We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect pet friendly, cozy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plover Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
109 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Milford on Sea, Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 109 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Tracey E
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect pet friendly, cozy cottage”
Reviewed 9 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Plover Cottage is in a perfect location for everything we wanted. The beach is on the doorstep along with the local shops and pubs. Lots of lovely walks for our dog and a dog friendly pub (The Smugglers Inn) that serves excellent food. Mr Pinks fish and chips (also in walking distance) was the best we've had!
The cottage itself is very well equipped, clean and cozy. The bed was comfortable, the shower is a good size and the kitchen had everything you could need. This cottage ticks every box! We will be returning!

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
14 Oct 2017
Thanks Tracey. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mornakcox
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cosy cottage”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfectly located for shops, restaurants, beach and lovely walks.
Very tastefully and well equipped, we would like to return one day.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to Plover Cottage again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dw_1313
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend stay ”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Returned for a second visit to this lovely cottage. We were very lucky with the weather and enjoyed a walk down to the sea. We also visited The Smugglers Inn and enjoyed a late lunch in their pub garden.

Enjoyed a game of monopoly one evening - the cottage has a few board games for your use. They also have some dvds and books should you not have bought your own book with you. Should there not be anything to your taste there are 2 local charity shops which offer good value books and dvds for sale.

There are also 2 local food shops in very short walking distance. There is also a local butcher so lots of choice should you wish to cook at the cottage. Kitchen is well stocked with accessories for cooking.

The cottage is tastefully decorated and we thoroughly enjoyed our second stay.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thank you for the review! We hope to see you a third time and we are really pleased that as the nights draw in people can make use of the board games and DVDs and books!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Well positioned for the village but the cottage is disappointingly small"”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
6
people found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to having a week away as its been several years since my last break. I took my time to choose what I thought was the perfect cottage. You can imagine my disappointment on entering the place when we discovered how tiny the lounge and dining room is. It's supposed to accommodate 4 people....2 of us and a dog struggled!

What annoyed me was the way the pictures were taken. Each one carefully angled to give an impression that the place is bigger than it actually is, I felt deceived. It's no exaggeration when I say you can almost touch wall to wall in the lounge and the fact that it is in front of a sometimes noisy and ugly industrial unit is also a missing from the information. The TV reception was terrible and the sofa uncomfortable.

The cottage does have its good points, nice beds, clean linen great position etc and we tried to make the most of our time there but if I had known the true size of the place I would have booked somewhere else.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Dear Nina, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your time at our cottage. We have had the cottage for 18 months now and have been pleased that the reviews have been overwhelmingly positive; most people love it's charm and cosiness. We certainly haven't set out to mislead with our photos and are disappointed you think so; they have been taken by us simply to show the cottage's features. We are also surprised you found the industrial unit noisy, as it has been completely closed for ten years and is about to be demolished and redeveloped into retirement houses, which we are very much looking forward to. We are though, glad you found several positives and in particular you enjoyed the great position of the cottage at the heart of Milford on Sea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, pet friendly and great location.”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

A beautifully presented, homely cottage - walking distance to beach and local shops. Perfect for walks and day trips. We loved the cosy feel of the cottage and the location too. The local shops were great..especially the butchers and cafe " The Coffe Pot" where we had a lovely brunch. would definitely recommend.Thankyou.

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thanks for the review and helpful suggestion of a local cafe!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.