We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Behind the scenes would benefit from some work...”
Review of The Chequers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charney Bassett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chequers Inn
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Behind the scenes would benefit from some work...”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

(Our overall rating wasn't actually "average". It was "good", but there's no option for good.)

Positive - everything was very clean, things worked properly and even though it was small it didn't feel it because the room was well designed and good quality materials were used. Also good - excellent in fact - was the dinner (not included but a very reasonable £30-odd including drinks). Also good was the welcome: the Scottish lady managing the place is smart and helpful and understands customer service. She's a credit to the place. Lastly in particular it was really good to feel our son was welcomed - chatted to and given crayons etc to occupy him.

Not so great - and we're making these points constructively: 1. the radiator never got beyond lukewarm. So there was a bit of a chill in the room especially in the night when the radiator went off altogether; 2. the taps in the bath poured out tons of hot water but the shower ran lukewarm after a couple of minutes. Bit annoying. 3. Breakfast was ok but without much effort could have been much better - dry scrambled eggs, freeze-dried coffee presented in a cafetiere (!).

So the good definitely outweighs the bad. We'd stay again (if they'd have us). But a bit more attention is needed behind the scenes to make sure basics like heat and standards like the cooked breakfast are delivered properly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denis2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
41
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Having recently stayed at the Chequers, and would say we had a lovely time, with the owners being very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and we would happly stay there again. We did not sample any of the food, but it all looked very inviting. A note for the owners it would be nice to extend breakfast times by an hour, as we are not all rushing out the door at seven

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Janette really looked after us and made us feel at home at the Chequers. She even gave us a lift to our party when our taxi got stuck in traffic.
Our room was in a barn annex and had a modern contempory feel, quite a surprise in a traditional village pub.
We would recommend a stay at the Chequers and we look forward to visiting again soon to try the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I have visited The Chequers on a number of occasions when visiting relatives locally. The new host was very pleasant the service good and the food of good qualtiy. I have no reason not to visit there again when next in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert_owen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We have just come back from having a lovely dinner here. We were going somewhere else, but drove past on the way and it look really nice, what a good thing that was. The meal was gorgeous. Husband had steak and I had the beer battered cod and it was so nice. Proper home cooked chips as well. The puddings were gorgeous as well and lovely fresh coffee to finish. I would definitely recommend this pub for eating and I will be going back soon ... I think I need to try out the roast on a Sunday!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargeryDawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charney Bassett
8.7 km away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
7.7 km away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
19.8 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Dog House Hotel
Dog House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Frilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
9.3 km away
The Fox and Hounds
The Fox and Hounds
#1 of 3 in Uffington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
7.2 km away
The Trout at Tadpole Bridge
The Trout at Tadpole Bridge
#1 of 1 in Buckland Marsh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers Inn

Property: The Chequers Inn
Address: Main Street | Nr Wantage, Charney Bassett OX12 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Charney Bassett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Charney Bassett
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,152
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are bright, spacious and pleasantly furnished to ensure your stay is a comfortable one. All rooms have separate entrance, king size bed, digital LCD TV, free WiFi, hair dryer, desk and tea and coffee facilities and have been tastefully decorated to high standards. Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend getaway, attending a business meeting, visiting family or friends, or just passing through the area, each room offers all the comforts of home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing