We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can - don't think twice - check in straight away.”
Review of Kipling Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanha National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kipling Camp
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The Kipling staff made us so welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. It's right at the main entrance to Kanha and the rooms are set in their own part of the jungle. Tara, the resident elephant, is a star and bathing her is a lot of fun. The guys that work here are just fabulous, with great humour and they know amazing amounts about the animals and birds in the park (they're also terrific photographers).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevieCofKX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

we spent four nights here, after a hectic week in Delhi, and it was welcome respite! we had booked 7 safari trips into the park, and were assigned a naturalist and driver to take us in to the park every morning and afternoon of our stay. they were extremely knowledgeable and the naturalist's english was excellent so there was no language barrier.
the camp itself is set back from the road, so you feel very secluded even though there were many other resorts all around us. our room was very well decked out, and was cleaned daily by the house staff. we had booked
food in the camp was excellent. indian food is served at lunch, and western food is served at dinner, so that you don't get curry overload. you get a picnic breakfast prepared for your morning safari, and are given both indian and western options. one thing i wasn't prepared for was evaporated milk in my breakfast tea, which took a bit of getting used to, but didn't blemish the experience at all.
the staff are all friendly, polite, dedicated, and above all, aim to please. Tara the elephant also enjoyed our company, especially when we fed her Jaggery. she is well cared for, and enjoys plenty of freedom.

Room Tip: when booking, we opted for the mid range tariff, our room was excellent, and had two bathrooms so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyerobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was our last stop on a very hectic 10 day tour of India and our favourite! The camp is set in a peaceful location and you instantly feel relaxed. The bungalows that you stay in are dotted around the camp and very comfy, but not luxurious (but this is a camp in the middle of nowhere!). As it is a malaria area, the camp provides anti mozzie plug ins, creams, mozzy nets etc - very thoughtful. This camp has a very 'British Colonial' feel - in a shabby chic way. Food is served at set sittings and you eat together. Indian food in the day and european in the evening. All home made and very good. The camp has it's own jeeps and naturalists / Guides that come into the park with you. The two who were there whilst we stayed were fab. On early morning safaris your every need is thought of, blankets, packed breakfast, tea, coffee etc.

My two regrets are that we didn't get to bathe the beautiful Tara as we arrived too late, and we only had three nights here in this very special place. I truely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandTBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Kipling Camp is a place where I wish to re-visit. The people running it were so helpful and friendly. We were the only group staying there and we felt we were treated like royalty. The food was excellent and nothing was ever too much trouble.Bathing the resident elephant, Tara, was a real treat. Being right in the middle of the forest we were treated to visits from monkeys, spotted deer and wonderful birds. The bedrooms were really comfortable too

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

It was 16 years since we last visited Kipling Camp. Whilst the surrounding area has grown considerably with many more hotels and jeeps in the Wildlife Park, Kipling retains it's rustic charm and ambiance. The rooms are now great, camp staff very helpful and informative, and of course they still have Tara the wonderful elephant. The Naturalists who accompany you on safari are extremely knowledgeable and helped us see 8 tigers in four days - absolutely brilliant!. Game drives are long but beware - we travelled in late February and the early mornings were bitterly cold. If you want a pool and all the trimmings, go elsewhere. If you want a wildlife holiday as it should be, go to Kipling Camp.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventurerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
28.9 km away
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
#1 of 18 in Kanha National Park
480 reviews
1.0 km away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 18 in Kanha National Park
162 reviews
0.0 km away
7 Tigers Resort
7 Tigers Resort
#5 of 18 in Kanha National Park
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kanha Jungle Lodge
Kanha Jungle Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kanha National Park
199 reviews
23.9 km away
Singinawa Jungle Lodge
Singinawa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 44 in Kanha National Park
228 reviews
24.4 km away
Banjaar Tola
Banjaar Tola
#3 of 44 in Kanha National Park
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipling Camp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipling Camp

Address: | Morcha Village, Kanha National Park 481768, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Kanha National Park
Price Range: ₹ 27,226 - ₹ 46,636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kipling Camp is the perfect destination for those who wish to relax in idyllic surrounds and explore the remote forests and villages of central India. Our comfortable cottages are set in 25 acres of unspoilt jungle. It is one of the finest wildlife camps in India with attention given to every detail. Kipling is also the home of Tara, a much-loved elephant who loves to be bathed and scrubbed in the Banjar River by guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing