We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even more wonderful than expected”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boathouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maentwrog, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

MaryEvaC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Even more wonderful than expected”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had high hopes for this holiday after reading all of the glowing reviews. This house exceeded every expectation. The beautiful, secluded setting, well equipped and clean quarters, and wealth of local attractions all made for a superb holiday.

This house really is a fantastic deal, and I was so impressed with the kindness and patience of the owner and manager.

On a practical level, I would advise arriving in the daytime, as the entrance is hard to spot off a narrow rural road. There is patchy phone service and the nearest pub is not within walking distance unless you're jolly fit. However none of this diminishes the quality of the stay one bit. There's so much to do in the local area and so much beauty all around, you will never be bored.

Thank you for having us at the boathouse. We hope to come back time and time again!

Date of stay: October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alduxbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favourite places on earth”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had visited the Boathouse twice with friends, both visits have been in crisp, dry Novembers & have been nothing short of idyllic. The house and location are stunning - allowing for long, lingering walks, evenings sat on longs round an open fire and afternoons playing cards or reading books. A true source of calm - and limited phone signal. A lovely pub not too far away as well as a lovely town with various shops, cafés and a large Tesco about a twenty minute drive. The only thing - is be prepared to take some items to ensure you can leave the house clean upon departure.

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
258ledbur...
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House is totally unsuitable for wheelchair access”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I agree with other reviews about the location and tranquility of the Boathouse but rented it on the basis that it had wheel chair access and it does not. I travelled with and elderly terminally ill gentleman who want some peace and quite and to make a final visit to friends in north Wales. The path from the parking area to the house is slate chipings and rough rock and was virtually impossible to push a chair over. Luckily I had brought an electric chair that worked on rough ground.The main door has a high step so I had to use the portable ramps I brought to get the chair in and once inside I had to move heavy furniture around to allow access from the kitchen to the rest of the house. While you can push a wheelchair into the bathroom this is all you can do so the gentleman I look after had to use his zimmer frame to get to the toilet and basin. He had a minor fall in the bathroom on our 2nd night and a more serious fall the next night so we left on the Wednesday as it was not safe to stay. The lack of bedside tables in the downstairs bedrooms meant I had to use dinning chairs to let him have his glasses and a glass of water in reach. There were no instructions for the microwave or cooker and the local contacts did not know how these worked so cooking was problematic. The television had no remote for the digibox so the only way to change channels was to get down on my hands and knees and do it manually on the box itself, inconvenient for me but impossible for my companion. There is also an area of damp in one of the downstairs bedrooms which means there is a musty smell. On the plus side the owner did not quibble over my request for a refund.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
We were very sorry to hear of the problems encountered and immediately issued a refund in line with the guest's request. We would always encourage guests with special needs to contact us in advance to discuss, we will do our best to explain what is available and what is not, and to accommodate requests if we can. Instruction books for appliances have all been left in the drawers of the dresser; bedside tables are available in two of the three bedrooms, though not in the third; the TV digibox is fully working but is of a type that is not supplied with a remote. The small damp spot mentioned was not visible previously, it will be investigated at the end of the season, the house although having an ancient core, was completely rebuilt to modern building standards just 4 years ago and is fundamentally dry, solid and a pleasure to be in.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colpjon
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful solitude with so much to do”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Boathouse is beautifully located in a forest on the edge of a small lake, overlooking the Ffestiniog steam railway. Many scenic walks from the doorstep, yet within easy reach of the coast and the mountains of Snowdonia. House is spacious and very well equipped with quality fittings and utensils. Beds and sofas very comfortable.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: generator noise - soon to be mains powered
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
528claref
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just had a week at The Boathouse. Setting is stunning. Remote, peaceful, beautiful. Magical ancient woodland walks. Superb lakes. Fantastic base for wild swimming, walks, mountain biking, running, seaside fun etc etc... the house was very warm, clean and well stocked with everything you need..except for a garlic press ;).. ( but I left one for future use ). Could do with a few cleaning products.. brush dustpan etc.. so you can do a good job of the tidying up. The midges were a bit of a nuisance but to be expected in that environment ... Will be booking again :)..

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: setting was perfect for us
Liked least: midges
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.