We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
33
23
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
23
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interesting history share stories other guests wished we could have stayed longer living room south island great place to stay cabin nz accommodation hillside hosts casey dvd chickens units lounge
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

pricing was slightly mis leading- booked a two bedroom cottage which thought was $135 a night- basic cottage with a double bed and two singles- next day we found we had to pay $175 as had kids with us. We felt it was ok to pay $135 for cottage but at $170 felt too much and if we had known would have paid an extra $20 to stay in more luxurious lodge down the road. owners very nice but would not stay again due to pricing.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

What a beautiful setting. 170 year old cobb built guesthouse. The decor was in keeping with the age of the home. The owners were delightful and so friendly. A stunning room with a pretty view of the garden. Had pizza for dinner sitting outside watching the sunset. Breakfast was included and sitting around the huge dining room table in the morning was wonderful, we just chilled out and took our time. Sitting in the lounge at night chatting with other guests until wee small hours was a added bonus. For the midnight walk to the bathroom in the middle of the night there were cosy bathrobes to wear.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Babsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We booked a cabin.
Great view at the mountains and the best sunset in years!
Comfy and roomy
Shower with nice waterpresure
Cheecky chickens come visit you at breakfast.
Very quiet place

Owner on holiday when we stayed but "The stand inn" did a superb job!

No Wifi in the cabin.

Room tip: Take one or four
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank erikdefotograaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Great vista to watch the weather systems come through. Easy access to the lakes without the bus loads of tourists pouring through. Host told us of a quiet local walk to a derelict farm which was lovely. Great for couples who like the quiet and can look after themselves. They also do great scones.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Condormr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Stunning scenery in a tranquil setting! Short drive into St. Arnaud, grabbed a take away pizza and ate by the lake, beautiful!
Our bedroom was small but cosy and the hosts Helen and Miles were delightful, happy to chat and share stories about the history of the place.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews