We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (950)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveller rating
364
327
143
73
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
327
143
73
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quy mill jacuzzi bath main building afternoon tea bar menu anglesey abbey lovely hotel four poster wedding party park and ride superior room no lift scones minute drive lovely room quiet location a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 950 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We didn't know what to expect but, from the time of check until departure, we found everything absolutely delightful. Nice, quite large bedroom in one of the separate buildings. Good size bathroom with the usual amenities, tea / coffee making and, if needed, a safe. Bottled water supplied too. The breakfast menu really was "something else". Buffet style cereals, fruits, cold meats & cheeses etc. etc. Then, a huge choice of freshly prepared hot breakfasts from a "Full English" to scrambled eggs & smoked salmon. Yes, we highly recommend this Best Western.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S, Guest Relations Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. It's great to hear how the hotel impressed in all areas!
We are very proud of our Breakfast selection and service, as we have been recognised through various awards, on display around the hotel, and detailed on our website. We hope that you will return in the future to experience another great visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Went with my wife, daughter, and brother in law.

Justin behind the bar looked after us particularly well. Pre-lunch nibbles were lovey and lunch didn’t disappoint. Fantastic selection of drinks and staff very knowledgable about what they were serving.

Will definitely return very soon.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mule1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S, Guest Relations Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving your review detailing your recent stay. I am delighted that Justin has been recognised once more, and your comments will mean a great deal to him, as it does us. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our overnight stay...room was very comfortable, food in restaurant was very good and all the staff we met were very friendly...special thanks to Justin in the bar who, despite being very busy with an anniversary party, took time to show us different gins/whiskies and helped us decide which ones to try.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank milliemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S, Guest Relations Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review- it is really special when we receive commendations for our staff, as it really helps us reward and recognise excellent service. Justin was so pleased when I passed this onto him, so thank you for the mention! His knowledge on our new Gin selection really is second-to-none, and is being passed onto all of the staff that work here. We'd love you to return for another great stay in the future, and thank you again for giving us your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Very much enjoyed a short stay here with a group of friends. The room was clean and modern and a very short walk to the facilities. The bed was comfortable. We enjoyed the pleasant spacious pool in relaxing surroundings. Providing some soft cushions for the chairs in the atrium overlooking the mill race would be good and make this a very pleasant place to sit and watch the ducks go by. Changing facilities are good and spacious although rather more functional than luxurious. Bar meals were very enjoyable and of a high standard. Breakfast was excellent and served in very pleasant and well decorated room. The breakfast buffet choice was good. Staff coped well with a special request of mine and were generally good.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S, Guest Relations Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. I am delighted that you found everything, from facilities to surroundings enjoyable.
We are easily able to source some extra cushions for the Easy chairs in the lounge, and we are looking into this!
We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

I have never before felt compelled to write a negative review about a hotel on Trip Advisor but neither have I ever before received such terrible customer service.

We booked afternoon tea at Quy Mill Hotel to celebrate my friend's birthday yesterday. The room we were seated in lacked atmosphere with just us and one business meeting taking place. Neither group wished to listen to the others conversation so we asked to take our tea in the bar area. Shockingly, hotel policy is that afternoon tea cannot be taken in the bar...as apparently they receive complaints from other customers! Have you ever honestly heard of someone complaining about someone drinking tea and eating a piece of cake in a hotel bar?! In the end we were offered a 'compromise' of tea in the bar but NO tiered cake stand would be allowed. So, from this I can only assume that the presence of a cake stand is the cause of offence to some people? I have personally never found cake stands to be in the slight bit offensive or something to be complained about, but apparently I am wrong. The duty manager would not even entertain the idea of any flexibility.

Well in the end it seemed the best option was to go elsewhere, so we left and spent our money at a different hotel where staff were delighted to let us sit wherever we wished - even with a three tiered cake stand! Oh and guess what...no one complained.

Customer is not king at this hotel. Policy is. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank salandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S, Guest Relations Manager at Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Upon investigation of the incident you describe, I would like to add a few points. The restaurant which you were originally seated in, had one table occupied with Afternoon Tea guests. This was not a business meeting as described, but I can appreciate that you didn't want to overhear conversation. You were then offered our Orangery and Mill Race rooms, which are close to the Lounge, as an alternative. You did not want these two rooms, and but insisted on being seated on a table in our lounge. This table (301) was a small round table, 15 cm in diameter, not equipped to hold the Afternoon Tea product of a tiered stand, and is located in an area where we do not serve Afternoon Tea. The policy that we do not provide this in the lounge is because we sell a specific product that cannot be accommodated in this area, because if the sizes of the tables, and the volume of traffic throughout this lounge, which would detract from the ambience of the product. We also advertise that we provide garden views with our Afternoon Tea and this is also not possible in the Lounge.
The Duty Manager reserves the right to enforce this policy, and when he was confronted with being recorded on a mobile phone,and aggressive attitude, he has every right to walk away and not to speak with you further, as this would be deemed as harrassing and intimidating, and would not be tolerated anywhere. I am pleased that you found another hotel that was willing to meet your expectations. Customer is ALWAYS king at our hotel, but policy is too, as there has to be a level of consistency and standard has to be put in place. We are very proud of our Afternoon Tea product and many other guests would agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews