We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
54
7
1
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
7
1
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresident elephantlast foreverstar of the showvery special placejabalpur airportgame drivesbirds and animalsspent four nightsearly morningmagical experiencebefore dinnerpacked breakfasttaravolunteersbathdelhiarchie
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2011

we spent four nights here, after a hectic week in Delhi, and it was welcome respite! we had booked 7 safari trips into the park, and were assigned a naturalist and driver to take us in to the park every morning and afternoon of our stay. they were extremely knowledgeable and the naturalist's english was excellent so there was no language barrier.
the camp itself is set back from the road, so you feel very secluded even though there were many other resorts all around us. our room was very well decked out, and was cleaned daily by the house staff. we had booked
food in the camp was excellent. indian food is served at lunch, and western food is served at dinner, so that you don't get curry overload. you get a picnic breakfast prepared for your morning safari, and are given both indian and western options. one thing i wasn't prepared for was evaporated milk in my breakfast tea, which took a bit of getting used to, but didn't blemish the experience at all.
the staff are all friendly, polite, dedicated, and above all, aim to please. Tara the elephant also enjoyed our company, especially when we fed her Jaggery. she is well cared for, and enjoys plenty of freedom.

Room Tip: when booking, we opted for the mid range tariff, our room was excellent, and had two bathrooms so we didn't even have to share! making a reservation early in the season will also help to get you the best rooms, as there are fewer people around. we booked our stay in the last week of november.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyerobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was our last stop on a very hectic 10 day tour of India and our favourite! The camp is set in a peaceful location and you instantly feel relaxed. The bungalows that you stay in are dotted around the camp and very comfy, but not luxurious (but this is a camp in the middle of nowhere!). As it is a malaria area, the camp provides anti mozzie plug ins, creams, mozzy nets etc - very thoughtful. This camp has a very 'British Colonial' feel - in a shabby chic way. Food is served at set sittings and you eat together. Indian food in the day and european in the evening. All home made and very good. The camp has it's own jeeps and naturalists / Guides that come into the park with you. The two who were there whilst we stayed were fab. On early morning safaris your every need is thought of, blankets, packed breakfast, tea, coffee etc.

My two regrets are that we didn't get to bathe the beautiful Tara as we arrived too late, and we only had three nights here in this very special place. I truely hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandTBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Kipling Camp is a place where I wish to re-visit. The people running it were so helpful and friendly. We were the only group staying there and we felt we were treated like royalty. The food was excellent and nothing was ever too much trouble.Bathing the resident elephant, Tara, was a real treat. Being right in the middle of the forest we were treated to visits from monkeys, spotted deer and wonderful birds. The bedrooms were really comfortable too

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

It was 16 years since we last visited Kipling Camp. Whilst the surrounding area has grown considerably with many more hotels and jeeps in the Wildlife Park, Kipling retains it's rustic charm and ambiance. The rooms are now great, camp staff very helpful and informative, and of course they still have Tara the wonderful elephant. The Naturalists who accompany you on safari are extremely knowledgeable and helped us see 8 tigers in four days - absolutely brilliant!. Game drives are long but beware - we travelled in late February and the early mornings were bitterly cold. If you want a pool and all the trimmings, go elsewhere. If you want a wildlife holiday as it should be, go to Kipling Camp.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventurerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

It took two 16 hour train rides for us to reach Kipling camp and it was really worth it. The people at Kipling gave us a fabulous four days. From the moment their driver met us at the door of our train (how did he know which coach we were on?) to our being allowed to feed a last breakfast roti to Tara the elephant before we left, we were treated as if we were the dearest friends of madly generous hosts who couldn't be there themselves.
We had a lovely, comfortable and spacious room and very good food. And every evening we were treated to well organised and informative entertainment.
Delightful details: Going into Kanha park for an early morning view of the wildlife, rugs and hot water bottles waiting for us in the jeep. An exceptionally knowledgeable naturalist with us in the park and at meals before and after. Taking Tara the elephant for a walk and swimming with her. Seeing a tiger from elephant back.
As good as it gets. And I concur with the review of 6 April 2010.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quentar_people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews