We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hospitality; surroundings and Decadent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Kruger Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Kruger Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Awesome Hospitality; surroundings and Decadent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

As a family with a fussy eater; we had such a lovely time at Grand Kruger Lodge.
Everyone was catered for. Dinner times were like a special occasion. And the kids had a ball braaing marshmellows round the fireplace.
The pre dinner socializing and hospitality around the fire pit was something you don't get often. You feel like part of a family.
Our little boy absolutely loved the food; and has never eaten that well in ages. He even devoured the soups every night....
The staff are absolutely fabulous catering for our everyone's needs and making us feel so at home and reaxed.
Thank you Grand Kruger Lodge.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    66
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
87
85
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Lincoln, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

I travel all over the world and must say, that our say at the lodge was the very best experience we have ever had in our travels. Upon arrival you are greeted by the wonderful, professional and friendly staff where you are taken to you room. The rooms are very well kept, very clean and very well looked after. ( I must say.........the beds are really comfortable) And especially after a day out on Safari, the cool waters of the pool are very inviting, the delicious food that is served(Loved the traditional South African dishes especially) and at the end of the day, just sit back and have a yummy drink served to you by the wonderful Doctor. I can not say enough about our fantastic stay at The Grand Kruger Lodge, but this was a truly wonderful holiday for us and we cant wait to go back again. EVERYTHING about our stay was great, the staff did all they could for us and definately made us feel like family. This was my most favourite memory........ sitting around the camp fire, listening to the African animals calling out to each other at night,,,,,,,, and the moon seemed like you could just reach out and touch it. We definately can not wait to go back and visit for our next holiday. A great big thankyou to the wonderful Leon, Doctor and all the staff for making our holiday truly memorable. x Lea Jelinek, South Australia.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaJelinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

After a lot of searching for a mid-range safari lodge near or inside Kruger, my friends and I chose Grand Kruger Lodge. We stayed in a cottage that was nicely decorated and had comfy beds. The downstairs had a double bed and the upstairs had two single beds, with a nice porch and seating area outside. One downside was that the upstairs bathroom only had a tub, so four of us had to share the downstairs shower. The water access was inconsistent, and the shower alternated from burning hot to freezing cold. When I first turned on the tap, water exploded all over me.

The safari they arranged was nice, but at R650 (approx $100) it was WAY overpriced compared to a better safari in Pilanesberg where I saw more animals and even a lion kill a zebra. It was only a 2 hour drive from Pretoria compared to 6 hours to Kruger. The lunch they provide was pretty bad so we got something at a restaurant we stopped at mid-way through the Safari.

The one major downside was the food. It just wasn't very good at all and there were very limited options. The sides tasted like they'd been sitting out all day long. One night they did a seafood gumbo that was just disgusting. The mussels and shrimps tasted like fish-flavored cornbread gone horribly bad. The coffee was absolutely atrocious- I had to add Nescafe just to get it to the state of coffee-flavored water. The OJ was the cheapest concentrate kind, and the fruit salad at dessert was totally canned.

The service was good (especially Doctor who was very kind and helpful) and the lodge itself is cute. A small nice pool and fire pit in the dining area. Overall I'd suggest camping in a bush lodge instead. There are so many that just aren't listed online unfortunately.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jb2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
We at Grand Kruger Lodge are shocked at your comments posted on the trip adviser that you did not enjoy your stay. It is our Motto to make your stay with us one of the best holiday you have experienced.

On our website it clearly states that our Bush camps chalet sleep 4 with a bath on the 1st floor and shower on the ground floor. Also when you booked this was pointed out to you, so you were aware what you had booked.

Regarding the water situation, you never inform the manger on duty so that we could investigate the problem.

The safari in Kruger: you can not compare Kruger Park to Pilansberg as Kruger Park is 20000 q2 km bigger than Pilansberg you were lucky to find a Lion on a Kill. You were quoted on over 8hrs drive safari at discounted rates and you accepted, why complain about the price. We do not serve lunch on our game drive but we did provide you a breakfast boxes containing a sandwich, snacks, cocktail fruits juice, water, yoghurt, cheese and fresh fruits.

Regarding the food! You will be the first clients that complain about poor food the “Gumbo” you refer to is called Paella. If you were not satisfied, all you needed to do was speak to the manger on duty and we could have resolved the matter. Our coffee is freshly ground beans and do not understand your complaint.

We have done a research on all comments you have posted on trip adviser and it seems that you have had a problem with the entire establishment during your trip. Refer to Golden Leopard Manyane in Pilnsberg Park visited at 08 Jan 2011 and Sweet Ocean View guesthouse visited April 2011.

We thank you for your comments about Doctor I would suggest if you do have a problem at an establishment you just report it to the manger on duty and the establishment will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

Very nice lodge with individual chalets that were cleaned at least (!) once a day. Service and staff in general were excellent,
food was also great and plenty. Grand Kruger Lodge is located outside of Kruger National Park but WITHIN Marloth Park. Since the nearest
gate into Kruger Park Crocodile Bridge was inaccessible at that time due to flooding, we had to get to Malelane gate which is about 3o minutes drive from GKL.
We did not really mind since we had quite a few animals already literally at our front porch when two Warthogs and on another day a bunch of
apes passed right by us when sitting outside in our chairs. That's why you will be escorted to your room/chalet by a security guard after dark, just in case.

In order to see Lions, Leopards, Elefants.. The Big Five you have to go to Kruger National Park which we did by booking 3 game drives at GKL
(start at 5:00 in the morning!). The very knowledgeable and professional ranger told us everything there is to know about the local wildlive.
We stayed 3 nights at GKL and felt very comfortable and save. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tibulski77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

My new husband and I stayed at GKL for 5 days earlier this month and everything about it was top notch. The food was absolutely incredible- delicious soups, salads, main dishes and desserts every night. A good selection of wines, beers and other drinks. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Arnoux was a fantastic guide for one of our 8 hour game drives- he was full of information while also respecting the park and the animals at the same time.

We stayed in a bush chalet and it was spotless every day when we came back. The beds were comfortable, the showers were hot, and the chalet was spacious.

I would HIGHLY recommend this lodge to anyone wanting to go to Kruger National Park. The lodge is not located in the park, however, with the absolutely delicious food and the ability to see animals on the drive to Crocodile Bridge Gate (about 20 minutes or so) because the lodge is in Marlmoth Park, we didn't mind the drive.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spainerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
0.9 km away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#4 of 30 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.7 km away
Royal Kruger Lodge
Royal Kruger Lodge
#5 of 30 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 km away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#3 of 30 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 30 in Marloth Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
10.8 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
4.8 km away
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge
#13 of 30 in Marloth Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kruger Lodge

Property: Grand Kruger Lodge
Address: Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Marloth Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,306 - ₹ 14,388
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its African atmosphere, Grand Kruger Lodge is the perfect base from which to experience the pride of South Africa's conservation efforts. Superb accommodation, exquisite cuisine and game viewing in southern Kruger National Park. Our hospitality teams have been chosen for their attention to finer detail, thereby providing the luxury of personalized service to you throughout your stay. Grand Kruger Lodge is also the ideal location for conferences and weddings that will provide a memorable day to be cherished. Our recently completed Spa gives an additional service to our guests to relax their body after the game drives.Game drives in open vehicles with qualified game rangers provide guests with thrilling opportunities to view the 'Big Five' as well as a myriad of other flora and fauna in the Kruger National Park, which is a short and easy drive away. Bush walks with knowledgeable rangers will give guests a chance to see game 'up close and personal' or take pleasure in a night drive to hear and spot the elusive nocturnal animals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kruger Hotel Marloth Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing