We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
32
62
24
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
62
24
5
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is a traditional Japanese hotel served with meals. Dinner is tasty and superb! Breakfast is served as buffet. It is not newly opened hotel but everything is tidy and in good order. We don't speak Japanese but it's not a problem. Staff there is nice and helpful. We visited Hokkaido in winter and this is recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bobo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Sorry but this hotel really did not meet my expectations.

The room was old and the hotel refused to turn on the air conditioning even though it was really hot and humid. I'm guessing at least 32 degrees Celsius and very high humidity. They did provide us with a fan which helped a little bit. To be fair to the hotel, we did check another hotel nearby who also said they are not using the air conditioning. Apparently they only turn on the air conditioning from 1st July onwards.

At night, insects found their way into our room and also left stains on our futons (what? don't ask my how or why because I don't know). There were quite a lot of them and I guess they were attracted to the light. We did have a fly net over the windows but I guess it didn't work! I should mention that I did stay at two other Ryokans in Hokkaido during my trip, both of which provided air conditioning despite having cooler weather conditions and both did not have any insects in the rooms.

The onsen was not well maintained and had green mold on the taps and the walls. It was quite gross. I found myself wondering whether I should turn around and just go back to my room. Like I mentioned above I had stayed at two other Ryokans, and those onsens were VERY clean and well maintained. I was very disappointed.

In summary, I do not recommend this hotel. To be fair I don’t really recommend going to Kawayu either, as I found the town to be old and tired. I went in summer, so perhaps things are different in winter, spring or autumn.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 555_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 優しい奥さんに言えばいいと思いますけど
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews