We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Aparthotel Goldey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Goldey
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had an excellent stay at Hotel Goldey. The location is perfect to explore the area. Interlaken is lively and is just 10 mins away by walk. We stayed in the superior room and it was just adequate to fit in a rollaway bed for our 6 yr old son. Breakfast was very good and so was the service. We loved the home made jams and the freshly baked breads, Evening tea was a convenience although charging 3.5 chf for milk for our son was too petty (We had paid 40 chf per night for his bed and food already)
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Don't look further, you will enjoy your stay here

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    135
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
77
185
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We found the centre of Interlaken a bit too touristy- many of the shops full of groups- and it is obviously high on the itinerary of bustling Japanese and Chinese tours. But the Goldey, quietly situated by the river, perhaps 5 minutes walk along residential streets to the centre, and about 8, max 10 mins from both West and Ost stations, is in just the right location. Worth paying for a front facing (river side) room as you get a great view of the Jungfrau, weather permitting of course - only a touch marred by the ugly tower block of the Metropole Hotel. The staff were as friendly and as helpful as you would wish- really pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was perfectly adequate, and quite an offering of local and home made produce available. Free WiFi through the hotel, and a nice touch - tea/coffee and cakes served from 3pm to 5pm is you are not out sampling the wonderful scenery and outdoor options in this lovely region. A bowl of fruit in the room too, as well as a surprise leaving present. We were made to feel very valued guests by everyone.

The only reasons for not marking this with a score of 5 were firstly that the bathroom was indeed small. It was prefectly functional, clean but rather cramped, including a very small shower cubicle. Secondly, though experiencing remarkably warm weather for March (18C in the day) the room was indeed warm to hot, so much so we slept with the balcony door open one night. In March! But that meant that the traffic noise across the nearby railway bridge was quite intrusive. Of course A/C is not very common in European hotels, and having fresh mountain air as an option is a bonus indeed.

But these are relatively minor points - our overall experience was very good to excellent, and I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Goldey.

Room Tip: We were allocated- without asking - a 4th floor room. Definitely a bonus for view and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elton_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Even if the Goldey is a 3 stars hotel, the service is really nice. It's quit easy to compare to a 5 stars hotel.
The breakfast is just amazing, lots of regional products and the atmosphere is perfect!
Unfortunately we don't remember the name of the blonde lady from the front desk, but she is just a wonderful person. She could help us and our Brazilian friends in a perfect way!
Thank you so much for the nice weekend!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VGhidotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

we have stayed twice in the same hotel, its really beautiful,cozy which have wonderful view, in in the centre of the interlaken OST and WEST stations, 8 minutes walk, but you will enjoy it as its on the river side, if you stay just near to the station you will miss the beauty of this place. hotel has very cozy rooms even have family rooms, hot breakfast..friendly staff, free internet at lobby, its really amazing.

Room Tip: some rooms have balcony facing to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neeleshbhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We spent CHF235 for a 2 nights stay which is happening right now. As I sat here, I have already killed 7 flying insects in the 2 nights (and given that we do not stay in alot, we typically only get back to the hotel after 9pm, I think 7 insects are too much!). The previous review is very right about the aircon, due to the lack of aircon, the room is very stuffy, not really hot as it has been rainy over these 2 days. We had to open the window to let some air in, thus that explains the insects. The other minus of the hotel is really the long walk from the Interlaken West station which is challenging when travelling with suitcases (especially in rainy weather) and also if you get back late at night, the street can be too quiet for "comfort".

The room itself is basic with pillows as soft and thin that one probably end up with a stiff neck the next morning. The bathroom is very basic with very narrow shower cubicle which I wonder how can it fit bigger people. My husband and I did not have a problem with it but just thought its too narrow for comfort. Breakfast is basic but sufficient and they have little nice touches of complimentary tea and cakes for teabreaks in the afternoon. The lady who checked us in is very helpful and friendly.

A final conclusion is that I would not stay here again due to a super long walk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearbear911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreasKuchen, Manager at Aparthotel Goldey, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear Bearbear911, thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay.
Please note: It is very common in Switzerland to NOT have clima-controlled rooms. We love our fresh-mountain air and thats what tourists from all over the world come here for.
So we do encourage everyone to open the windows and take a deep breath.
As for the bugs, you do have to switch off the light when you open the windows at night.

The walk from the Interlaken West train station is exactly 800m and 8 minutes. Guests who don't want to walk along the river or have a lot of luggage usually take a taxi to the hotel.

We are very proud of our breakfast buffet as we have added to the typically swiss selection. In addition to various types of bread and croissants, home-made jams and honey, cereals, fresh fruit salad, joghurts, we also serve scrambled eggs, bacon, mushrooms, cheese and cold-cut meats, as well as different types of juices.

Kind regards
Your Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.8 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
2.2 km away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#3 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Goldey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Goldey

Property: Aparthotel Goldey
Address: Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,132 - ₹ 52,630
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Goldey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Goldey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Goldey Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing