We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, great rooms”
Review of Shimaya Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shimaya Ryokan
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great rooms”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Yumomto's were very friendly and helpful driving us to the snow monkey's and to the train station the next morning. Although it is an older style hote,l the rooms are large and comfortable. Very generous portions for breakfast. My only regret is that we didn't stay for at least 2 nights!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    111
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
115
248
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The building itself is older (I’d guess the 50’s) but well kept, the rooms are typical ryokan rooms with tatami mats and comfortable futon mattresses. Our room on the third floor had an extra sitting area. The bath and shower are a little different but still do their job. Free wifi, the windows open but the HVAC is loud although we had it cranked because it was snowing. Breakfast is 800yen. We made the mistake of thinking it was brought to your room. Its not, its downstairs in the dining room. You have a choice of Western or Japanese breakfasts.

What sets this place apart are Mr and Mrs Yumoto and their staff. Our footwear was inappropriate for the weather so they lent us galoshes. They insisted on driving us and other guests up to the entrance to the snow monkey park. When we were deciding on what to do for dinner, Mr Yumoto helped us decide and then drove us there. He gave us tips on our next destination. Mr Yumoto is one of those rare people who so genuinely loves what he does that it shows in everything he does and affects everyone around him. It is infectious and made our stay absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterbitterpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed 2 night in Shimaya Ryokan ,and felt much satisfied for room , meals (Japanese cuisine )
Mr. Yumoto drove us to Tomi No Yu onsen in falling snow on the evening , It's memorable one , really!
We re' appreciated much and many thanks to Yumoto San and his wife for their helps and hospitality , It's really a wonderful time of our stay at Shimaya Ryokan.
Snow Monkey Park, Tomi No Yu Onsen , Obuse ( sensekeiki tei )......Great!!!...
, really!!
We ll' come back someday , for exploring further in Yudanaka and surroundings

Domo Arigatou Gozaimashita !!!

トニー

インドネシア

Room Tip: In the 4 th floor room,with balcony facing the front street is the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Central
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

One of the best finds in Japan. The Shimaya Ryokan was great value for money. The rooms were clean, large and very comfortable. The best part about our stay there were the hosts, Mr ans Mrs Yumoto. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They drove us everywhere and picked us up as well. You don't get this kind of service from the big, expensive hotels! It was more like a homestay rather than a hotel stay. I would definately come back to the Shimaya Ryokan if in the area again. Thank you for the photos you took with us. Very happy memories.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Qld Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Yumotos were wonderful hosts and made our stay a memorable one. On our first evening Yumoto San drove us to an outdoor Onsen and back where we were able to watch the sunset over the mountains while luxuriating in the baths. This was our first onsen experience and one that we will never forget. He also drove us to see the snow monkeys - again, a wonderful experience even though it was a bit warm for them to swim that day. We walked back through the town. That night we enjoyed the Onsen at the Ryokan (one of the nicest indoor ones we experienced in our three weeks in Japan). We had dinner (two nights) at the ryokan and it was fabulous! So much food and all so tasty. A truly Japanese eating experience which indulged all our senses. Thank you both for a most enjoyable stay. I recommend it to anyone who is not afraid to really explore the Japanese lifestyle.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shiga Palace Hotel
Shiga Palace Hotel
#9 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Ryokan Biyunoyado
#1 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Senshinkan Matsuya
Senshinkan Matsuya
#3 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Yudanaka Seifuso
Yudanaka Seifuso
#4 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Aburaya Tosen
Aburaya Tosen
#7 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
#14 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shimaya Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shimaya Ryokan

Property: Shimaya Ryokan
Address: 3075-I Hirao, Shimotakai-gun, Yamanouchi-machi 381-0401 , Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi > Yudanaka shibu Onsen , Shigakougenhoppo Onsen , Kumanoyu Onsen
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
#3 Best Value Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,644 - ₹ 10,250
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shimaya Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When requested, we provide free 'on-demand' shuttle services to andfrom the Shimaya Ryokan to the Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park and theYudanaka train station. If you have heavy luggage, please notify usin advance so we can help you. We are also happy to offer suggestionsabout local restaurants and attractions.At our hotel, you can enjoy our public Onsen (hot spring bath) filledwith 100% natural hot spring water. On weekdays, our Onsen can bereserved for private use by families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Shimaya Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shimaya Ryokan Hotel Yamanouchi-Machi
Shimaya Ryokan Japan/Yamanouchi-Machi, Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing