We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
11
9
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
9
6
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

I love history - but I lose it when the toilet seat and the bed linen are also steeped in it. Somehow these things take away the charm of the experience. The Gate House is a five minute walk (or fifteen, depending on the pace) from the Bungalow On The Beach, where you have to go to park, check-in, have all your meals and check-out. In the summer, walking this distance can be sheer torture. In a manner of speaking, the Gate House is a country cousin of the Bungalow. The staff were very helpful - but fixing the tap and the health faucet just when you check-in and desperately want to freshen up can be frustrating. My gut tells me that the Bungalow will be a far better experience. Maybe the strategy is to dump overnighters from South India in the outhouse.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank SwarupBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We were intrigued by Tranquebar, and the Bungalow on the Beach hotel - but when I tried to book it was apparently full. We settled for a room in the Gate House instead. Tranquebar is a very strange place . . . full of churches, but little else. We had to walk to and fro from the Gatehouse to the Bungalow for meals etc, which wan't a problem until we walked 'home' after dinner when we were accosted by 2 local (and apparently drunk) young men. We ignored them but their shouts at us were disconcerting. We reported this to the Manager next morning and suggested that the security guard should be available to walk with guests at night. We hadn't bargained for the fact that there is no alcohol at the hotel, or indeed in the village - we spent a rather boring evening at the Bungalow with mediocre food and only water to drink. The Gatehouse was interesting, but our room on the first floor had a very dark bathroom and the sheets on the, very high and hard, bed had holes in. Overall - not very impressed I'm afraid!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

This is the poorer cousin of the Bungalow on the Beach. The house has been lovingly restored by Neemrana and is a lovely place to stay the night.

Keep the below drawbacks in mind though:
(a) This place only has rooms and nothing else - you have to go to the Bungalow on the Beach for everything - Check-in/Check-out, meals, information - everything. It can be a little frustrating when you want something and there is no staff around - especially in the evenings or nights. (That could also be a plus, if you are looking for privacy and don't want to fall over hotel staff)

(b) We stayed in the Chidambaram room which was a two bedroom suite - only one of the rooms had an AC and the bathroom was not ensuite but at the end of the verandah outside the suite. A bit of a pain if you want to use it at night!

(c) It is a small house as compared to the Bungalow and can get a little claustrophobic even though there are common areas. The property is definitely smaller than it looks in pictures.

Room Tip: Chidambaram is the largest room with 2 bedrooms
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bhooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Spent two nights across New year 2017 at the Gatehouse, where our family had taken 3 rooms. The Pluses: Heritage Property; Well restored; Helpful staff (when there - as there is no service after 8 pm) and of course the Tranquebar location. The minuses: Questionable housekeeping/hygiene standards - with dirty bed linen (also torn in one room) and not so proper cleaning of rooms. All meals are in the Bungalow by the Beach which is about 500 meters away - and not so convenient particularly at lunch.

On New Year eve we had to partake of their special dinner (of which we had been informed and billed for earlier). We had informed them in advance that all of us were vegetarian (for sentimental and also allergy reasons). We were shocked to see how poorly the veg and non-veg food was segregated at the buffet. For example the same tongs were used for crabs and paneer (cheese) at the tandoor; Common vessels used for pasta preparation and so on. It appears that the hotel staff and management really did not understand the vegetarian! After I created a scene, the manager and the GM (on the phone) did try to resolve somewhat - but the mood and the appetite (besides the faith in the kitchen) was long gone! A vegetarian's nightmare!

All in all an average experence... not expected of a Neemrana property

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ceebee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

If you have a thing for old heritage house, Gate House is for you. You will feel the ambience as you are in a old but very well maintained South Village home. It has a swimming pool, garden, and well maintained rooms. Staff is really courteous. They will help you in anyway possible.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rrahulrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews