We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous experience and a real Authentic Swiss Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chalet Swiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience and a real Authentic Swiss Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Well, where to start. We went there with Crystal Holidays and had a two week holiday at the chalet Swiss. This hotel is an authentic Swiss Chalet and as the date on the front suggests, very old indeed. This adds to the overall charm of the Hotel. Staying here, we had a view out over the Jungfrau mountains and this was a view we enjoyed every morning and evening.
The staff at the hotel looked after us as they would their own family and nothing was too much trouble. Eager to ensure our holiday was perfect, I can say that i personally felt like I had always been there, which made it a bit rubbish when we had to leave on the last day.
I would stay there again in a heart beat. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the train station and there is a bus stop outside the hotel. what else do you need. the food is absolutely brilliant with optional changes if you want them. we really liked this. The hotel General Manager and owner are full on and are extremely helpful whatever the problem you may have "just ask"
Remember, this is an authentic Swiss Wooden Chalet. Made of wood people, there can be a little noise internally as other people move around in their rooms.

Well done to all staff at the hotel for making our holiday a success. Keep it up.

John Glover

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safetymaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    51
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
40
60
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Another excellent holiday mainly due to the friendliness of the staff and their help and consideration to two "old folk". The hotel is old but it is full of character and is well maintained. However it is th staff which make it so outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The best part of this hotel was the friendly staff, particularly the two women at the check-in desk who were so helpful with directions and maps. Looking at the pictures of the rooms posted here tells me that we got one of the more nicely decorated and updated rooms -- our TV was a modern flat screen. Our beds had a nice spread and the two sets of curtains were charming (one sheer with ruffles, one heavier with a pretty flowered pattern) well crafted, and new. (Comfortable, firm mattresses. Clean sheets.) Our balcony overlooked a parking lot where three tour buses pulled in nearly every evening. One evening a group of noisy motorcycles pulled in. There was no A/C, so when the exhaust fumes and the noise from these vehicles forced us to close our window and door, the room became somewhat stifling. Our bathroom was about 6x9 feet. The hand towel on the right side of the sink touched the toilet, on the left side of the sink the hand towel was against the tub. A hair dryer with a long cord hung over the toilet. No apparent vent in the bathroom, but toilet, tub and sink were in good condition, clean and new. TINY little soap bar handed out every other day. (If you stay here, bring your own soap! Shampoo was handed out sparingly. Liquid body soap dispenser in the tub was meagerly filled and one day it was completely empty.) One nice armoire was our room's closet. It had cubby holes along the left side and a hanger bar about three feet long on the right side, to hang our clothing for the week we were there. (A little too small for the clothing of two people. The room was large enough to accommodate more hanging space for clothing.) A small safe was bolted to the bottom of the floor in the armoire. Nice round table and two comfortable club chairs (all in French Provincial style) provided comfortable seating and a place for light meals. Two plastic chairs on balcony, but no table. Breakfast was at SEVEN a.m. and the sous chef and waiter were mildly disgruntled if we showed up earlier, even though the food was clearly ready much earlier than seven. We were told a breakfast box could be provided if we wanted to eat earlier than 7. (But there was no water heater in the room and no instant coffee nor tea. No cups.) Some days we needed to catch a train a little after 7 and we went to the dining room early. One day, we went at 7 sharp and there were 20 or 30 people already lined up at the short buffet. This had us scratching our heads in wonder. The large domed cheese dispenser at breakfast had three small pieces of cheese and a lot of empty space. The fresh fruit bowl that came and went seemed to be kept hidden from the large tour groups at breakfast. (Swiss Chalet catered to large tour groups during the week we were there.) There is a large comfortable lounge with a bar, modern TV and cushy furniture upholstered in appealing green velvet fabric. Downstairs from lounge was a hot tub and sauna (we didn't use them). There was an Internet station available for 5 Francs for 15 minutes (we didn't use it). We never did find the laundry mat in this town, although I think it wasn't too far from Swiss Chalet. Coop for food shopping was fairly close and there was a Migros near the train station for "reasonable" meals. (Food is quite expensive in Switzerland.) Location of Swiss Chalet was convenient to the Unterseen bus stop and a short walk to the Interlaken West train station. Neighborhood itself is very appealing and there are two friendly goats penned up nearby in front of a garden shop. We looked forward to seeing those goats (Julle and Mirko) every morning and late afternoon. (Judy Bell)

Room Tip: Ask for a recently updated room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shetravelsherenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

location good food very good and staff extremely friendly

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gnosall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Chalet Swiss Hotel was extremely great for families with children. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and had all relevent tourist information supplied in a useful information pack. They arranged for our baggage to be collected from the train station and delivered direct to our room. The staff were very friendly and extremely good with our children. We had breakfast and evening meal as part of the package and to be fair, this was of an extremely good quality. The room was cleaned every day and the beds were always made up ready for the evening. The local transport was very efficent and always on time, beware though, when the timetable shows a bus at 11am this means when the bus will leave, not arrive so always be 10 minutes early, same applies for the trains. All travel destinations are communicated on both buses and trains in German, English & Italian. All shops are very friendly and the staff speak extremely good English along with public transport staff. Had a brillent time and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlphaComputerService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.3 km away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#24 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.9 km away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#18 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chalet Swiss? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chalet Swiss

Property: Hotel Chalet Swiss
Address: Seestrasse 22, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland (Formerly Comfort Hotel Chalet Swiss)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,576 - ₹ 15,291
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chalet Swiss 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chalet Swiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chalet Swiss Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing