first floor...the room interiors were impeccable...about 15 ft. high ceiling with wooden beams, hard wood flooring, solid wood furniture with period look, though not spacious but very functional & clean toilet & the linens, tea/coffee making facility in the room....but no TV, probably that goes well with the place!

The Bungalow on the beach is located smack on the sea, the beach being a few steps away...one can have an uninterrupted view of the sunrise in the sea from the hotel veranda itself. The hotel has a swimming pool (dried up during our stay) and a well maintained garden all around.

Neemrana Group should seriously look into the catering services at Bungalow on the beach...food is something, I could write nothing home about! The diner menu was limited; we tried grilled fish with boiled vegetables (Rs.250/-) served with some bread for dinner on the first day; it was just passable. The breakfast next day was minimalistic - caned juice, cornflakes, bread, butter/jam, eggs, banana, tea/coffee. We tried Indian food for dinner : chicken chettinadu (Rs.250/-) & squid masala (Rs.250/-) both served with plentiful of steam rice...even after requesting them to tone down the spices, the dishes were too hot with generous use of black pepper...thank God, we were not travelling with the kids! Food needs gross improvement here.

On the overall, we would surely like to go back to the hotel...may be for a longer time, may be in little more sober climate for simply lazying on the veranda with a good book...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-travail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

A beautiful spot by an untouched beach. The hotel is exquisitely maintained, with large airy room and period decor. Friendly, courteous and very helpful staff. Food uncharacteristically uninspired for India, but the staff were responsive to suggestions! We understood the area was to be 'developed' and our hearts sank. All this hotel needs is a few new recipes!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myself2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Hey….
I can never forget the stay in Tranquebar on March 12th and 13th 2011.We were a group of 6. We have taken the whole of Nayak house as suggested by the regional coordinator who helped in booking the place. We really had a great stay there. Here I should definitely mention about the food which we had in “The bungalow on beach”. They had wide verities of food stuffs in the menu and each one was it was significant with its own taste. The breakfast was delicious and served with immense care from the chef of the restaurant. We ordered for european breakfast and it was really yummy. From the manager, chef till the house keepers they took intensive care on each of us. I really felt as I was in my grandmom’s home but the difference was Nayak House was big and well maintained. Looking forward for another trip..
Cheers…………….

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deepasekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,359 reviews
273 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,095 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

If the bed in the room was any closer to the ocean, I would have needed my swimming costume! The waves are big, the ocean is strong and the sound is soothing. No wonder, this is one of the place swhere the tsunami had struck a few days back. Now, one can lie in bed or sit on the verandah and enjoy the ocean. But bring your own cushion and your own tablecloth. The ones provided there were filthy, and had not been cleaned perhaps from when the hotel opened! The food is a problem too. There is a daily change ala carte menu, and while there are a couple of non Indian items each day, these are totally Indianized with spices and masalas. And of course so are the Indian items. And there is no choice outside the hotel. It is best not to step into the adjoining Tamilnadu hotel even though it is also managed by Neemrana.

Go for the sea, but bring your own cushions and tablecloth and food.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tharangambadi
36.4 km away
GS Resorts
GS Resorts
#1 of 3 in Nagapattinam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
23.7 km away
Hotel Pams Residency
Hotel Pams Residency
#1 of 1 in Mayiladuthurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
38.2 km away
Clinton Park Inn
Clinton Park Inn
#6 of 8 in Velankanni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
Chandra Royal Inn
Chandra Royal Inn
#5 of 8 in Velankanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.4 km away
Neemrana's Gate House
Neemrana's Gate House
#1 of 1 in Tharangambadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
37.9 km away
MGM Vailankanni Residency
MGM Vailankanni Residency
#1 of 8 in Velankanni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach

Property: Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach
Address: 24 King Street, Tharangambadi 609313, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Tharangambadi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tharangambadi
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,772 - ₹ 8,065
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The restored Bungalow stands as a reminder of a Danish Admiral, Ove Gjedde, sent by the king of Denmark with two ships. They were well received by the Nayak ruler of Tanjore, and given this territory. Then Dansborg, the Fort of Tharangambadi – a solid example of Scandinavian military architecture was established to export pepper to Denmark. The oldest Lutheran church in India was built here in 1706.Today you can drive in through a beautiful gate of the majestic King Street, past Lutheran churches and grand bungalows of the Danish Governors’ and the British Collector’s residence. Re-live marine history; visit the temples of Kumbakonam and Tanjore. The town remains a glorious tribute to architecture from across the world.Tranquebar is reputed to have the thickest ozone layer in India which is ideal for relaxation as it rejuvenates and helps all those who visit prolong their life. Facing full east, The Bungalow on the Beach gives guests their own encounter with the sun and sea breeze. Time becomes irrelevant when you stand facing the sunrise: a 14th century Pandya temple on your left and a 17th century Danish fort to the right.Come taste ‘eternity’ in a stopover! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelGuru and ClearTrip so you can book your Neemrana's Bungalow on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalow On The Beach Hotel Tharangambadi
Hotel On The Beach
Neemrana's Bungalow On The Beach Tharangambadi, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing