We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chequers Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Charney Bassett
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Bear Hotel(Wantage)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Star Inn(Wantage)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sudbury House(Faringdon)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Hotel(Faringdon)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (94)
    Filter reviews
    94 results
    Traveller rating
    68
    16
    6
    3
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    68
    16
    6
    3
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsthe pubsticky toffee puddingsunday lunchfriendly welcomecheesy leekstrimmingsoxfordshirepubs
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    71 - 76 of 94 reviews
    Reviewed 27 February 2012

    Having recently stayed at the Chequers, and would say we had a lovely time, with the owners being very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and we would happly stay there again. We did not sample any of the food, but it all looked very inviting. A note for the owners it would be nice to extend breakfast times by an hour, as we are not all rushing out the door at seven

    • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Phill H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 November 2011

    Janette really looked after us and made us feel at home at the Chequers. She even gave us a lift to our party when our taxi got stuck in traffic.
    Our room was in a barn annex and had a modern contempory feel, quite a surprise in a traditional village pub.
    We would recommend a stay at the Chequers and we look forward to visiting again soon to try the restaurant.

    • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Michael L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 November 2011

    I have visited The Chequers on a number of occasions when visiting relatives locally. The new host was very pleasant the service good and the food of good qualtiy. I have no reason not to visit there again when next in the area.

    • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank robert_owen3
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 September 2011

    We have just come back from having a lovely dinner here. We were going somewhere else, but drove past on the way and it look really nice, what a good thing that was. The meal was gorgeous. Husband had steak and I had the beer battered cod and it was so nice. Proper home cooked chips as well. The puddings were gorgeous as well and lovely fresh coffee to finish. I would definitely recommend this pub for eating and I will be going back soon ... I think I need to try out the roast on a Sunday!

    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank MargeryDawe
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 September 2011

    We had dinner at The Cheques in on Saturday night and highly recommend our evening, the service, ambience and the food was faultless. Myself and my husband both had the "Drunken Duck" not only was it pleasing on the eye it was absolutely delicious. Janette is a delightful host we could not believe that she had only taken over the pub in August!!!

    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank Tortylady
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews