We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit. Can't complain”
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #20 of 76 Restaurants in Heswall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Friend at work recommended this venue so booked and visited Saturday evening.
First impression was that it was quiet small and the tables are close together. In fact we moved table because the other guests were so close to us.
Booked a chicken course and fish pie. Both were very nice but had to wait quite a while yet the pub was not that busy.
Enjoyed the visit but there are better places sorry.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank ChrisChester_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2018

Visited yesterday lunch time tables a bit squashed in but didn't appear busy(possibly another bar though), waited over an hour for our food - no acknowledgement or apology . was very well presented when it did finally get to our table , however we all thought it was a bit bland . The small cup of coffee we had afterwards was served in a cup rarely seen outside a NHS hospital . On the positive side the front of house staff were friendly and helpful.
Surprised to learn this is now in the same group as the Jug and Bottle , totally different experience ,was celebrating my birthday with some friends very disappointing , wont be going back, people next to us complained re the delay they at least got an apology

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Just come home from celebrating my birthday lunch with my husband. The staff were very pleasant and the food was excellent. Had a short wait while it was cooked, but the standard and presentation were fab. Mentioned it was my birthday celebration and received a small cake when we left, such a lovely/kind gesture. Would recommend the place to anyone

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We went last week and had a very nice meal. Its a busy restaurant and bar with lots going on and he walls covered in memorabelia. There was plenty of staff on duty and service was good. We all had different meals and all were of generous proportions well presented and hot.
There is plenty of of room for parking.
We will be returning.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judy2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Had lunch with hubby on Tuesday. Service was very good. Our food came quickly. Food and plates were hot. Best chips I have had in ages. However, My veggie Italian stew was on the dry side but nevertheless very tasty. I did mention it to the bar staff. Most main courses are around £10.00. Hubby’s steak and Guinness pie was very good.
I understand a new manager is expected soon!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Dot W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

 
Parkgate, Cheshire
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing