We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”
Review of Shiga Kanko Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shiga Kanko Hotel
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Hotel is located near the Hasuike bus station, shuttle bus (takes you to every station and different ski pistes) & the Nagano express bus, and to Giant ski piste. If you wish them to pick you up at Yudanaka train station, call them in advance, don't email them.
The hotel is dated, rooms are alright, clean. We got a big room with a living room with TV, hot water electric kettle and small toilet and bathroom. But they have their own onsen which was alright nothing luxurious looking but clean. The half board we took was the wisest thing we've done. They have a traditional chef cook, and the best traditional meal. The best Japanese rice we have tasted. The service in the restaurant was amazingly good! They spoke enough English to converse about food. The management and reception were so helpful and spoke English. What this hotel lacks in aesthetic is doubled by their services. The bed and pillows were even very good! The wifi connection was very good, managed to call Skype and whatsapp. If we come back, yes!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CharetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2017

I really want to say good things about this hotel because the people are so lovely, but this place is just pretty old and really needs a renovation. Its location is great – you just need to walk a few minutes to reach the Giant ski slope, and you can ski right to the door from the Giant. It’s also only a few minutes’ walk to the post office and ATM, and across the road from a convenience store located in Shiga Lake Hotel.

Now the room – the room and hallways all have that old building smell. And while the room is really big, the bathroom is so small that you can’t shower without touching the walls, and you have to store things on top of the toilet because there is absolutely no bench space. The beds and pillows were comfortable enough.

There’s a free onsen, but like the rest of the hotel, it’s pretty old and uninviting. I came around 3pm when it opens and it was dead empty. The onsen water wasn’t overly warm (for me) and the ceiling dripped, probably from condensation, but it just didn’t feel very relaxing. There’s free wi-fi included and buffet breakfast which seems to change daily, but there are a few regular items – e.g. croquettes (delicious!), miso soup, rice, fruits, egg. Unfortunately most of the food is served cold, e.g. eggs and sausages! We had dinner here a couple of nights and the food was nice enough. The pizza and pasta are pretty small though, so you may need to order an extra dish or eat something before or after.

What I loved most about the hotel were the people. A 90 year old man (perhaps the owner?) grills mochi and serves it with red bean between 4pm and 5pm daily (this is a special service, so may only be during winter months). And the hotel manager (son of the owner) always wished you a safe day as you leave and welcomed you home, and was just generally really helpful and friendly.

So, so, so much potential here!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brown-and-cony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

My partner and I only spent a short time at this hotel and in the Shiga Kogan area however this hotel left an impression.

Okay, so lets get the décor and age of the hotel out of the way first. Its old, and some of the décor is a little worn etc... it all works though!

My partner and I were on a bit of a quick romantic Japan tour - with no kids, we are also from a dry hot place and don't ski. But WHEN we come back, with the kids, to learn to ski... we will be staying here, and this is why.

1) The gentlemen that operate the hotel are amazingly warm and helpful. We expected to only leave our baggage at reception at 10am (too early for check in) however were informed our rooms were ready and there is no issue for early check in. They truly give you the sense of being a guest in their home. They have quiet good English if you need it. Went out of their way to help us with further transport back to Nagano etc, drove us through the snow to the bus stop, fed us an amazing sweet red bean drink after a day of snow frolicking... truly friendly and exceptional service.
2) Whilst the décor was a little old, our room was extremely spacious, and not just by Japanese standards, by anyones. This is refreshing if you have been staying in Tokyo or have plenty of snow clothes etc. (Free Wifi down stairs)

3) Dining, meals were amazing. Quite authentic delicious food, choose a western breakfast if you want, again hospitality is faultless.

4) Pricing was great for a ski resort.

Combining these traits is the catalyst for me wanting to come back with the kids (other families with kids were their and were certainly welcomed.

Thankyou for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pridey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

You may notice that several of these reviews from January 2016 are from the same group. I wanted to add my own review because these guys run an excellent hotel and deserve all the kudos they can get.

Yes, the building is quite old and badly in need of a renovation, but the service was so good I just didn't care. The hotel was built in the late 1950s and while some of the decor is a bit shabby, a lot of it is quite funky and/or quaint. I loved it. We had a huge western room but the Japanese rooms on the top floor seem a bit less worn out, if you like futons.

You need to discount any reviews, especially from foreigners, where the size of the ensuite is criticised. Japanese ensuites are a convenient appliance, nothing more. As such they are almost universally designed to take up as little space as possible. If you need a bath, that's what the onsen is for. The real plus here was that if you just couldn't compact yourself into the tiny toilet there was also the option of a larger toilet on each floor, with heated seat and the usual Star Trek buttons.

This hotel also has a very short walk out to the ski runs (either Giant or Hasuike) and one of the best ski-in runs ever from the top of the Giant lift. Since we were just about the only people staying here the ski in was untouched powder on three days! This followed by the red been sweet drink made every day end well.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank solmanic42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

Shiga Kogen Ski area is our favorite ski area due to its long runs boasting approximately 50(gondolas and lifts). Previously we had tried several hotels around this area but once we stayed at the Shiga Kanko Hotel we knew that this is exactly what we had been looking for.
I will certainly visit here again.
I would strongly recommend this hotel
for
1)Serious skiers(all courses now opened for snow borders)You can literally ski down to this hotel's back entrance and ski drying room, from the Giant ski area.
I met an Australian skier who did about 79Km/Hour !
2)People using Public transport i.e shinkansen and bus as it is about 3-4
minutes walk from the central Hasuike
bus terminal(take free ski shuttle bus from here also)
transportation from Hotel to bus stop may be arranged upon requests.
3)Personalised and friendly excellent services.After the excitements and cold
"oshiruko san" will be waiting to serve you with warm and sweet red bean soup.
By theway the owner who is going to be 90 is so welcoming and friendly that you want to stay around him to listen to nice stories.
4)Families,this hotel is dated however rooms are so spacious by any Japanese standards,the surrounding very quite and calm(may not be best for nightowls as there are no clubs or discos around)
You may choose Japanese or western style rooms.Beddings are changed daily and very clean.
5)Golden route backpackers.
Simply you can hire Ski here spend a night at Shiga Kanko hotel,Morning after breakfast ski take a bus to Snow Monkey park by bus appx 20 minutes.At the
park allow approximately 2hours, take a bus to Yudanaka Station then take express train to Gondo Station visit Zenkouji temple few minutes walk (recommended)
6)Nice meals,food is excellent!
experience Japanese cuisine made by top and experienced chef.
7)Onsen.Please note the small bathtubs
in the rooms,most people in Japan would
rather not take a bath in the rooms but relax at the natural hot spring!Onsen for men and women are changed so day and evening so please note the red noren for women and blue for men(a good chance to study or remember kanji 男=men女=women(general onsen rules,only bring a towel with you)basket provided for your clothes before taking bath.

Please note some information may change by the time you visit the hotel.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shiga Palace Hotel
Shiga Palace Hotel
#10 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
90 reviews
Shiga Highland Hotel
#116 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
12 reviews
Hotel Japan Shiga
#58 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shiga Park Hotel
Shiga Park Hotel
#88 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
41 reviews
Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel
#37 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
206 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Hotel Shiga Sunvalley
Hotel Shiga Sunvalley
#55 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiga Kanko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiga Kanko Hotel

Address: Shiga Kogen, Yamanouchi-machi, Shimotakai-gun 381-0401, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi > Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Onsen Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
Price Range: ₹ 10,196 - ₹ 22,730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shiga Kanko Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiga Kanko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiga Kanko Hotel Japan/Yamanouchi-Machi, Nagano Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing