We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tara the elephant”
Review of Kipling Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kipling Camp
Ruislip
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tara the elephant”
Reviewed 4 July 2015

We stayed at Kipling Camp during March and almost had the place to ourselves, it was a wonderful experience being on the edge of the Kanha Tiger Reserve this is great for people who enjoy the wonders of nature.
Tara the elephant is resident at the camp and soon becomes your friend allowing you to get in her bathing pool and help wash her down she is a real character and a joy to behold.
The camp its self is excellent, we had a cottage by the waterhole which was wonderful,
just like the `Bloody Mary's' they serve. All the staff were great and could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable, would love to go back.

Room Tip: Waterhole rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuislipLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvandeKlee, Manager at Kipling Camp, responded to this review, 14 February 2016
Thank you for this lovely reviews, sorry for my late response! It was a real pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you soon for another Bloody Mary! Hope to see you soon, and thank you. Ivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    7
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Europe
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2015

A place in the midst of nature, close to the tiger reserve. There was a permanent staff taking care of the excellent cottages, serving delicious food (both continental and Indian), as well as one or two young men which made us feel very welcome and put effort into making our stay a pleasant and successful one (like getting tickets for the reserve). There is also a lot of knowledge of nature and tigers especially, since the owner is involved in protecting tigers in India. There's a pool at the border of the area where deer sometimes come to drink, just outside the terrace of some of the cottages. And a daily hightlight was walking with - or on - the elephant and take a bath in the river, and afterwards giving the her a good scrub. An amazing experience.

  • Stayed January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller69696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvandeKlee, Manager at Kipling Camp, responded to this review, 14 February 2016
Thank you very much indeed for this kind review, it was great having you to stay. We're so glad the staff (who have all been here for 30 years!) lived up to their experience! Hope to see you again soon. Thanks again. Team Kipling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

My family of 4, with kids age 7 and 5, spent the most magical 4-day holiday at Kipling camp last week. The staff has been very helpful from the point of booking via email, and answering my many questions before the trip. We were met on time at Nagpur by the designated car and welcomed to the camp. Everyone was very friendly and helpful--- from Raghu the assistant manager, the volunteers Rob and Kat ( my kids loved them), Amit from the food team, and the elephant caretakers. They all went out of their way each time to make sure we were comfortable. Our cottage was lovely/-- rustic with a British colonial feel. And so peaceful! The early morning safari trips we took were well organised-- wake-up calls from the staff with hot drinks in the room, blankets in the open-top jeep to keep us warm, breakfasts outdoors, and knowledgeable guides and drivers. The definite highlight of the holiday was Tara the elephant. We fell in love with her! We truly enjoyed our walks to the river to swim with her and wash her. The kids loved being sprayed by Tara! It was such a special time. We all felt really sad when we left-- and we still talk about the holiday days after we got back. If you're looking for a 5-star luxury experience , this probably isn't your place. But if you want an authentic and pleasant wilderness experience that is comfortable, this is the right place. It's not perfect but it's indeed wonderful. We won't hesitate to go back again and recommend this place to anyone, esp those with kids. Definitely one of our best family holidays!

Stayed April 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank bcw789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvandeKlee, Manager at Kipling Camp, responded to this review, 14 February 2016
We're so glad your family enjoyed their stay. It is always fun having children here - they appreciate everything even more than the adults! Especially with Tara! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2015

I was nervous about my booking because it was all arranged via email from the US, by myself and not through a travel agent. I was very wrong to be nervous. When I arrived at Jabalpur airport, there was a man waiting for me as promised to drive me to the camp as setup. I was greeted by almost all the staff who introduced themselves, and informed me that my room was upgraded to the suite because it was empty. The facilities were fantastic. Beautiful doesn't do it justice. It is a paradise. The safaris were arranged perfectly, I traveled alone, so I worried also about the booking of those, and they were set up so that I went out with a staff member and a guide for each safari. I did see a Tiger, as well as tons of other wildlife. Just being in the park was worth every penny I paid. The food was hot, delicious and there was plenty of it (I think I gained 10 pounds in the 5 days I stayed there!) Tara was the highlight of the trip. She is the most amazing, gentle, sweet elephant in the world. When the time came to leave, I was almost brought to tears. I would HIGHLY recommend Kipling Camp. I had the time of my life and made memories that I will never forget. I thank everyone there who made it possible, Ivan and Ragu the managers, Rob and Kat the volunteers. From the game drives to bathing Tara, to just sitting around the campfire at night talking, everything was PERFECT!! There were other camps that were cheaper, but I decided to go with Kipling probably because of Tara, and i'm so happy I did, it was worth every penny. I would recommend to anyone who stays there to read the book Travels on my elephant before going, it gives a new meaning to meeting Tara. Thanks again everyone!!

  • Stayed March 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dszwed87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvandeKlee, Manager at Kipling Camp, responded to this review, 14 February 2016
Dan, was such a massive pleasure hosting you, those sloth bears were amazing! Such a great guest to have to stay - we are awaiting your next visit! Hope all is well back in the US. Thanks for this kind review. Ivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2015

It's a camp but it has the comforts of a resort, what more could you ask from a place set on the outskirts of one of the finest forest and game reserves in India.
The layout is wide and open with 2 en suite rooms per cottage spread out between tall tress.
The common sitting and dining area are housed in a high ceiling large structure. This houses the bar as well.
All the buildings are designed and built based on indigenous designs and materials giving the entire property a very comforting, cool and welcoming feel.
Its close to nature and everything blends together seamlessly giving you a feeling that you are living in a dense forest.
It's common for grazing wild life to meander through the property.
There is a large pond which is the regular hang out for the duck family living there.
The staff are very well trained.They work silently and efficiently.
The food is sourced locally so the flavors are big and the meals are very satisfying.
A unique feature is the in-house beauty, Tara. A 50 year old elephant who will steal your heart.
You can pet her, feed her and best of all accompany her to her daily bath, a quick 30 minute walk through the fields to the river. Here you can swim with her and scrub her and feed her treats...you'll never be the same again...!!!
All in all an excellent get away.

  • Stayed January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoDelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvandeKlee, General Manager at Kipling Camp, responded to this review, 25 March 2015
Dear Sir,

It was our absolute pleasure hosting you and your friends! You were a great bunch and we are so glad that you had a good visit and enjoyed spending time in the Camp and down with Tara.

We hope to see you again soon, and thank you for your photos!

All the best

Ivan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
28.9 km away
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
#1 of 18 in Kanha National Park
472 reviews
0.0 km away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 18 in Kanha National Park
162 reviews
2.1 km away
Soulacia Hotel & Resort
Soulacia Hotel & Resort
#7 of 18 in Kanha National Park
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
7 Tigers Resort
7 Tigers Resort
#5 of 18 in Kanha National Park
139 reviews
0.0 km away
Tigerwoods Kanha Resort & Spa
Tigerwoods Kanha Resort & Spa
#15 of 18 in Kanha National Park
12 reviews
2.1 km away
Mogli Resort
Mogli Resort
#13 of 18 in Kanha National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipling Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipling Camp

Property: Kipling Camp
Address: | Morcha Village, Kanha National Park 481768, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Kanha National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,150 - ₹ 44,792
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kipling Camp is the perfect destination for those who wish to relax in idyllic surrounds and explore the remote forests and villages of central India. Our comfortable cottages are set in 25 acres of unspoilt jungle. It is one of the finest wildlife camps in India with attention given to every detail. Kipling is also the home of Tara, a much-loved elephant who loves to be bathed and scrubbed in the Banjar River by guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing