We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic Hotel and overly priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Meitonomori Hotel Kitafukuro
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

The room is quite small for family of 4 and not much space to move around with luggage. However, it is a good experience for family to try the tatami mat. The Onsen is normal, nothing fantastic. The Hotel is old and aged.
Free parking.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank ssmng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

While the hotel is a little old, it is very well maintained and the rooms are very clean. The hot spring bath may not be very big but the 2 pools available in the Men's bath provided a good soak. The highlight of our stay was tbe extremely friendly lady at tge reception desk. She greeted us enthusiastically and even used mutiple phrases in both Cantonese and Mandarin to make us feel welcome, which showed her dedication in providing excellent service in the Japanese way. Everytime we walked past the reception, she never failed to greet us with a smile. She even initiated an offer to help us to take a group photo. When we need to make a reservation at a nearby restaurant, she also helped us with a smile. She displayed Japanese hospitality at its best which we did not experience at the other two 5-star onsen ryokans on our trip. It was a shame I did not ask for her name to compliment her by name.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank regleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Day trip onsen cost 600yen per person. Indoor and outdoor onsen available. Like most onsen resort in Japan, shampoo and body wash are provided. Disposable combs are available too. Day-trippers are required to bring their own towels though

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank jiaaqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel and were shown to a bright, spacious Japanese style room with mats on the floor. Since we had already done the ryokan bit and my wife was still stiff from an earlier fall, we asked to be switched to a western style room. That was done instantly with graciousness. We were given a western style room with real beds that was one third the size of the Japanese room. We had to move our luggage each time we wanted to reach the window or mini fridge. The beds were comfortable.
The bathroom was small but very functional. The hot water comes from hot springs and is hot enough to boil eggs. You have to be very careful when setting the water temperature for a shower. Note I said shower as anyone over 4 feet tall would not be able to use the tub comfortably.
The room was, of course , spotless and very well lit.
Breakfast was a surprise--the worst we had in Japan. There were no western style food available, not even corn flakes, granola, or cooked eggs. The croissants ( which have been superb elsewhere throughout Japan), seemed stale and the rolls were dense and tasteless.
Front desk service was impeccable.
Nevertheless this might still be the best available in Kawayu Onsen, but if you are thinking of going there ( and the scenery makes it very attractive to do so), it would pay to check on other options.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bobelaine20854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

This hotel had one of the nicest onsens I experienced during my two months in Japan. The staff will pick you up from the Kawayu-Onsen JR station if you call ahead. No one speaks any English, though, so it's helpful to know Japanese or have someone call for you (I did). The restaurant serves Hokkaido crab and other local fare, and the breakfast buffet was very impressive. There is also a large common area with couches and a TV on the first floor, as well as a gift/convenience shop in the hotel. It is just 2km from Lake Kussharo and right in downtown Kawayu Onsen. Great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BenandKaren0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Teshikaga-cho hotels
Kussharo Prince Hotel
#1 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
235 reviews
Pure Field Kazeyoubi
#10 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
8 reviews
Kawayu Onsen
Kinkiyu Hotel
Kinkiyu Hotel
#2 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kawayu Onsen
Kawayu Kanko Hotel
Kawayu Kanko Hotel
#3 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
120 reviews
Kawayu Onsen
Kawayu Daiichi Hotel Suikazura
Kawayu Daiichi Hotel Suikazura
#9 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
64 reviews
Kawayu Onsen
Hotel Parkway
Hotel Parkway
#7 of 27 in Teshikaga-cho
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meitonomori Hotel Kitafukuro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meitonomori Hotel Kitafukuro

Address: 1-9-15 Kawayuonsen, Teshikaga-cho, Kawakami-gun 088-3465, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Kawakami-gun > Teshikaga-cho > Kawayu Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels / Ryokan in Teshikaga-cho
Price Range: ₹ 3,388 - ₹ 10,294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meitonomori Hotel Kitafukuro 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Meitonomori Hotel Kitafukuro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meitonomori Hotel Teshikaga Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing