We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Holiday here but...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Khamkirri

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Marloth Park, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
BobChaldo...
Chaldon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Holiday here but...”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week and enjoyed it immensely. Well-equipped and comfortable place to stay. The local guys were very helpful with any minor problem. Everything they said about the wildlife, including the visiting Bushbabies is correct.
The accommodation is split into 2, the main house with the kitchen etc. is enormous and has a downstairs bedroom which is very comfortable. The upstairs room is immediately above, separated by a simple wooden floor so not much privacy here. The annex has two rooms separated by a wall which doesn’t go all the way to the ceiling. I think this is normal practice for this type of structure but again little privacy.
Would I go back? Yes it was a great place to stay but I would want to choose my next door neighbors carefully.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Drieske
belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful, lovely decorated and luxurious house in an adventurous setting.”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first stay at Khamkirri and the villa really exceeded our expectations! The house is clean, beautifully decorated with all the luxuries you need. The welcome bottle of wine and water was much appreciated after the long drive from Johannesburg. Big, big kitchen where you can prepare delicious meals. It has tastefully decorated bedrooms and bathrooms. Outside there is a very comfortable bbq area. From the cosy veranda you can see the sun set in the evening. A truly romantic setting. Braaing with your family by candle light whilst you hear the lions roar, the hippo's snort and you see the bush babies jump from tree to tree... Animals visit the vast garden during the day and night. We had visits from warthogs, kudu, impala, bush babies, banded mongoose, guinea fowl, birds...Kruger Park is very close within a 20 minutes drive. We would recommend Khamkirri to everyone. Will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milou L
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury in the middle of wild life”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

At the end of May/beginning of June I stayed in Khamkirri for 1,5 week. I had an absolutely amazing holiday there! The house includes literally everything you can think of from several luxurious rooms with each a private bathroom to a fully equipped kitchen (there is literally nothing I can name that wasn’t there).

The most amazing thing I experienced around the house were the animals that came really close. One day we were just sitting around the veranda, when a giraffe came passing by at a distance of 20 meters from the house, that was incredible! We have seen zebra’s, monkeys, birds and many more animals around the house. At night you can literally hear the lions and rhinos at the riverside of the Kruger Park making noise.

Besides enjoying yourself watching many animals while simply sitting at the veranda, there are literally a thousand things to do in the area ranging from the Panorama route to a visit to the chimpanzee centre, from visiting the Kruger park during day time with your own car to going to the supermarket which is an experience by itself and from a visit to Swaziland to a sunset safari in the Kruger park. These are only a few examples of activities in the area.

I have travelled quiet a lot already, but I have never ever experienced nature as close in such a luxurious house as I did in Khamkhirri, I can definitely recommend a visit to this beautiful house and surroundings in South Africa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esmee2607
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I've spended 8 days at the great Khamkirri house. I would recommend it to everyone who is planning to have a trip to South-Africa to visit the Kruger Park. You can easily reach the Kruger Park (about 20 minutes by car), and even see the Crocodile River by walking 100 meters or sitting on the balcony (in the winter when the leaves have fallen down). I spended most of the mornings there, listening to the sound of the African Wildlife (which is even better in the evening by the way, you can hear the lions roar sitting on the veranda with a glass of wine).

Me and my sister stayed at the 'little' house, the cottage. It was great, we both had our own room with bathroom so we could have our own space.

And the thing I liked the most was that there were animals crossing the garden (zebra's, giraffes, impala's, Kudu's and so on). I have seen them all. I loved this experience, the environment is great, there's lots of stuff to do and I the house was just perfect for this vacation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing