We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware, heavy reconstruction in progress!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belum Rainforest Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Belum Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gerik
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beware, heavy reconstruction in progress!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

A nice hotel on a beautiful location but with one big downside, the reconstruction works! The resort is extending the capacity and adding more facilities to it but work runs from at least 9 am until 6 pm. If you don't mind the sound of power tools instead of birds singing then this is the place for you! Work should be finished around June 2013. Unfortunate I noticed after check in because there was no mention of it on the various booking sites.
The rooms are well build and look beautiful but could be cleaned better. The beds sleep quite hard and the synthetic sheets and pillows are not very comfortable.
Expect a 35rm per person per day extra for the buffet because there aren't many restaurants nearby. The buffet is oke, but not really "resort" worthy, there is however a ala cart menu but this is one available after 9pm.
The trips in the Belum area are great and you should go out even if you have little time.
If I should stay in the area again I wouldn't book this place but try the nearby Eco resort instead. I think the place will be fantastic after the construction works are finished but that still a long wait.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank NL-RvO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    190
    129
    51
    28
See reviews for
131
199
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

the resort room is good but there is not much thing to do except kayaking and forest trail trekking. the charges for the activities of the resort is pricey. it will be nice to come with a group of friends. We enjoyed our stay here is not because of the resort but because we have fun ourselves with friends. there is not much choice for the food around and it is expensive in the resort cafe. there are many flies in the restaurant at public jetty.

Room Tip: choose the room facing the garden and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gladyscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We decided to try this resort when i was in Gerik. I was disappointed with the choice to stay there. The resort looks quite impressive from the outside but looks can be very deceiving.
We arrived at 2pm and my room was still not ready but the hotel staff didn't offer us a welcome drink while waiting for the room. During our stay, none of the staff even greet us to make we feel welcome.
We like the room design but they lack in the detailing. The pillows & bed are terrible. It's like they bought it from TESCO. We can't sleep well that night due to wooden-like bed and uncomfortable pillows. Even the toiletries are of low quality. The soap are smelly and low quality. They don't even have body wash. They need to have these nice details if they want to called themselves a 'resort'. Even though the shower and bathroom looks nice but the towels are from a low quality & thin material. This is very unacceptable for a 'resort'
The food are really terrible. The taste and selection are unacceptable for a 'resort'. It's more suitable for a 2 star hotels
If you're not going to Royal Belum Forest, there are nothing much to do at the resort. It lacks creativity in term of their hotel management and it's very expansive even to do a simple activity. RM50 per person for a kayak in the lake is way too ridiculous price especially with a bad service form hotel management staff.
Until the 'resort' improves her management, I don't recommend anyone to stay there. If you must, it's just for one night for a transit to Royal Belum Forest. If not, you won't miss a single thing by not staying at the so called 'resort'
For the price that we paid, it was not worth it at all. If they want to charge a 4 or 5 start resort price, they should be prepared to have a 4 or 5 start resort services & amenities

Room Tip: If you must stay there, please choose to stay at Executive Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank acidnburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gerik hotels

Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Travelled from Penang with two other families and kids. We didn't expect much. But our stay turned out to be satisfactory.
Great natural rainforest and clean air. Room condition is good and clean.
Buffet dinner is better than expected.
Breakfast needs improvement.
Service is ok.
Will consider to come again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KP117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
345 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This resort is situated on Pulau Banding, an island in the middle of Temenggor Dam which is surrounded by virgin forest. Driving to this resort from either way(Jeli in Kelantan dan Gerik in Perak) was quite challenging for me for the first time.It was a worthwhile trip and it was enjoyable for my family as it was a new experience... instead of concrete jungle, here one can really enjoy the true jungle.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerik
39.0 km away
Mandarin Betong
Mandarin Betong
#2 of 4 in Betong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
39.3 km away
Betong Merlin Hotel
Betong Merlin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Betong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 km away
Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
Show Prices

Been to Belum Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belum Rainforest Resort

Property: Belum Rainforest Resort
Address: Pulau Banding, Gerik 33200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Hulu Perak District > Gerik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gerik
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,882 - ₹ 7,006
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belum Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belum Rainforest Resort is one of Malaysia's premier ecotourism holiday destinations. Set in the midst of a tropical paradise, Pulau Banding, the Belum Rainforest Resort, is everything nature-lovers and holiday-goers expect in a getaway destination: complete relaxation and serenity, stunning views and surroundings, adventure, and the chance to get close to nature.With the Belum-Temengor Rainforest literally at their doorstep, guests at the resort will have a rare opportunity to experience the soothing beauty and mystery of the vast jungle, which has remained untouched for centuries. Nature lovers will revel at the chance to observe the beauty of plants and scenery that can be found only rarely elsewhere. Meanwhile, thrilling outdoor activities await adventure seekers who crave for adrenaline-pumping experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and Ostrovok so you can book your Belum Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belum Rainforest Hotel Gerik
Belum Rainforest Resort Gerik, Malaysia - Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing