We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is amiss”
Review of Kipling Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kipling Camp
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing is amiss”
Reviewed 27 February 2017

This was my second visit to Kipling Camp and again, my stay was flawless. I love the white cottages dotting the property, the serenity of the camp where only birds sing, the hammocks under the trees, the bath with Tara the elephant in the river, the drinks with the other guests before dinner, the bonfire going on under the veranda... and the extreme kindness and great enthusiasm of the staff.
The plus of this camp is the incredible knowledge of the safari guides and drivers who will take you on the path to the tiger. If you have a chance to get a bird walk with Rahim, get ready to learn a lot and don't forget your binoculars !
And... and... and... what you will get at Kipling Camp and nowhere else is the nice, charming, cozy atmosphere that keeps you up way after dinner.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstrapiDetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    7
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Following Madhya Pradesh Travel Mart that took place between 14-16 Oct 2016, a Fam trip took us to Kanha National Park one of Asias premier wildlife reserves, during the trip, we had the chance to visit Kipling Camp. We were welcomed by Ms. Belinda, the owner of the camp together with Henry and Raghu, snacks and soft drinks offered to us followed by an inspection to the rooms and villas inside the camp. The camp is located inside the jungle, so clean and well preserve, rooms are well decorated, sitting place for reading and relaxing, it is one of the finest wildlife camps in India with attention given to every detail. I was lucky to have a picture with Ms. Belinda together with a friend of Belinda, the Elephant.

Room Tip: All rooms are inside the jungle, your visit will be amazing with the grand hospitality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed at Kipling Camp in 2015 and had the trip of our lives. We loved every single minute of our stay here. The staff were wonderfully welcoming - they could not do enough for us. The first activity was to meet the truly beautiful Tara , following her down to the river for her bath and fun in the water. My two little nephews were with us aged 6 yrs and 4 yrs and they (like us adults) fell in love with gentle Tara. Tara's carer was brilliant too. The boys are still talking about her and make paintings and cards for her. Whenever we left the camp in the jeep,the boys would call out Hello or goodbye to Tara. The Treks in the jungle were magical - our guide was very knowledgable. Food excellent. The staff at the camp were fabulous. We all want to go back. Thank you for a wonderful experience we shall never forget. (March 2015). Diana M

Stayed October 2015, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 21oli12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Positive points: very friendly staff, the location, the beautiful "outside livingroom", the morning bird walk (and safaris) and being able to be that close to a lovely elephant. Negative points: the room was full of mosquitos at arrival (and holes in the mosquito net), the bed was in bad condition, the shower sprinkled water everywhere, and the bathroom was dirty. Living in Delhi since Aug 2014 and having travelled a lot here, I am sadly rather disapointed and find the camp very overpriced (and so is the taxi service they propose, I found safe and much cheaper taxi still with AC on Jabalpur Airport website).

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micmic110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
248 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Spent two nights here and would happily have stayed longer. Nice cottages, not particularly luxurious but functional and comfortable. Good dinner/lounge are to relax in during the afternoon or for pre-dinner drinks (large beer 400 rupees) Staff helpful and prepared to cook meals to suit children or those who do not always want spice. Make sure you have game drives booked in advance otherwise the manager will suggest getting up at 0300 to queue for a ticket! We lhad drives booked and so eft the lodge at 0515 back for 1130 and lunch then out at 1530 for the evening drive, back by 1830. The afternoon we swapped a drive for time with Tara the elephant was superb. The children rode on her back down to the river (about 30mins) and were then able to swim with her in the deeper water before she cam to the shallows to be washed before riding her back.The round trip lasted c. 3 hours, the memories will last forever. Excellent tiger sighting on one of the core area roads. Good wildlife viewing. A nice surprise to find free wifi access, didn't get that at other lodges.

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
28.9 km away
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
#1 of 18 in Kanha National Park
472 reviews
0.0 km away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 18 in Kanha National Park
162 reviews
2.1 km away
Soulacia Hotel & Resort
Soulacia Hotel & Resort
#7 of 18 in Kanha National Park
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
7 Tigers Resort
7 Tigers Resort
#5 of 18 in Kanha National Park
139 reviews
0.0 km away
Tigerwoods Kanha Resort & Spa
Tigerwoods Kanha Resort & Spa
#15 of 18 in Kanha National Park
12 reviews
2.1 km away
Mogli Resort
Mogli Resort
#14 of 18 in Kanha National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipling Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipling Camp

Property: Kipling Camp
Address: | Morcha Village, Kanha National Park 481768, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Kanha National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,216 - ₹ 44,795
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kipling Camp is the perfect destination for those who wish to relax in idyllic surrounds and explore the remote forests and villages of central India. Our comfortable cottages are set in 25 acres of unspoilt jungle. It is one of the finest wildlife camps in India with attention given to every detail. Kipling is also the home of Tara, a much-loved elephant who loves to be bathed and scrubbed in the Banjar River by guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing