We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cheese platter ”
Review of The Cave

The Cave
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 46
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Description: The Cave is an exciting new concept in enjoying wine. Situated opposite the picturesque Milford on Sea village green, there is always a warm welcome whether you are looking to taste, buy, learn, or simply enjoy a glass of wine, beer, or even coffee with friends. The Cave is open seven days a week for whatever you want to visit us for, so if you have a taste for good wine, beer or coffee, please pop in - there is plenty to browse and enjoy. Relax - Explore - Shop
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Dropped in here after walking to Hurst Castle. Nice wine. Cheese platter was delicious. We were there as the waiting staff changed over and felt ignored by the new waitress. If she had stopped talking to friends outside we'd have ordered a second glass of wine. After a long wait we decided to get the bill and wander home!

Thank VikkiHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon C, Owner at The Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Hi Vikki
Thank you for taking the time to review The Cave. As we take pride in our service, it concerns me that you were clearly neglected and i'm sure you wanted a second glass of wine after that long walk. Please accept my apologies, and I really hope you're not put off by your experience, we will endeavour to make things right next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

Fantastic customer service and a great selection of gins and beers. Very relaxed atmosphere. The Bay Trees could learn a lot from you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon C, Owner at The Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi Amber
Short but sweet! Thank you very much for your kind words, much appreciated. Milford's a special little village with great independent businesses that knit together to form a very special community bond. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Atb Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

What a fabulous place this is. Relaxing and calming atmosphere. Lovely staff. The range of gins is incredible and all wonderfully served. Great wines too as well as a super range of tapas style dishes. A real European feel to it. Wish I lived closer...I'd be here a lot! Love it!

Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon C, Owner at The Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Hi Keith
Great to hear your experience was a positive one and I hope there will be many more in the future. We'll welcome you back with open arms when you're next in Milford. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

The Cave is a great venue to spend an evening or for pre-dinner drinks. Ambiance is great, wine and beer good and service excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon C, Owner at The Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hi Lisa
Thank you for your kind words and its nice that you've captured the nature of The Cave in a couple of sentences. Much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We were on holiday in the New Forest on a Bank Holiday weekend recently, and popped down to the coast. We were hungry and thirsty. It was a Sunday and hot and sunny and the pubs were heaving, and then we came upon the wonderful Cave. What a find. Cool and atmospheric and such friendly and helpful staff. They said they feel like a family, and that came across very well. Really smart but not stuffy. We had some lovely tapas and mixed dishes which were a delicious lunch in itself and the staff helped us to choose delicious drinks to accompany the dishes. What a fabulous experience. What a gem and what a find. We recommended it to anyone we spoke to. Just brilliant. Literally have not found anywhere else with that precise all round wow factor, even in London and overlooking a very pretty green. Thankyou.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon C, Owner at The Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Hi Patrick
Wow, thank you, that's what I call an honest review. It goes without saying that we appreciate our customers feedback, both positive and constructive, but its not often when a customer puts such praise and detail into a review. I do regard The Cave as family and i'm lucky to have such experienced and loyal team members, to whom I eternally grateful. Thank you once again for taking time express your experience at The Cave and we look forward to welcoming you next time you're in Milford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cave also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to The Cave? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing