We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant lunch in the garden”
Review of The Smugglers Inn

The Smugglers Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Good food and very pleasant surroundings. Will definitely go back next time we visit the new forest area.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank SandDHwestchilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2018

If you are looking for good basic pub grub in a traditional pub environment then this is the place. Friendly and helpful service from the staff. Will visit again if in the Milford area.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We visited this pub on the off chance we could get in as we were told it gets packed and it was better to book. We were surprised that when we arrived for lunch that it was quite empty. We found a table as it was order at bar. We ordered drinks and food. Drinks were normal seaside pub prices and food the same. However the food came out quickly, probably due to the quietness and was hot and ample portions. However as we were told it was so popular we did expect something a bit more striking. I can not knock any of the food or drink but we just expected so much more. Perhaps if we had not been built up so much we may have enjoyed it a lot more. So I can only put this down as an average experience.Perhaps others who visit may find it a different experience. Nice walk to the beach after to walk it down. Keith C

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank keith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

A very child and dog friendly pub. Excellent play area for the kids and staff very welcoming. We found the roast beef over cooked and tough. The vegetables were very basic and the Yorkshires a little on the crunchy side. Price was ok but we wouldn’t eat here again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Very humdrum pubby lunch. Plenty of roast beef piled up with gloopy gravy. Nice kids serving the tables. We have had a better meal for less money in similar places.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smugglers Inn also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Lymington, New Forest
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to The Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing