We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
11
9
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
9
6
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I am willing to pay for heritage, even suffer some inconvenience. But I refuse to accept bad hygiene. We stayed in a room with unclean and torn bed linen and less than clean bathrooms. The Gatehouse has no service after 8.00 PM. Only a nice gentleman as watchman. Unfortunately, he only understands Tamil. We were at our wits end trying to communicate with him. I do not know what would happen in a late night emergency.

The rooms are nice. Ours had an outside bath, but this as clearly mentioned when we booked. Overall, not a great experience. We have had better.

Room Tip: Better stay at The Bungalow, The Gatehouse tends to get isolated.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank N j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience with us!

It is disappointing to learn of your experience and we extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We assure you that the matter has been taken up with the housekeeping team, and the issues have been addressed to ensure that they do not recur in future.

We are however pleased that you appreciate the architecture of the 17th century bungalow and we hope that you will give us a chance to overlay your past experience.

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Nice , cozy , beautiful house....makes you travel in time. The vintage furnitures, the high cots with posts, the cane chairs , copper and brass vessels , old photographs, the room that opens in a small indoor pool....just adds to a perfect holiday. Though there is nothing much to see around, the broad lanes and the old Dutch houses , clean air is a blessing , compared to the Crowded city life.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jaggernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about Neemrana’s Gate House heritage hotel, in Tranquebar!

As we at Neemrana, strive to offer an ambience of an era gone by, it is always rewarding to learn of our guest’s experience and to know that they had an enjoyable time. Your compliments about the architecture and the ambience have been conveyed to the members of the restoration team and we are delighted that you got a chance to relax and unwind on the shores of the sea.

We are pleased that you got a chance to explore the town of the singing waves and look forward to welcoming you back for many a memorable stay!

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Gate house is part of the Bungalow on the beach property, only that it is not on the beach. It is a little further (500m) in the same street. There is no room service, so you've to walk to the BoB property for everything.

That said, I found the Gate house to be a serene little property with no noise or disturbance which I noticed in the BoB property. When we were there, though most of the rooms were full, we could run around the common areas at will.

The room was huge with a large 4 poster bed and the balcony overlooking the garden is another attraction. The hall, both at the ground floor and the first, was filled with antique curios which the kids found amusing.

There is a beautiful oonjal in the ground floor and the first floor opens into a terrace. The charm of the place is not just the date of construction but also how well it has been preserved.

The pool in Gate house is small but the kids had it all by themselves when we were there and enjoyed every moment of it.

Probably, if I go again (which I certainly will), I will ask for a room in Gate house.

Room Tip: In gate house, ask for rooms in first floor.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Muthuprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2015

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm feedback about Neemrana’s Gate House in Tranquebar!

Although, unlike The Bungalow on the Beach, the Danish house does not offer a view of the beach, it offers a serene experience unique in itself and it is extremely rewarding to know that you enjoyed the tranquil ambience as well as the services and facilities offered.

Your comments about the preservation have been conveyed to the Chairman and to the restoration team and as members of the service staff look forward to welcoming you back at any of Neemrana’s 27 properties, we hope that you will continue to share your experiences with us!

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The first thing to note is that though it is run by the management as the Bungalow on the Beach (BoB) it is not on the same location and that has some problems.
It is not on the beach...only about 500m inland
You cannot check in here...you have to go to the BoB and get back
You cannot park your car here...park at the BoB
You cannot order any meals here...you have to go to the BoB

But...it is a great facility in terms of its ambience. Really well appointed large rooms. A number of Chettinad artefacts placed all around the place. I must admit that there is a sense of eeriness around the place...there is a well within one of the rooms!...there are old photographs of individuals staring at you in another! Yet, in addition to the high beds and the carved chairs and tables...all this adds to the ambience.

In a line...stay at the BoB proper if possible but it is fully booked do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobYourUncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing to us about your experience at Neemrana’s Gate House, in Tranquebar!

The Gate House is a smaller property as compared to The Bungalow on the Beach but both are located at a stone’s throw away from each other and offer experiences unique to each. While the former offers views of the sea and the Danish Fort, the latter is consistent to its indigenous Tamil architecture. With a pool of its own, the Gate House aims to offer a rejuvenating stay in a cooling ambience.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the décor and the interiors and hope you get a chance to stay with us at both, The Bungalow on the Beach as well as The Gate House on your next visit to Tranquebar!

Warm regards,

Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

The place is so cozy, relaxing , fresh air no pollution, infact a place where u can rejuvenate ur lungs and arteries with nascent O2 +O (O3), staff are very receptive i recommend this place for all age groups for a peaceful holiday

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter" "Corner suites are large and sunny"
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VNR2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Gate House heritage hotel in Tranquebar.

Your appreciation about the hospitality has been conveyed to the team.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews