We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
299
308
160
59
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
299
308
160
59
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yala national park sri lanka view of the lake nice hotel packed breakfast welcome drink reception area restaurant staff nice pool two nights bird life stayed here for one night safari tissa base birds banks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2019

Checking In here is the worst thing. They take a lot of time to do so. Please don't plan any early check in here as it will never happen. Breakfast spread is good. Location is great. Swimming pool is maintained nicely.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ankit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LILAN J, Manager at Ekho Safari Tissa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2019

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We understand that the check-in process needs to be evaluated and we have our operations team looking at a new process to ensure the highest level of guest satisfaction. We thank you for your kind words, indeed the location is the best in the area and we strive to provide guests with delicious food and a clean and safe environment at all times. On that note, we hope you would consider us as your prefered holiday destination in the future as well.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2019

We reached there from Kandy after a 7 hour drive. We were exhausted and in dire need of rest. The receptionist did not mention anything about a delayed check in, kept on informing us the rooms will be ready in five minutes. We were kept waiting for an hour. They advertise the check in time is 2 but we stayed till around d 3.30 waiting for our rooms to be ready. When i told them nicely they should have just given us a time frame so we could have lunch or do something else than just waiting around they did not even bother to apologize. the lady at the reception was on a personal phone call was not giving attention to all of the chaos going on around her. Terrible service for what would have been a nice vacation.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dilini s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LILAN J, Manager at Ekho Safari Tissa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Dear Valued guests thank you for your feedback, we understand your situation and apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. We agree that the check-in process needs to be hassle- free and service standards need to be improved. We assure you that this has been taken into very serious consideration and we have already deployed our operational and HR teams to establish a better process and provide significant training to our officials on the floor to maintain standards.

We believe your feedback has assisted us to create a better product and we hope you will consider staying with us on your next visit.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

We were recommended by one our friend who stayed before and we really happy with the selection,smooth check in very friendly specially Ranga was very helpful and made our honeymoon even better special dinner arranged by the pool was fantastic chef Rukshan made our stay memorable by his special Italian cuisine.rooms are comfi and view of the lake stunning.so sad we were their only for one night but definitely next time we stay more.will highly recommend Ekho Safari.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vistarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelrepresent, Public Relations Manager at Ekho Safari Tissa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again soon.

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the Safari after having a wonderful stay at another Ekho resort (the Surf in Bentota), similar experience with the staff, kind, helpful and always smiling however the hotel itself felt a step down from the surf. The pool looks like it’s missing some water, the food wasn’t as delicious but still serviceable. The hotel definitely needs a little update but but if you’re planning a safari in the area the resort is a good option, enjoy the friendly staff. Our specific room had a gorgeous view.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jollyrogerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LILAN J, Manager at Ekho Safari Tissa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your review, we are thrilled that you were able to experience two of our properties in Sri Lanka and enjoy the warmth of Sri Lankan hospitality. We would like to take this opportunity to assure you that, we have taken your concerns into consideration and employed our resources to create a better product. In addition to that, we would like to thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

The overall place has a lovely look with a beautiful lake. You can do boating in the lake as well and in the evening the birds come and sit on a small island opp the hotel making it a lovely place to sit ans relax. The only issue we had was with the service. The dinner option provided was of the buffet and it was ok. As we had to go to yala next morning we had asked the staff member Ranjeet to pack our breakfast but he forgot and we had to go without it. And on asking about it wen we returned he seemed to be uninterested and unapologetic about it. The rooms are ok but a lil rustic. Overall the service can be better

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Dipu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelrepresent, Public Relations Manager at Ekho Safari Tissa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback.
We have taken your concerns into consideration. We believe your feedback will help us in creating a better product.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you better soon.

Thank you and best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews