We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GI bread please”

Fahy's Bakers & Confectioners
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Hoylake
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Plenty of attractive looking produce in stock - but again no GI bread left!
(10:13 on a Saturday- the only day of the week it is available apparently)

I wonder whether the bakery realises that Waterfields in West Kirby has closed and this has given Fahys an opportunity to gain market share?
I'll have to drive to Hursts in Upton to get their (not quite as nice) GI loaf; at least it's cheaper!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahys, General Manager at Fahy's Bakers & Confectioners, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2017

So sorry to hear this but we make GI loaves on a Thursday Friday Saturday every week but have found we have some of these loaves left each day. It is very difficult to predict sales on each given week. We generally advise customers to order in advance to avoid disappointment but we will definitely make some extra next Saturday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2016

It's very difficult to walk past Fahy's without being tempted in by all the cakes and pies on display in the window.
The shop has been there for so long and the quality is always the same.
We had a cake made by Fahy's for a special occasion and it was great.
Keep on Baking!

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Owen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahys, Owner at Fahy's Bakers & Confectioners, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Many thanks for lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Fine tradition of the Bakers Shop tradition. Have used the shop for many years and always find their bread and cakes superb. If we don't use it we could loose it.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hoylake186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahys, Manager at Fahy's Bakers & Confectioners, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

We aim to please many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Christmas would not be Christmas without batches from Fahys for my turkey & stuffing sandwiches .
Oh and the egg custards are fab!

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank tiffin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahys, Manager at Fahy's Bakers & Confectioners, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Having visited today to buy a couple of cakes , staff had two half priced reduced items on the counter. One being small beef pies, the other egg custards. Buying one of each and a cake from the counter below my wife and I left to have our cakes at home with a nice coffee.
However I was extremely disappointed with the reduced items. The custard was well passed its sell buy date whatever that may have been, and it ended up in the bin. The pie was too very stale.
All I can say is these items reduced should be checked before being put on sale to the public. Very, very dissappointed

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahys, Owner at Fahy's Bakers & Confectioners, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2015

We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your half price purchases but as my staff pointed out to you they were the day befores and had been refrigerated over night hence the price. We only sell items from the day before and do not keep them any longer than that we are meticulous about stock rotation.
Clearly items such as egg custards (which we have an award for) are not going to be of best quality a day later and having been in the fridge all night which is why we reduce to half price the same applies to our pies .
We have regular customers who come in on a daily basis just to buy half price items and we also have a lot of workmen who come in everyday for a breakfast who will buy a half price pie to eat while they wait and so far in 80 years off trading we have had no complaints.
We would have been glad to refund your half price items had you returned them to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fahy's Bakers & Confectioners also viewed

 

Been to Fahy's Bakers & Confectioners? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing