We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage - a real home from home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Mezzanine Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mezzanine Area
Front of Cottage Lounge area to relax and watch TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Mezzanine Area
Front of Cottage
Lounge area to relax and watch TV
Lounge area looking towards french doors
Dining & Kitchen area
Kitchen
Highchair available on request
Bedroom
Cot available on request
Upper lounge area
Bedroom
Staircase
Shower
Bathroom
Balcony area
Garden view from balcony
Private Stoned terrace
Private stoned terrace
View to private terrace
View to balcony and steps leading to parking area
Secluded garden
Secluded garden looking towards stream and pond
Snowy scene
View over Kirkby towards Black Combe
View over Kirkby Moor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kirkby in Furness, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stuart B
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage - a real home from home!”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just got home after a fab few days away at Bankwood Cottage. What a find! This place is absolutely fantastic. The owners Chris and Mike live next door and are very friendly and welcoming. Everything was spotlessly clean and of high quality. The welcome pack totally exceeded our expectations; organic local produce including bread, eggs and orange juice, plus tea, coffee (instant, filter and Tassimo pods) and a bottle of Prosecco chilling in the fridge! There was also a beautiful garden with patio set and loungers...it was just unfortunate that the weather didn't allow us to make use of it.

As well as being a great place to stay, the Cottage is not too far away from the Lakes and other attractions in the area. We would recommend a visit to Hill Top Farm, home to Beatrix Potter and the Lakeland Motor Museum which had a fantastic selection of vintage cars and motorbikes.

We cannot recommend Bankwood Cottage enough. Book it, you won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything you could possibly want and more!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments they are very much appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen W
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real home from home and would recommend it to anyone!”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week with our baby boy. It is in a fantastic setting and the accommodation is superb.
The interior is beautiful and well thought out. There was ample space for us as a couple and with all the additional furniture/items having our baby with us brought.
There are little considerate touches by the host that make your stay more comfortable, including complimentary food, toiletries, an extensive selection of books and literature for all tastes (whatever the purpose of your visit) and a bottle of sparkling wine on arrival.
In addition the host provided us with their own highchair for our son to use whilst there. This saved us having to bring one and shows how they will go the extra mile for any guests staying there.
The outside space is beautiful and well kept. Mornings and evenings spent in the cottage were an absolute delight and we found ourselves returning home earlier than we may have done if the accommodation hadn't been so exceptional.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this property to anyone wanting to visit the lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accommodation and beautiful surroundings.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It wasn't a problem letting you use our granddaughter's high chair we know the challenge of fitting everything into a car.
Holidays are very important and it is our wish that all our guests have an enjoyable experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesPark...
1 review
“Brilliant and will be sure visit again.”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Very welcoming, lovely touches with basic supplies. All rooms was great sizes, easily of stayed for a while longer. Owners was extremely helpful with local attractions and places. Could not find any faults, would be visiting again in the summertime.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking time to review our cottage and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicg642
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“brilliant”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

just been back for second time. Cottage is gorgeous .can ask for anything more, every thing you need is there. Beautiful location. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. It is especially important to know that our returning guests enjoy their visit just as much as their first. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessapa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I am hoping on returning soon, maybe in the spring time.

Chris and Mike were extremely helpful. The cottage was clean and modern but still held all the charm of a traditional cottage. A very beautiful and well maintained property with everything you may need. Chris and Mike were happy to help anytime with any advice or additional items we needed.

We were a few minutes drive from Lakeside and 45mins drive from Ambleside.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing