We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Best Western” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best Best Western”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

If you fancy a few days in Clermont Ferrand (and I can't imagine why anyone would want to do this) then stay at the Best Western. Not because it's central, because it's miles from anywhere, as far as I can tell. Not because the breakfasts are amazing either, because they're not, they're pretty average. Not for the use of the amazing wifi connection, as it's a bit flaky. Stay there for two reasons. Firstly, because the rooms are great. I've stayed in hotels of this rating all over Europe and this one wins hands down. The shower is a particular treat, as it as it doesn't follow the hotel traditions of being impossible to set it to the required temperature or spraying the entire bathroom with water as soon as you turn it on. I'm guessing it's new or refurbished, but either way it's really very pleasant to be in. Not just the shower, I mean the room too. The second reason to stay here is the view. Being, as it is, in the middle of nowhere, it's surrounded by green. Fields and trees kind of green that is, not green walls. The view is beautiful, and the dinky goldfish pond outside the restaurant is a nice touch too. 

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukicat5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    155
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
58
119
11
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Found it on Trip Advisor and thought we would try it for ourselves. Very comfortable and quiet. Perfect as right next to the A75 motorway. Newly renovated rooms- good night sleep. Great food at night - only negative, after such good food at night disappointing breakfast- advice on this one- get off early and find a service station.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyBaker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Stayed her for 2 nights during a business trip. Arrived on a Sunday evening and unfortunately could not get any food anymore. That's why I gave a bit less in service. Otherwise rooms where great and clean, and alo the breakfast and dinner I had where well catered for. A great tetras with a magnificent view on the Gergovie plateau, where Vercintorix concquered Julius Cesar ... Guess that counts as a view ...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MobileJarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

We did have trouble locating the hotel as in the Best Western website had the completely wrong location on the map however we found it on Google maps prior to travelling so be careful there. The hotel itself is in a good location in that we wanted somewhere quiet and away from a town centre as it was an overnighter. There is a lovely outside terrace with a fountain trickling away which gives a sense of tranquility. The room was lovely and the bathroom was amazing with a wonderful walk in shower. Its clearly a very new hotel, the only downside was it was extremely hot when we stayed probably around 32oc and the air conditioning just didnt seem to get the room cool enough. The food in the restaurant for dinner was lovely and quite unexpected, they served a lovely set dinner with a buffet starter which was delightful. I will agree with another review regarding breakfast, very poor for the money. a bit of ham and cheese, bread and some tiny pastries, i also took an egg thinking it had been cooked and it was raw! on the whole though a lovely hotel though and would definitely stay again if I was in the area and needed a bed for the night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJR21Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Very comfortable room- not very large but well designed to maximise available space, modern without being too trendy. Wonderfully comfortable mattresses, plus for this class of hotel an exceptionally spacious bathroom. Also very nice free 'smellies' in the bathroom (so nice I took the little bottles and leftover soap away with me!). Air conditioning worked well, and there was a pleasant tiny terrace outside (but you have to take the room chairs out if you want to sit outside).
Easy to get to. When coming from the North it's just off the slipway from the motorway, with an almost immediate turning to left. High up on the hill with pleasant if unspectacular views. Good secure parking. But there isn't much else in the immediate vicinity. Landscaping rather newish and a bit unkempt in parts - could do with some weeding and trimming of the bushes. But this didn't bother us too much because we were there for just one night and we liked the comfort of the room and the easy atmosphere of the hotel. It was a very nice stay.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank celestina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perignat-les-Sarlieve
2.3 km away
B&B Hotel CLERMONT-FERRAND Sud Aubiere
2.6 km away
P'tit Dej-Hotel Clermont-Ferrand
2.5 km away
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Sud - Aubiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Novotel Clermont-Ferrand
Novotel Clermont-Ferrand
#5 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
6.8 km away
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre Jaude
Mercure Clermont Ferrand Centre ...
#1 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
7.0 km away
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Centre
Campanile Clermont Ferrand Centr...
#2 of 61 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie
Address: 25 allee du petit Puy, 63170 Perignat-les-Sarlieve, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Perignat-les-Sarlieve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Perignat-les-Sarlieve
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,559 - ₹ 7,743
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and quiet in the heart of the AuvergneOpened in summer 2007, the Best Western Hotel Gergovie welcomes you in a warm and restful atmosphere. Everything here has been designed to ensure that your stay is a success, whether you are travelling on business or on holiday.At the foot of the Gergovie Plateau, scene of the famous battle in which Vercingétorix defeated Julius Caesar in 52 BC, you can discover the most beautiful sites in the Massif Central. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Gergovie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
pérignat-lès-Sarliève Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing