We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
134
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews katie and jehan the main house cycle ride focal point other guests cold snap travel dates refreshing lemon three nights hot water bottles and blankets big cats luck of the draw flora fauna naturalist guide each morning got lucky evening walk
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We arrived late in the day after a long and delayed train, and were made to feel very welcome from the beginning. There is a great, friendly atmosphere at Shergarh with really nice food, communal area and the tents themselves are also really comfortable.

The safaris we did were incredible and made this the highlight of our whole trip. The guides, Raj and Son Singh, were both really knowledgeable and fantastic and spotting wildlife, we wouldn't have seen a fraction of the things we saw without them pointing it all out! The team also really went out of their way to make the safaris really comfortable as well as exciting which was a new experience for us! Hot water bottles, blankets, coffee, biscuits and a really nice packed breakfast was the perfect accompaniment to tiger spotting!

National Parks/wildlife is generally what we focus our trips around, and we have visited a fair few places like this in the past, and Shergahr is at least one of, if not the best, place we have visited (and without a doubt the highlight of this trip), I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clareandmatt2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We had the best ever stay at Shergarh! The hospitality extended by Katie and Jehan and their team is rare and outstanding and will always be remembered.
The accomadation is supreme and simplistic. We loved sitting outside on the porch of our tent in the darkness of a cold winter morning in complete peace and quiet with just the sounds of the jungle. It is rustic and as close to nature as it can get.
The naturalists were very knowledgable and gave us a rich insight into the wildlife,flora and fauna of the Kanha National park. We enjoyed the village walks, the cycle treks and a school visit in the village.
The food was superb and can be described with many more delicious words so special thanks to the Chef!
A special mention to Neville who took care of every little detail during our stay, thank you for organising us.
We will be back for more!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pkubair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

The Shergarh Tented Camp is set in beautiful surroundings, an old plantation restored to a natural woodland with a dam as a focal point for the lodge. Our eco-tent was amazing with all the amenities one could need, and comes with the occasional visit by langurs outside the tent. The staff were extremely hospitable and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to have an experience we would never forget.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gogston87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

First class! Jehan, Katie, Kai and Ella all made us incredibly welcome. The scenery was beautiful and the food utterly delicious (I miss all those exquisite canapés). The tents are beautifully decorated and everything you need is on hand. The guides are knowledgeable and the park itself is varied landscape and stunning. Very relaxing and insightful trip. Our two boys (12/13) didn't want to leave. It was the most idyllic part of our trip to India which topped it all with a cycle ride through the neighbouring villages on our final afternoon. Evenings by the campfire with all the guests and our hosts were very special indeed! The fact we saw the big cats themselves and lots of other animals and birds made it all the more memorable! Don't miss out and book!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank familyatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Although the tents are not air-conditioned, the evaporator fans provided adequate day relief from the heat and the nights were cool with no need for additional ventilation. The bathroom facilities were fine.

The restaurant was fine located in the main building where Wi-Fi is also available.

Room Tip: Although Wi-Fi is mostly available in the main building, I had the closer tent to it and was able to get Wi-Fi there too.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank EDUARDO H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews