We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas does not get any better than this!”
Review of Kipling Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kipling Camp
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked to spend 5 nights for our family Christmas here. We were meeting up with our son who lives in Australia and flew into Delhi from the uk. We travelled by train and we're met at Jabalpur station. We wanted somewhere with the space to relax together and share an adventure. Kipling camp surpassed all expectations. There are not enough superlatives to express how wonderful our Christmas holiday was here. And we saw 3 tigers on our 4th and last safari! But even if we had not seen a tiger: swimming with Tara the elephant, riding on Tiara, the tribal dancing, film evenings, excellent food, Christmas dinner, afternoon at the village market, and all the excellent conversations around the fires were more than enough to keep us occupied. Indeed Greg has returned to Nepal, postponing his flight back to Aus to 'make a difference' so inspired was he by his night time conversations with Barbara and Anne and the other guests. Charles and his team worked tirelessly to make sure everything was perfect. Thank you Belinda, Anne, Charles, Sam, Tom, all the staff and each and every guest we were privileged to share Christmas with. Christmas 2013 will be remembered forever!
Sandra, Peter, Greg and Hatty x

Room Tip: We stayed in the lovely bungalow by the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 33Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is my fourth stay at Kipling Camp and my first review of it. We stayed for 4 nights and were efficiently picked up and dropped off to Nagpur airport (about 250 kms away). Kipling Camp is rustic and comfortable, the way a jungle camp should be.

The aesthetics and décor are perfect with not one jarring note. The shamiana is a lovely space to take it easy, with a great library and plenty of information on the flora and fauna of Kanha. A special note of appreciation of the Gond art in the shamiana.

Rooms: Our room was very cozy and tastefully made; it was good to have an AC in the middle of April, especially after the safari. Our bed was comfortable, the beds in our friend’s room however, tended to sag a little.

Service and Food: Having visited here in the past, I must say that the food has improved immensely as has the service. The personalized service is refreshing and the staff are extremely polite and helpful.

Safari: The quality of the safari is great as always with the drivers being extremely knowledgeable on the birds and animals. The tracking and spotting skills of Rahim and Rehmat are fabulous.

And then of course there is Tara, sitting by the Banjar at sunset watching her play in the river will make your stay here unforgettable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank notintentonarriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We had won an auction to the Kipling Camp and we drove down straight from Pune until Kanha. Right from the time we reached for a late lunch until the time we departed after 3 stunning nights we were spoilt for choice of good food, great company and a personalised service which one can experience only in a property like Kipling Camp. Each staff member here has been at the property for years and some of them have been right there since there youth and now touching there 60's. This is what makes all the difference between Kipling Camp and other Lodges. Tara their elephant is an added bonus...
We were there in the summers and I would suggest trying to avoid the summers and being there anytime during the winters.
Do experience the stay here....
Regards,
Raahhul

Room Tip: Do stay in their suite....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raahhul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

There were many lovely things about this camp. One of the owners, Belinda Wright, is an ardent conservationist and I always like to support such efforts. This camp reflects basic conservation values of saving water, trying not to negatively impact the environment, etc. The location is a quiet setting in the forest with wildlife around so that was most excellent.

One of the major attractions is the resident elephant, Tara - subject of the book "Travels With My Elephant." I had been looking forward to bathing her in the river, as advertised, as a trip highlight. However I was most disappointed on arrival to learn that one must not have an afternoon safari scheduled in order to participate in this activity. Had I known that I would have planned accordingly, but I did not - I booked through an agent who also was not aware. So do be aware of this and plan accordingly so you can include a visit with Tara in your plans!!

The accommodation here was comfortable, with a clean room, hot water shower, and a nice community/eating area. Free wi-fi available as well for checking in at home.

The food here was not my favorite of the trip. If you are vegetarian let them know in advance, as unlike many other places in India, the assumption here seems to be that you are non-veg. They easily adapted upon my arrival, but I have to say that the food was not as good as I had elsewhere. When they served Indian food it was good, but unfortunately they also had some "English" food which I did not care for at all - mashed potatoes, peas, pasta with a strange vegetable sauce. It's passable to good but I would not rave about it food-wise.

The manager, staff and other guests were all interesting to talk to, friendly and outgoing so it was a pleasant stay. They also have a resident dog, which I always find to be a huge plus when on a long trip! When visiting Kanha I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Kipling Camp is definitely the best jungle camp I've been to. Rustic and basic, it blends perfectly into the jungle of which it is a part. Yet the amenities it offers guests -- hot water bottles, wonderful home cooked food, excellent company provided by the manager Charles, owners Anne and Belinda Wright and of course the lovely menagerie of animals -- Kim, Bhura and Millie and the lovely elephant Tara -- were exceptional. We were a large family group with four kids between ten and fourteen. Tara would sit them on her back and take them to the river to bathe. The children swam with her everyday and it was a task getting them out of the water! Christmas lunch was spectacular, roast turkey cranberry sauce and all the trimmings -- but even the daily meals we had there were great. My daughter said that she'd been all over the world, but Kipling Camp gave her the best holiday of them all!

Room Tip: Don't bother carrying reading material, the Camp has a lovely library! ALso, make sure to book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geetanjali555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
28.9 km away
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
#1 of 18 in Kanha National Park
480 reviews
1.0 km away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 18 in Kanha National Park
162 reviews
0.0 km away
7 Tigers Resort
7 Tigers Resort
#5 of 18 in Kanha National Park
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kanha Jungle Lodge
Kanha Jungle Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kanha National Park
199 reviews
23.9 km away
Singinawa Jungle Lodge
Singinawa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 44 in Kanha National Park
227 reviews
24.4 km away
Banjaar Tola
Banjaar Tola
#3 of 44 in Kanha National Park
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipling Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipling Camp

Address: | Morcha Village, Kanha National Park 481768, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Kanha National Park
Price Range: ₹ 27,146 - ₹ 46,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kipling Camp is the perfect destination for those who wish to relax in idyllic surrounds and explore the remote forests and villages of central India. Our comfortable cottages are set in 25 acres of unspoilt jungle. It is one of the finest wildlife camps in India with attention given to every detail. Kipling is also the home of Tara, a much-loved elephant who loves to be bathed and scrubbed in the Banjar River by guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing