We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
14
44
42
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
44
42
15
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

While the hotel is a little old, it is very well maintained and the rooms are very clean. The hot spring bath may not be very big but the 2 pools available in the Men's bath provided a good soak. The highlight of our stay was tbe extremely friendly lady at tge reception desk. She greeted us enthusiastically and even used mutiple phrases in both Cantonese and Mandarin to make us feel welcome, which showed her dedication in providing excellent service in the Japanese way. Everytime we walked past the reception, she never failed to greet us with a smile. She even initiated an offer to help us to take a group photo. When we need to make a reservation at a nearby restaurant, she also helped us with a smile. She displayed Japanese hospitality at its best which we did not experience at the other two 5-star onsen ryokans on our trip. It was a shame I did not ask for her name to compliment her by name.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank regleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Day trip onsen cost 600yen per person. Indoor and outdoor onsen available. Like most onsen resort in Japan, shampoo and body wash are provided. Disposable combs are available too. Day-trippers are required to bring their own towels though

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank jiaaqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel and were shown to a bright, spacious Japanese style room with mats on the floor. Since we had already done the ryokan bit and my wife was still stiff from an earlier fall, we asked to be switched to a western style room. That was done instantly with graciousness. We were given a western style room with real beds that was one third the size of the Japanese room. We had to move our luggage each time we wanted to reach the window or mini fridge. The beds were comfortable.
The bathroom was small but very functional. The hot water comes from hot springs and is hot enough to boil eggs. You have to be very careful when setting the water temperature for a shower. Note I said shower as anyone over 4 feet tall would not be able to use the tub comfortably.
The room was, of course , spotless and very well lit.
Breakfast was a surprise--the worst we had in Japan. There were no western style food available, not even corn flakes, granola, or cooked eggs. The croissants ( which have been superb elsewhere throughout Japan), seemed stale and the rolls were dense and tasteless.
Front desk service was impeccable.
Nevertheless this might still be the best available in Kawayu Onsen, but if you are thinking of going there ( and the scenery makes it very attractive to do so), it would pay to check on other options.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bobelaine20854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

This hotel had one of the nicest onsens I experienced during my two months in Japan. The staff will pick you up from the Kawayu-Onsen JR station if you call ahead. No one speaks any English, though, so it's helpful to know Japanese or have someone call for you (I did). The restaurant serves Hokkaido crab and other local fare, and the breakfast buffet was very impressive. There is also a large common area with couches and a TV on the first floor, as well as a gift/convenience shop in the hotel. It is just 2km from Lake Kussharo and right in downtown Kawayu Onsen. Great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BenandKaren0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights as part of a wildlife photography trip. The staff are very friendly, it is quite a large hotel but not one word of english can be found!
The rooms are typical Japanese with futons. The bathroom is like a tardis with a mini bath/shower and a toilet that faces sideways just to save even more space. Even so, it had everything and was very good.
The breakfast was very Japanese. It was buffet style, and some of our group took eggs only to find theme raw. They had bread, croissant and jam and the coffee was very good.
Dinner was japanese although they did really well with my non fish request and had some excellent steak one night.

Room Tip: If you are two in a room then pile the futons up from the cupboard to make your bed higher and softer. It works!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaturesMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews