We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, welcoming, nice food and dog friendly”

The Old Mill Killearn
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Killearn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Old Mill in Killearn, formerly a weaving mill and now a characterful pub and restaurant within this charming 18th Century steading, complete with open fires, rustic touches and cosy snug. Our beer garden, with childrens play area, offers a very relaxed alfresco dining option for both lunch and dinner, which is always a winner when the sun is shining. During more typical Scottish weather you can warm up by the open fire with a wee dram. Our menu offers the best of local Scottish produce, responsibly sourced, lovingly prepared and skillfully presented.
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Cosy wee place with very pleasant and attentive staff. Dog friendly, customer parking, open fire and really nice food. Could easily nod off in here after walk in the hills.

Prices were decent, good range of beers. Worth a visit.

Don't forget to visit Hewitt & Aker right next door in the car park who sell far too many lovely cheeses.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hedley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018

The restaurant was very friendly and helpful squeezing us in with a last minute/late booking. There wasn't a very large vegetarian menu but what they had was excellent; the souffle was particularly good.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank imd321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

A traditional village pub. Cosy atmosphere in both the bar and restaurant,
Enjoyed a good value steak night - on a Thursday.
Other mains looked good too.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank karylaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We were staying at a cottage in Killearn and were recommended The Old Mill as being a dog friendly pub.
What we found was a tiny village pub with a vibrant atmosphere and the most fantastic food.
We ate here twice, with our dog at foot. The steaks were cooked to perfection, the burgers were mouthwatering and the rest of the menu looked just as appealing. They also had a good choice of draught beers.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 996duncanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We have visited the Old Mill at Killearn on a number of occasions and we have never been disappointed. The menu offers an excellent choice of food and a great range of specials. We visited recently with friends who had previously enjoyed the owners other establishment the Inn at Kippen. Sadly they have given up the Kippen restaurant to focus on the Old Mill. As usual the Old Mill visit was first class and everyone had a fabulous meal. The staff were excellent and attentive and we really enjoyed our visit. So sad that they gave up the Inn at Kippen but at least the Old Mill continues to excel.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Mill Killearn also viewed

Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Old Mill Killearn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing